Colbert Ridge to Mount Mitchell to Maple Camp Ridge Loop

DIFFICILE 12 avis
N°12 sur 21 randonnées à

Colbert Ridge to Mount Mitchell to Maple Camp Ridge Loop est un sentier en boucle de 18.1 miles modérément fréquenté situé près de Burnsville, Caroline du Nord. Le sentier traverse une forêt et sa difficulté est difficile et donc seulement recommandé pour les aventuriers expérimentés. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités.

Distance: 18.1 miles Dénivelé: 5,144 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

course à pied

forêt

vue panoramique

randonnée sac-à-dos
rocheux
8 months ago

Mon petit ami et moi avons terminé cette boucle dans le sens antihoraire en deux jours et une nuit. Nous sommes arrivés au sentier de Colbert Ridge jeudi 28 mars et nous nous sommes dirigés vers le camp de Deep Gap. Il nous a fallu 3,5 heures pour y arriver. Frappé nos fesses, à coup sûr. À environ un kilomètre (ou moins?) De Deep Gap, il y a un ruisseau qui coule bien - procurez de l'eau pour le camp et monte le lendemain - c'était la seule eau qui coulait jusqu'à 3 ou 4 milles APR Mitchell (L'eau Mitchell est toujours fermée et les salles de bains sont verrouillées.) Il y avait quelques options de camps furtifs entre Deep Gap et Mitchell. Le deuxième jour, nous avons parcouru 9 miles (9 miles) un peu exténuants pour la voiture, mais surtout très beaux. Le sentier allant de Deep Gap à Mitchell, puis à Maple Camp est difficile, technique, mais satisfaisant et intéressant avec des vues magnifiques. Après cela, dans la descente via la piste équestre de Buncombe, les choses sont devenues un peu moche. C'était notre tronçon le moins préféré. C'est très rocheux, boueux et raide. Je suppose que si nous avions campé une deuxième nuit et que nous avions fait cela le matin, cela aurait été plus supportable, mais nous étions épuisés. Une chose que nous ne savions pas avant de vraiment regarder la carte à l’arrivée, c’est qu’il fallait parcourir un demi-kilomètre sur la route entre les têtes de sentier. Juste un avertissement pour décider quand se garer. Je ne referai probablement pas la boucle, mais je suis heureux de l'avoir fait et je le recommanderais quand même à la recherche d'une aventure. Bonne randonnée! N'oubliez pas de ne laisser aucune trace et de sortir votre papier toilette!

randonnée
Wed May 09 2018

Les vues valent toute la peine! Je commencerai par dire que notre expérience est très différente de celle des autres examens, car nous avons bouclé la boucle de 18,1 milles en une journée. C'est possible, mais très exténuant. Pour référence, nous avons fait cette randonnée le 3 mai et cela nous a pris 10,5 heures. Nous avons commencé à la tête du sentier Colbert et nous sommes dirigés vers la crête. La première fois que vous obtenez des points de vue, il faut compter environ 3 km dans la randonnée. Une fois à la crête, vous aurez une vue de chaque côté, donc ça vaut vraiment le coup !! Le sentier est bien entretenu mais c'est difficile. Nous nous arrêtions chaque mile pour les pauses de l'eau. Assurez-vous d'avoir assez d'eau car la seule eau que vous rencontrerez sur les 18 miles est de petits ruisseaux. Les fontaines d’eau de Mitchell n’étaient pas opérationnelles, alors ne comptez pas sur elles. Soyez très conscient des ours noirs. Je recommanderais au minimum la vaporisation contre les ours, car nous avons eu une rencontre avec une maman et son petit. Elle n'était pas contente de nous voir et facturée - faites juste des bruits forts tout le temps et ils devraient essayer de vous éviter. Il nous a fallu 6 heures pour parcourir les 8 miles jusqu'au parking du Mt Mitchell, et je referais cette randonnée encore et encore. Descendre n'est pas aussi amusant. Vous utilisez le sentier du cheval buncombe qui est plat avec pas beaucoup de vues. Ensuite, le dos commence et vos genoux et vos pieds vont vous détester. (C'est aussi quand nous avons rencontré l'ours, j'étais donc prêt à retourner à notre voiture!) Dans l'ensemble, c'était une randonnée fantastique et très enrichissante. Je le recommanderais aux personnes en bonne forme ayant une expérience de la randonnée. Pas pour ceux qui recherchent une promenade tranquille !!! :) Mon mari et moi avons convenu que nous camperions absolument la prochaine fois. Sur les chiens, nous avons amené notre laboratoire et elle s'est éclatée, mais elle est très active et nous avons apporté BEAUCOUP d'eau pour elle. Réfléchissez bien si votre chiot pourrait effectuer une marche de 10,5 heures.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Fri Apr 13 2018

C'était un excellent voyage. Nous l’avons fait aussi à l’arrière et avons remonté Colbert Creek le premier jour, campé à Deep Gap, puis au Mont. Mitchell Summit, puis au camp Maple Camp le deuxième jour et au sentier Buncombe Horse Trail le troisième jour. La première journée à Colbert Creek a pris environ 4 heures pour atteindre Deep Gap. Seulement rencontré une autre personne sur le sentier qui descendait. L'eau est rare jusqu'au sommet. SI VOUS CAMPINGZ SUR LE CREST, REMPLISSEZ TOUT L'EAU QUE VOUS POUVEZ PASSER À CREEK, à une distance de 0,5 à 0,75 km du sommet. Il y a un ruisseau qui coule décemment, mais une fois que vous atteignez la crête, il n'y a plus d'eau jusqu'au Mt. Mitchell sommet que nous avons vu, et ils n'ont pas l'eau allumée au sommet jusqu'en mai. Nous avons campé dans une petite zone dégagée qui surplombe les deux côtés de la montagne. C'était génial de voir le coucher et le lever du soleil sans bouger, mais vous payez avec des quantités de vent incroyables. Nous pensions que notre tente à dôme pour deux personnes allait s'effondrer, mais heureusement, elle a tenu bon. Le lendemain matin, nous nous sommes dirigés vers le mont. Sommet Mitchell. Le sentier des crêtes présente des zones forestières vraiment cool ainsi que quelques endroits où vous pouvez voir des kilomètres des deux côtés. Il reste encore une demi-journée de montée sur la colline, ce qui peut être un peu fatiguant après un certain temps, mais la vue en vaut la peine. Après avoir atteint le mont. Mitchell, nous avons dévié un peu de cette randonnée et sommes descendus du vieux mont. Le sentier Mitchell a ensuite croisé le sentier Camp Alice. Le garde du parc nous a dit qu'il y avait une source d'eau précise à l'extrémité du connecteur de Camp Alice. Il y avait un courant décent coulant là-bas et nous nous sommes remplis pour le reste de la journée. Aller au Maple Camp était une randonnée beaucoup plus facile. Était un peu détrempé par endroits, mais dans l'ensemble, un changement bienvenu de la plupart plat et herbeux. Nous avons campé la deuxième nuit à Maple Camp. Les vues sont extraordinaires. Encore une fois, il y avait du vent fou mais cela en valait la peine. Le troisième jour a été une randonnée facile sur le reste du sentier du cheval de Buncombe et le retour au début du sentier du ruisseau Colbert. Cette randonnée était un super voyage avec une vue incroyable après le premier jour. Afin de pouvoir camper aux meilleurs endroits, assurez-vous de disposer d'une tente capable de supporter les rafales de vent extrêmes!

randonnée sac-à-dos
Mon Apr 02 2018

Je viens de faire cette randonnée en sens inverse sur 3 jours. Camping à Big Gap et Maple Camp Bald. Je suggère de commencer par monter Colbert Ridge au lieu de Buncombe Horse Trail, cela facilitera le dernier jour. Cette randonnée est un défi à relever à la légère, mais elle n’est pas inaccessible. Il y a beaucoup d'endroits où trouver de l'eau, aucun d'entre eux ne se trouve dans des endroits où vous pouvez camper, mais à moins d'un kilomètre de marche. À cette époque de l’année, il y avait des sources partout mais, par temps sec, je doute qu’il y en ait. Il nous a fallu environ 3,5 à 4 heures pour faire la randonnée de 4 milles en haut de Colbert Ridge. Quand nous sommes arrivés là-bas, il y avait beaucoup de vent, mais il y a au moins un camping protégé par un grand affleurement rocheux. Je n'appellerais aucun des campings là-haut "à plat". Soyez prêt à faire froid. La randonnée sur la crête était magnifique avec toutes les vues et les forêts changeantes. Les montées sur corde étaient difficiles, mais mon chien de 12 ans était capable de monter avec un peu d’aide. Les cordes sont certainement utiles. La randonnée du mont. Mitchell était raide et éprouvant. Le camping de prairie au carrefour du MST et du Buncombe Horse Trail est un endroit génial et nous nous serions arrêtés là pour camper sans savoir que Maple Camp était meilleur. La randonnée jusqu’à Maple Camp est relativement plate, mais c’est comme si elle durait éternellement (surtout parce que nous avions déjà parcouru toute la crête). Vous passerez devant un autre excellent camping sur votre droite avant d'atteindre le connecteur Big Tom. C'est un bon aussi mais Maple était encore meilleur. Le connecteur Big Tom est le dernier endroit pour une bonne eau, il se trouve à 800 mètres du Maple Camp Bald. Il y avait environ 8,5 à 9 milles de Big Gap à Maple Camp Bald et cela nous a pris environ 6 heures, arrêts compris pour le déjeuner et au Mt. Tour de Mitchell. Le chauve se rafraîchit la nuit alors assurez-vous d'orienter votre tente contre le vent et de l'attacher très bien. La vue vaut le vent, je vous le garantis. Assurez-vous de prendre le temps de regarder le coucher du soleil et de voir les étoiles la nuit. Nous y sommes allés à la pleine lune. La vue de la lune sur la ville était absolument parfaite. La randonnée sur le sentier du cheval de Buncombe est facile et magnifique. Il nous a fallu 3,5 à 4 heures pour parcourir les 5 miles.

fonctionnement
Thu Dec 28 2017

boucle magnifique et vraiment difficile!

randonnée
3 months ago

a enregistré Recording - Jul 11, 03:19 PM

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
Sat Oct 06 2018

randonnée sac-à-dos
Sat Jul 28 2018

Colbert Ridge to Mount Mitchell to Maple Camp Ridge Loop

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(16)
Mount Mitchell State Park

Colbert Ridge to Mount Mitchell to Maple Camp Ridge Loop is a 18.1 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Burnsville, North Carolina that features a great forest setting. The trail is only recommended for very experienced adventurers and offers a number of activity options.

Length18.1 miElevation gain5144 ftRoute typeLoop
BackpackingCampingHikingNature tripsBird watchingrunningForestViews
Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (16)
Photos (1188)
Recordings (3)
Completed (37)
View user's profile page
Haley Litton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 26, 2020
CampingGreat!Scramble
View user's profile page
James Beaumier
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 24, 2020
HikingGreat!Muddy

If you do this clockwise (starting on Buncombe Horse Trail) the trail up to the ridge is less difficult, but there was a water crossing that I needed "water shoes" for. I saw no sign of recent horse travel. Also clockwise there is plenty of water on the way up. However once you pass Commissary Ridge campsite and join the Mt. Mitchell trail there is no water until you descend the ridge after a 1/2 mile. That 10 mile ridge hop IS spectacular. Yes that trail is difficult (been up and down it before). I like down much better! :-) This is a difficult hike, best in 2-days. Many people just drive to Mt. Mitchell and do the "ridge hop" from there...ok for them, but I like the challenge. Trail is generally very well maintained. There is a 1/2 mile walk on the road between the two trail-heads, but that was no big deal.

View user's profile page
Jake Veilleux
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 23, 2020
BackpackingMuddyScrambleWashed out

Did this counterclockwise parking at the Colbert Ridge Trail Head. The Colbert Ridge Trail is TOUGH. Straight up and mostly washed-out or rock scrambles. However, the Crest Trail section from Deep Gap to Commissary Hill is incredible and offers plenty of great views (but limited water FYI). At Mount Mitchell, you have to take the Balsam Nature Loop (on the way up to the peak) to get to Mount Mitchell Trail, which brings you to Commissary Hill. Good campsite, lots of open space and access to water a short ways down Buncombe Horse Trail. Buncombe Horse Trail was a mud pit and mostly downhill in forest, but about a mile after leaving Commissary Hill, there’s a small opening to your right with a spectacular view, especially early in the AM. Maple Ridge Camp also has some grassy openings to take a break (keep walking past BHT sign for about 20ft and there’s big opening with a view). Tough loop, but definitely worth it for that middle ~10 mile portion.

View user's profile page
Jaxon Smith
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 31, 2020

Definitely longer than 18.1. It was about 22 miles total

View user's profile page
Yates McConnell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 12, 2020
Hiking

An excellent trail for a backpacker who wants a challenge in a weekend. We hiked up Colbert Ridge on a friday night, and camped near Deep Gap. The water source close to the top was there, and we filled up after desperately needing it. Colbert Ridge trail is HARD. It kicked our butts, but was a good reward when we were done. The next day, we hiked Black Mountain Crest to Mt. Mitchell (also not easy, but not as bad as Colbert Ridge), and down the other side via Alice Camp to Buncombe Horse and the meadow campground, which was a beautiful place to spend the evening. Finally, we took Buncombe Horse back to the car the next day, needing to hike about a half mile along the road (right off of Buncombe Horse and then first left). Buncombe Horse is quite a trail, and I'd pay good money to watch someone do it on horseback. There's a very steep mile-long section especially that is largely just talus. Overall, though physically taxing, a great hike to push ourselves and get out there for a few days/nights!

View user's profile page
Mike OConnor
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 19, 2020
Hiking

I ran/hiked the trail counterclockwise on 2/16. Lots of ice on the way up to Mount Mitchell and the Buncombe Horse trail was very muddy. I had no problem finding water and completed the trail just over 6 1/2 hours. Great views on the peaks along the way! I’d definitely do this trail again.

View user's profile page
Shelley Moore
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMarch 30, 2019
BackpackingRocky

My boyfriend and I completed this loop counterclockwise in two days and one night. We arrived at the Colbert Ridge trailhead Thursday March 28, and headed to camp at Deep Gap. It took us 3.5 hours to get there. Kicked our butts, for sure. About a mile (or less?) from Deep Gap there’s a nicely flowing stream—get water here for camp and climbs the next day—it was the only flowing water until 3-4 miles AFTER Mt. Mitchell. (Mitchell water is still turned off, and bathrooms are locked.) There were a few stealth camp options between Deep Gap and Mitchell. Second day was a slightly grueling 14 miles (9 hours) back to the car, but mostly very beautiful. The trail from Deep Gap to Mitchell and then to Maple Camp is hard, technical, but satisfying and interesting with gorgeous views. After that, on the downhill via Buncombe horse trail, things got kinda crappy. It was our least favorite stretch. It’s very rocky, muddy, and steep. I suppose if we had camped a second night and done that in the morning it would’ve been more tolerable, but we were spent. One thing we didn’t realize until really looking at the map upon arrival is that there is a half mile road walk required in between trail heads. Just a heads up for when you’re deciding where to park. Probably won’t do the loop again, but I’m glad we did it and I’d still recommend it if you’re looking for an adventure. Happy hiking! Remember to leave no trace and pack out your toilet paper!

View user's profile page
Kristin Glaeser
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMay 9, 2018
Hiking

The views are worth all the pain! I will start by saying our experience is much different than the other reviews because we completed the 18.1 mile loop in one day. It is possible, but very grueling. For reference, we did this hike on May 3 and it took us 10.5 hours. We started at the Colbert’s trail head and headed on up to the crest. The first time you get some views is about 2 miles into the hike. Once at the crest, you will have views on either side so it is well worth it!! The trail is well maintained but it’s TOUGH. We were stopping every mile for water breaks. Make sure you have enough water because the only water you will come across the entire 18 Miles are small streams. The water fountains at Mitchell were not operational, so don’t count on them. Be very aware of black bears. I would recommend bear spray at a minimum because we did have an encounter with a momma and her cub. She was NOT pleased to see us and charged - just make loud noises the whole time and they should try to avoid you. It took us 6 hours to hike the 8 miles to the parking lot on Mt Mitchell, and I would do that hike again and again. Going down is not as fun. You use the buncombe horse trail which is flat with not a lot of views. Then the switch backs start and your knees and feet will hate you. (This is also when we ran into the bear so I was ready to get back to our car!) Overall, this was an awesome hike and very rewarding. I’d recommend it for individuals in good shape with hiking experience. Not for those looking for a leisurely stroll!!! :) My husband and I both agreed we would absolutely camp next time. On dogs, we brought our lab and she had a blast, but she is very active and we brought LOTS of water for her, so think hard on whether your pup could complete a 10.5 hour walk.

View user's profile page
David Randall
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarApril 13, 2018
Backpacking

This was a great trip. We did it backwards as well and went up Colbert Creek the first day, camped at Deep Gap, went to the Mt. Mitchell Summit and then to Maple Camp the second day and down Buncombe Horse Trail the third day. The first day up Colbert Creek took about 4 hours to get to Deep Gap. Only encountered one other person on the trail who was coming down. Water is scarce until you get near the top. IF YOU ARE CAMPING ON THE CREST, FILL UP EVERY BIT OF WATER YOU CAN AT THE CREEK 0.5-.75 miles from the top. There is a decently flowing stream but once you reach the crest, there is no water all the way to Mt. Mitchell summit that we saw, and they don't have the water turned on at the summit until May. We camped in a little open area that overlooks both sides of the mountain. It was awesome to see the sunset and sunrise without moving, but you pay for it with insane amounts of wind. We thought our two person dome tent was going to collapse, but thankfully it held strong. The next morning we headed towards Mt. Mitchell summit. The crest trail has some really cool forest areas as well as a couple places where you can see for miles on both sides. It is still a half day of climbing up hill most of the way so it can get a bit tiring after a while, but the views are worth it. After getting to Mt. Mitchell we deviated a bit from this exact hike and went down the Old Mt. Mitchell Trail then intersected with the Camp Alice trail. The park ranger told us there was a definite water source at the end of the Camp Alice connector. There was a decent flowing stream there and we filled up for the rest of the day. Going towards Maple Camp was a much easier hike. Was a bit soggy in places but overall a welcome change of mostly flat and grassy. We camped the second night at Maple Camp. The views are AMAZING. Once again it was crazy windy but worth it. The third day was an easy hike down the rest of the Buncombe Horse Trail and back to the Colbert creek trail head where we started. This hike was a great trip with amazing views after the first day. In order to camp at the best places, make sure to have a tent that can handle extreme wind gusts!

View user's profile page
Liz DiNatale
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 2, 2018
Backpacking

Just did this hike in reverse over 3 days. Camping at Big Gap and Maple Camp Bald. I suggest going up Colbert Ridge first instead of Buncombe Horse Trail, it makes the last day easier. This hike is a challenge to put it lightly but it's not unattainable. There's plenty of places to get water, none of them are at places you can camp, but are within a half a mile hike. This time of year, there were springs everywhere but in dryer times, I doubt there would be. It took us about 3.5-4 hours to do the 4 mile hike up Colbert Ridge. It was pretty windy when we got up there but there is at least 1 camp site that is protected by a large rock outcropping. I wouldn't call any of the campsites up there "flat". Be prepared for the weather to turn cold. The hike over the crest was beautiful with all the views and the changing forests. The rope climbs up Big Tom were difficult but my 12 yr old dog was able to navigate the climb with a little assistance on the hard parts from me. The ropes definitely came in handy. The hike down from Mt. Mitchell was steep and taxing. The meadow campsite at the crossroads of the MST and Buncombe Horse Trail is an awesome spot and we would have stopped there to camp except we knew that Maple Camp was better. The hike to Maple Camp is relatively flat but it feels like it goes on forever (mostly because we had already hiked the entire crest). You'll pass another great camp site on your right before you reach the Big Tom connector. It's a good one as well but Maple was still better. The Big Tom connector is the last place for good water, it's another half a mile to the Maple Camp Bald. It was about 8.5-9 miles from Big Gap to Maple Camp Bald and it took us about 6 hours including stops for lunch and at the Mt. Mitchell tower. The bald gets gusty at night so make sure you orient your tent into the wind and tie it down very well. The view is worth the wind, I guarantee you. Make sure to take the time to watch the sunset and see the stars at night. We went when there was a full moon. The view of the moon over the town was absolutely perfect. The hike down the mountain on the Buncombe Horse Trail is easy and beautiful. It took us 3.5-4 hrs to do the 5 miles.

View user's profile page
Brian Doege
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarDecember 28, 2017
Running
First to Review

gorgeous and really hard loop!

View user's profile page
Mason McCroskey
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 31, 2020
Backpacking
View user's profile page
Zach Johnson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 28, 2020
Hiking
View Zach's Recording
View user's profile page
Lauren Bryant
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 25, 2019
View Lauren's Recording
View user's profile page
Lorenzo Morales
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 21, 2019
Hiking
View Lorenzo's Recording
View user's profile page
Zack Str
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 6, 2018
Hiking
View Zack's Recording