Forney Ridge Trail

MODERATE 54 reviews

Forney Ridge Trail is a 10.9 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Cherokee, North Carolina that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round.

DISTANCE
10.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
2870 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

muddy

no dogs

hiking
5 days ago

hiking
8 days ago

20 days ago

The starting view from Clingmans Dome was beautiful as well as the view from Andrews Bald. The first mile of Forney Ridge trail was neat, you walk through some rocky terrain. The remaing 3 miles of the trail was a little boring for an out and back trail. Next time we will make it a loop trail by taking the Springhouse branch trail from Forney Ridge to meet up with the Forney creek trail.

21 days ago

A few neat views from the top, otherwise will make it a loop next time.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

11 months ago

hiking
Saturday, October 01, 2016

hiking
Friday, July 08, 2016

Nice hike with lovely views. Would be better if blackberries were ripe.

Monday, July 04, 2016

pretty. rough in spots wile flowers are amazing

Friday, November 27, 2015

Beautiful short , moderate hike. The out and back trail is a little rocky but neat with ferns and moss. View from bald is like being in the Sound of Music.

hiking
Sunday, November 01, 2015

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Love Andrews Bald. Hiking down you feel like you are in an enchanted forest. I expected to see a couple fairies. Great hike. Don't go too early, wait for the fog to lift so you can see when you get to the open area.

hiking
Sunday, October 18, 2015

Friday, September 11, 2015

Great views in November, a lot less people

hiking
Friday, September 04, 2015

Nice moderate hike. If you go early the mountain views from the bald are great. Some parts are rocky and there are built in steps too but you want to have at least one trekking pole.

hiking
Friday, August 21, 2015

This was a great hike! Very beautiful!

Saturday, August 08, 2015

good hike but definitely Rocky...take a walking stick with you to help navigate...

Monday, August 03, 2015

One of my favorite short hikes. Great hike on a clear day and you've got a lot of other things to do/see.

hiking
Friday, July 17, 2015

Not to bad hiking in. But can be a little rough going out. If you don't like climbing stairs don't go.