Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Beacon Heights Trail to Grandfather View

EASY 31 reviews
#40 of 172 trails in

Beacon Heights Trail to Grandfather View is a 0.6 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Linville, North Carolina that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
0.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
147 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

bird watching

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This is probably the shortest hike with the greatest reward as you will hike a total of a one mile in, around and out. The views are absolutely stunning!!! After a short walk there are two different areas that you walk out onto a large rock face with views of Grandfather Mountain and surrounding areas. This is a best kept secret!

hiking
2 months ago

This trail is great for kids. My 5 year old is very small, only 28 pounds, and had never hiked before. She did the entire trail on her own. The views at the end are beautiful!!

5 months ago

Pretty views

hiking
11 months ago

Quick, short, and fantastic views.

hiking
Sunday, March 04, 2018

FANTASTIC! It's not clearly marked but once you pass by the viaduct (heading south on BRP) you will almost miss the parking to the left. GET OUT and take to 5-10 minute walk and WOW... the view is fantastic.
We went on a super windy day and nearly blew off (HA).
Highly recommend but WATCH YOUR CHILDREN!

hiking
Wednesday, August 09, 2017

If you're looking for a quick and easy trail, this is a must-do. Beautiful views of the Blue Ridge and Grandfather Mountain!

hiking
Thursday, March 23, 2017

absolutely beautiful. took about 4 minutes to get to the view.

hiking
Wednesday, January 04, 2017

Great views & hike would recommend.

hiking
Monday, October 03, 2016

Short hike, big payoff. Excellent.

hiking
Thursday, August 11, 2016

Spectacular views.....

hiking
Sunday, June 19, 2016

Nice short hike with great views.

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

9 months ago

hiking
Sunday, December 31, 2017

hiking
Saturday, December 30, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, December 27, 2017

hiking
Friday, December 22, 2017

hiking
Sunday, November 26, 2017

Monday, November 13, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, October 24, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 24, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 02, 2017

Load More