Wilson M Powell Wildlife Preserve Loop est un sentier en boucle de 2,5 km situé près de Old Chatham, dans l’État de New York, qui présente de belles fleurs sauvages et qui convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et est accessible toute l’année.

DISTANCE
1.5 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
187 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

convient aux enfants

randonnée

raquettes

course de trail

balade

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

chiens interdits

La réserve, protégée par la Columbia County Land Conservancy, est la propriété du Alan Devoe Bird Club et offre une grande diversité naturelle sur environ 145 hectares, dont un ruisseau, une zone marécageuse, des clairières et l’étang de Reilly. Le sanctuaire fournit un habitat pour la Chouette rayée, le Corbeau commun, Veery, le Carillon de Louisiane et de nombreux autres oiseaux chanteurs. Il y a un petit étang marécageux et une vallée de ruisseau coiffée de fougères, et la falaise renferme des trésors de fougères et de lichens que l'on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs dans le sanctuaire. Dorsons Rock, surplombant la magnifique vallée de l'Hudson, offre des possibilités d'observation des faucons et une flore inhabituelle. Faites une petite randonnée jusqu’à Dorsons Rock pour une vue panoramique sur la vallée de l’Hudson jusqu’aux lointaines montagnes Catskill. Balayez le ciel pour trouver des faucons à épaulettes, à queue rousse et à ailes larges.

11 months ago

Balade très paisible dans les bois. Pas difficile du tout, plus un sentier de randonnée, mais reste l’un de mes sentiers préférés à venir ici. Sentier très bien balisé et blanc avec un petit point de vue

randonnée
Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Belle randonnée à la mi-février 75degrees cet après-midi !!!!

randonnée
Sunday, November 12, 2017

Très belle randonnée

randonnée
Friday, July 28, 2017

Super randonnée ... J'ai fait Dobson's Rock, tout le White Trail et tout le Red Trail ... cela a pris environ 45 minutes pour toutes les boucles. C'était un sentier parfait, bonnes montées, bonnes descentes, traversées de cours d'eau, bois, pinèdes, quelques ponts, rochers un peu buggy, mais pas horrible. Je reviendrai certainement ici et j'amènerai les enfants. Dobson's Rock était une vue incroyable. endroit parfait pour un pique-nique.

randonnée
Monday, July 10, 2017

Belle vue et super pour une belle randonnée rapide!

Friday, October 21, 2016

Marche facile pour les familles. Apprécié!

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Belle promenade avec une vue magnifique. Différentes options pour les sentiers si vous voulez un itinéraire plus long.

randonnée
Friday, July 22, 2016

Bonne promenade, pas fatigante. La vue de Dorsons Rock est superbe! Il y a plusieurs itinéraires également.

Wednesday, July 06, 2016

Bien

randonnée
Monday, February 29, 2016

C'était une belle piste dont le niveau de difficulté était faible à modéré. Il y avait une belle pente progressive sur le sentier principal. Nous avons fini par regarder quelques gros rochers pour admirer une vue magnifique sur les montagnes Catskill. Il y avait d'autres sentiers que nous n'avons pas pu explorer parce que nous avions des enfants avec nous et nos chiens. Nous ne connaissions pas la règle des chiens interdits avant notre arrivée et il était trop tard. Nous les avons donc emmenés avec nous, ce qui a bien fonctionné. J'aimerais vraiment y retourner et explorer un peu plus!

Friday, December 25, 2015

Beau terrain avec tapis comme des chemins. Une excellente façon de passer une journée d'automne ou d'hiver. C'était une journée chaude fin décembre, mais malheureusement il n'y avait pas beaucoup d'animaux, malgré des températures supérieures à la normale

Monday, November 30, 2015

Mon chien Walter et moi avons beaucoup apprécié ce sentier. c'était bien indiqué, l'environnement était paisible et c'était assez facile avec seulement quelques petites montées. j'y retournerais.

Wednesday, January 08, 2014

Vraiment apprécié ce système de sentiers - les couleurs de l’automne étaient fantastiques, beaucoup de faune à voir et de superbes vues pour seulement un peu d’escalade. Une conserve très bien conservée.

randonnée
Saturday, October 28, 2017

randonnée
Friday, September 29, 2017

Monday, May 01, 2017

randonnée
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Charger plus

Wilson M Powell Wildlife Preserve Loop

easyYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(44)
Old Chatham, New York

Wilson M Powell Wildlife Preserve Loop is a 2.4 kilometer lightly trafficked loop trail located near Old Chatham, New York that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

Distance: 2.4 km Elevation Gain: 57 m Route Type: Loop

kid friendly

hiking

snowshoeing

walking

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no dogs

The preserve, protected by the Columbia County Land Conservancy, is owned by Alan Devoe Bird Club and provides a great deal of natural diversity in approximately 145 acres including a stream, a marshy area, glades and Reilly Pond. The Sanctuary provides habitat for Barred Owls, Common Ravens, Veery, Louisiana Waterthrushes and many other song birds. There is a small marshy pond and fern-caparisoned stream valley, and the cliff face itself holds treasures of ferns and lichens not found elsewhere in the Sanctuary. Dorsons Rock, overlooking the magnificent Hudson Valley offers opportunities for hawk watching and unusual flora. Do take a short hike up to Dorsons Rock for panoramic views across the Hudson Valley to the distant Catskill Mountains, scanning the sky for Red-shouldered, Red-tailed and Broad-winged Hawks.

hiking
1 month ago

Nice hike and nice piece of property.

hiking
rocky
2 months ago

I loved this trail, a favorite one around! Easy to walk, beautiful to see. For me it was short, however, there were plenty of different trails.

Good views at Dorsons view!

hiking
10 months ago

This is a pleasant and easy walk through the woods. Don’t miss taking the short detour to Dorman’s (sp?) Rock, which offers a beautiful vista amid grassy rocks and pine trees. It was truly the highlight of the walk.

Mon Apr 09 2018

Very peaceful walk through the woods. Not difficult at all, more of a walking trail, but still one of my favorite trails to come to around here. Very well marked and white trail has a little look out spot

hiking
Wed Feb 21 2018

Nice hike in the middle of February 75degrees this afternoon!!!!

hiking
Sun Nov 12 2017

Very nice hike

hiking
Fri Jul 28 2017

Great hike ... I did Dobson's Rock, the whole White Trail, and the whole Red Trail ... took about 45 minutes for all the loops. This was a perfect trail, good uphills, good downhills, stream crossings, woods, pine stands, a couple bridges, rocks; a little buggy, but not horrible. I will definitely come here again, and bring the kids. Dobson's Rock was an amazing view; perfect place for a picnic.

hiking
Mon Jul 10 2017

Beautiful view and great for a nice quick hike!

Fri Oct 21 2016

Easy walk for families. Enjoyed it!

Nice walk with a great view. Different options for trails if you want s longer route.

hiking
Fri Jul 22 2016

Good walk, not strenuous. The view from Dorsons Rock is great! There are several routes also.

Wed Jul 06 2016

Good

hiking
Mon Feb 29 2016

This was a nice trail that was mild to moderate in its difficulty level. There was a nice gradual incline on the main trail. We ended by going to a look-out over some big rocks to see beautiful views of the Catskill mountains. There were other trails we didn't get to explore because we had kids with us and our dogs. We didn't know about the no dog rule until we got there and it was too late, so we took them with us, which ended up being fine. I would definitely like to go back and explore a little more!

Fri Dec 25 2015

Lovely terrain with carpet like paths. A great way to spend a fall or winter day. It was a warm late December day, but unfortunately there was not much wildlife in spite of the higher than normal temperatures

Mon Nov 30 2015

My dog Walter and I enjoyed this trail very much. it was well marked, the surroundings were peaceful and it was fairly easy with only a couple small climbs. would go again.

Wed Jan 08 2014

Really enjoyed this trail system - the fall colors were fantastic, lots of wildlife to see and such great views for only a little climbing. A very well kept preserve.

recorded Recording - May 08, 03:14 PM

hiking
28 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

Showing results 1 - 30 of 44