Der Timp Torne Loop Trail ist ein 6,8 Meilen langer Wanderweg, der sich in der Nähe von Tomkins Cove, New York befindet. Hier können Sie die Tierwelt sehen und wird nur erfahrenen Abenteurern empfohlen. Der Weg bietet zahlreiche Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Distance: 6.8 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,788 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

angeleinte hunde

Camping

Skilanglauf

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Trailrunning

Vogelbeobachtung

Höhle

Wald

Aussicht

Wildtiere

Sturmholz

steinig

Scrambling

Schnee

Beginnen Sie im Anthony Wayne Recreation Area und wandern Sie über den Fawn-Pfad in den Bear Mountain State Park. Der Fawn-Trail kreuzt den Timp Torne-Trail, dem Sie nach Süden auf dem Grat, der zum Western Mountain führt, folgen, und dann nach Osten in Richtung Jones Point mit Blick auf den Hudson River abbiegen. Dies ist auch eine großartige Wanderung. Wenn Sie den Gipfel von Timp erreichen, haben Sie eine fantastische (entfernte) Aussicht auf Manhattan. Bring Essen und Wasser!

wandern
9 days ago

Der erste Anstieg reicht kaum aus, um das Herz in Schwung zu bringen. Unausweichlicher Lärm der Gesellschaft: Verkehr, Züge und Produktion auf dem gesamten Weg. Wenn ich nicht mit dem Fahrrad zum Trail gefahren wäre, wäre ich gelangweilt und frustriert geblieben.

wandern
12 days ago

Sehr cooler Ort. Anfänglich anspruchsvoller Höhenunterschied und dann durchgehend mäßiger Schwierigkeitsgrad. Wirklich gute Übung. Sehr üppig. Kleine Höhle auf dem Weg. Tolle Aussicht auf den Hudson River. Die Bugs waren mild, zumindest zu dieser Jahreszeit. Trail war gut markiert, wenn ein Hauch in ein paar Stellen überwuchert.

wandern
steinig
1 month ago

6.14.19. Im Unterlauf dachte ich, dass dieser Weg ein bisschen so war, aber als ich die oberen Ebenen erreichte, enttäuschte er sicherlich nicht. Ich parkte auf dem Grundstück, 200 Meter vom Ausgangspunkt entfernt, und kletterte ungefähr 4/5-Meilen ziemlich steil auf den blauen Pfad, wonach er sich ein wenig abflachte. Wildes Geißblatt parfümierte die unteren Teile, während die Mountain Laurel-Blüten höher in Kraft waren. Oben gibt es einen atemberaubenden Blick auf den Hudson River sowie ziemlich offene Wälder mit Grasboden. Ich fuhr auf dem blauen Pfad im Uhrzeigersinn um die Schleife herum zum Timp. Ehrlich gesagt hat mich der 180º + Blick von hier umgehauen. (Wie auch der Wind dort oben.) Das zweite Drittel der Rundstrecke war nicht beleuchtet, aber der letzte Teil ist der Weg von 1777, der an einem recht schönen Steinhaufen wieder zum Blau führt. Dann zurück zum Los. Alles in allem ein wunderschöner Ausflug, aber hart für die Beine. NB: Oben auf dem Pfad haben wir eine Klapperschlange aus östlichem Holz entdeckt. Ich machte ein Foto und ließ es von NJ Audubon ausweisen. Also sei dort oben wachsam! Hier sind meine Statistiken als grober Anhaltspunkt dafür, was Sie zu erwarten haben: Entfernung: 8,9 Meilen (auf dem Rückweg habe ich eine falsche Kurve genommen, das Ganze ist also ungefähr 8,2) Höhenunterschied: 1,857 Fuß Bewegungszeit: 4:08:28

trailrunning
10 months ago

Nicht wirklich eine Schleife, es sei denn, Sie biegen auf dem Ramapo-Dunderberg-Trail ein paar Kilometer ab und kehren zurück in den Timp-Torne-Trail. Kranke Aussichten, sobald Sie den kahlen Berg erreichen. Kein einfacher Lauf, aber 7,5 Meilen mit knapp über 2.000 Fuß Vert. Kostenlose Parkplätze und einen einfachen Zugang vom Timp-Torne Trailhead an der Route 202 (kürzere und einfachere Entfernung von NYC als Bear Mountain). Hier gibt es viele wimpy Kritiken. Ich trage Shorts, Singlet, bringe ein paar Gele und eine Wasserflasche mit, es ist alles. https://www.strava.com/activities/1741097624

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Solide Wanderung, gute Aussichten und eine coole Höhle. Nichts zu verrückt, aber angenehm.

wandern
Monday, April 02, 2018

Dies sollte ein Hin- und Rückweg sein. Die Schleife ist nicht erforderlich, es sei denn, Sie möchten nur Meilen hinzufügen und durch den Wald laufen. Nehmen Sie den blauen Pfad von der 9 bis zum Aussichtspunkt Timp und dann gleich um die Ecke, um die Bear Mountain Bridge zu sehen. Darüber hinaus ist die Schleife nur ein langer Abstieg, den Sie wieder hinaufsteigen müssen. Sie müssen den blauen Pfad verlassen, einer alten Feuerstraße am Bach entlang folgen und dann den Weg 1777 treffen und wieder hochklettern (ohne Aussicht), eine Art Müll und ein echter Beinbrenner. Ich wäre mit dem Hin und Her mehr als glücklich gewesen

wandern
Sunday, April 01, 2018

Nehmen Sie die blaue Flamme zur 1777 Fußweg-Flamme und verbinden Sie sich wieder mit der blauen Flamme, um den Vorgang abzuschließen. Ich würde einfach ein Out und zurück zum Timp-Peak statt zur Schleife machen. Die Schleife addiert keinen zusätzlichen Wert, außer zusätzlichen Meilen. Die Schleife steigt nur in ein Tal hinab, um sich ohne weitere Standorte wieder mit dem Blau zu verbinden.

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Von 9 W, wo der Trail Head startet, sind die unmittelbaren 2 Meilen ein anstrengender Aufstieg von 350 Fuß. Wir wanderten unter einem Sturmsystem, das die unteren Catskills und die Nordseite des Bärenberges bedeckte ... aber es hat nur die letzten 2 Stunden geregnet. Der Weg war in den meisten Teilen sehr eisig und matschig, und ich würde nicht empfehlen, ohne Mikro-Spikes zu wandern, da es viel zu gefährlich wäre. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es andere Wege gibt, die sich mit dieser Schleife kreuzen und es sehr einfach ist, den Weg zu verlieren! Dies ist im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes eine schwierige Wanderung, wenn die Bedingungen so eisig und nass sind. Wir haben es graziös gehandhabt, jedoch müssen Sie jede Menge Wasser und Lebensmittel mitbringen, um diese Reise zu beenden. Die Aussichten auf den Hudson und die Torne sind exquisit, aber ich glaube, dass sie schöner sind, als der Weg solche Anstrengung zum Überleben forderte. Um im Februar zu wandern, ist eine sorgfältige Kalkulation der Zeit erforderlich, die erforderlich ist, um diese Schleife zu beenden. Mit unserer Ausrüstung und den aktuellen Wander- / Wetterbedingungen hatten wir das Glück, vor der Dunkelheit fertig zu werden. Ich würde hier in den wärmeren Monaten des Wachstums und der anderen Pfade, die sich kreuzen, wahrscheinlich nicht wandern, da dies das Wachstum und den Handel zu eng machen würde. Es ist jedoch ohne Frage ein wunderschöner Teil von Rockland County und die Wanderung bietet enormes Gelände, Höhenunterschied und sorgfältige Entscheidungen. Habe Spaß!

wandern
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Mein Mann und ich machten die Runde nicht, wir fingen am Parkplatz auf der 4. Straße an und landeten am Ramapdo Dunderberg Trailhead-Parkplatz. Auf jeden Fall empfehlen.

Thursday, July 06, 2017

Vorsichtig um die Schleife herum ist am Ende eine kilometerlange Strecke, wo der Weg unmarkiert wird, wenn Sie dieser Schleife genau folgen. Leicht zu verlieren, da es dort ein paar Kreuzungen gibt. Gute Spur, lief in einen schwarzen Bären nahe der großen Höhle auf der Spur

wandern
Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Ich habe diese Spur letzte Woche gemacht. Sehr gute Herausforderung. Die Neigung wird Sie an Ihre Grenzen bringen. Hier sind ein paar Tipps: Sommerzeitwanderung: 1. Nehmen Sie lieber einige ernstzunehmende Insektenschutzmittel. Mücken werden dich fressen. Ehrlich gesagt juckt es immer noch. 2. Raupen überall auf den Bäumen, passen Sie auf, wo und was Sie anfassen. 3. An manchen Stellen ist es zu buschig, ich würde vorschlagen, keine Shorts zu tragen. Komplexität: Hartes Gelände: An einigen Stellen schlammig und steinig. Meistens felsiger Trekkingstock: Wird benötigt, wenn Sie nicht an felsigen Kletterfahrten gewöhnt sind. Fußbekleidung: Wanderschuh bevorzugt (obwohl mein Keen sehr gut funktionierte, aber ich musste auf die Käfer, Raupen und den östlichen Newt achten) Szenische Ansicht: Viele Stellen eigentlich Water Stream: Wenige kleine Bäche, aber besser Wasser selber tragen. Wegmarkierungen: Meistens dem blauen Weg folgen, aber an einem Punkt muss man 1477 Fußweg für die Schleife nehmen.

Monday, April 17, 2017

Die gute Ostertagswanderung führte dazu, dass der Parkplatz auf dem Hudson River und der Bear MTN Bridge vom blauen Parkplatz hoch und runterging

wandern
Saturday, January 28, 2017

Diese Wanderung überraschte mich mit den erstaunlichen Aussichten, die sie während der gesamten Wanderung bot. Außerdem gab es ein paar coole Features wie eine fantastische Höhle auf halbem Weg. Diese Wanderung sollte sicherlich nicht als "schwer" bezeichnet werden, definitiv eine moderate Wanderung. Der einzige Nachteil ist, dass es am Ende keinen großartigen Aussichtspunkt gibt, sondern die Aussichten auf dem Weg nach oben.

Friday, October 28, 2016

Ich würde es jedem empfehlen, der nach einem großartigen Training sucht, da es sowohl ein stetiger schwieriger Anstieg als auch ein steiler Abstieg (auf blauem Grund) war. Die Ansichten auf dem Weg nach oben waren unwirklich! Mein Freund und ich konnten nicht aufhören, Fotos zu machen. Wenn Sie den Gipfel von Timp erreichen, haben Sie eine fantastische (entfernte) Aussicht auf Manhattan. Ich würde dir empfehlen, Essen und Wasser mitzubringen. Es dauerte ungefähr 4 Stunden mit ein paar Stopps. Ich würde sagen, es wäre am besten, wenn Sie bereits aktiv sind und ein paar Wanderungen unternommen haben. Genossen es!

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Toller Trail mit guten Aussichten.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Großartige Aussichten

wandern
Sunday, June 12, 2016

Großartig! Wunderschöne Aussicht

wandern
Thursday, March 03, 2016

Ein guter anspruchsvoller Vorbereitungspfad für eine größere Rucksackreise oder Wanderung. Sie können nach Westen gelangen, aber der Weg nach oben und nach Westen ist ein schwieriges Hindernis. Mit einem 30-Pfund-Rucksack ist dieser Weg ziemlich gut, aber ich würde das Campen am Westberg empfehlen.

Camping
Friday, February 12, 2016

Zeitweise sehr anspruchsvoll, vor allem zu Beginn, aber es lohnt sich für die atemberaubende Aussicht auf Sonnenaufgang und Sonnenuntergang! Kein wildes Leben begegnet. Ich werde es auf jeden Fall wieder tun

wandern
Sunday, January 17, 2016

Ich parkte am 202 direkt hinter dem Ankermonument und nahm den Timp-Torne-Pfad nach The Timp und fuhr denselben Weg zurück. Ich wollte anfangs wieder auf die RD zurückgreifen, was ich später tun werde, aber leider hatte ich etwas Zeitbeschränkung. Das Negative an dieser Wanderung ist die Verschmutzung des Hudson und das Geräusch des Zuges, da er sich etwas von einem Berg entfernt. Der Weg hat viele steile Steigungen und Gefälle, aber die Serpentinen helfen wirklich. Die verlassenen Spiralbahnabschnitte sind auch cool. Der Timp ist der Star dieses Weges und um ehrlich zu sein, ist er einer der besseren Aussichten, die ich je gesehen habe. Wir werden auf jeden Fall wiederkommen.

Monday, December 07, 2015

tolle Wanderung

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Ich begann am Timp und verband mich mit Ramapo Dunderberg, um den Dunderberg zu umfahren. Die Aussicht auf den Hudson war wunderschön. Sie haben auch einen Platz auf der anderen Seite des Berges, von dem Sie einen schönen Blick auf den Bärenberg haben. Es war ziemlich ruhig und überhaupt nicht überfüllt. Ich ging an einem nebligen Morgen, also war die Aussicht etwas hart, aber ich hörte am ersten Aussichtsturm an einem klaren Tag, dass man Nyc sehen kann. Insgesamt war es ziemlich anstrengend, aber lustig!

wandern
Monday, September 07, 2015

Wir kombinierten Timp, Bald Mountain und Dunderburg Mountain in einer Wanderung. Insgesamt 8,5 Meilen (insgesamt anstrengende Höhen und Tiefen) beim Wandern. Ein guter Stand ist nicht nur wegen der felsigen Pfade zu empfehlen, sondern wir stolperten auf einem 300 Meter steilen Abstieg auf einem künstlichen Felsenbett (Railway-Material?) Im letzten Teil unserer Wanderung .

Thursday, July 09, 2015

Wir haben eine ausgedehnte Rundwanderung personalisiert, die am Ende etwa 17 Meilen betrug. Dies war ein ziemlich herausfordernder Tagesausflug. Wir fuhren in die historische Stätte Fort Montgomery und parkten. Von dort aus nahmen wir den Historischen Wanderweg von 1777, den roten, bis er auf Timp Trail traf. Timp bot einen recht schönen Gipfelaufstieg und gute Aussichten. Wir schlängelten uns um Timp und folgten dem Timp Trail (blau) bis nach Süden, wo er mit dem Appalachian Trail verbunden war. Wir folgten dem AT den ganzen Weg zurück zum Parkplatz des Bärengebirges und machten einen riskanten 1-Meilen-Weg zurück zum Montgomery Site. Alles in allem war es schön. Gute Mischung aus Felsen und bewaldeten Wegen. Als fit 20-jähriger war dies hart, aber nicht so schlimm. Es gab viele Aufstiege und Abfahrten auf diesem Weg, die wir genommen haben. Unser Weg war definitiv der schwierigste Weg um den Bear Mountain Park, aber wir haben den größten Teil des Parks gesehen.

skilanglauf
Sunday, July 05, 2015

Anständige Route. Gute Aussicht auf den Hudson. Trailkopf nicht gut markiert.

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Es war ein anspruchsvoller Weg, aber eine großartige Aussicht. Ich habe keine Wildtiere gesehen, aber es lohnt sich immer noch, wenn Sie auf der Suche nach einem Weg mit guten Kilometern und steilen Wegen unterwegs sind

wandern
Monday, May 25, 2015

Hat eine teilweise Wanderung auf dem Appalachian Trail, Timp und Fawn gemacht. War eine großartige Runde von etwa 6 Meilen, angefangen bei Anthony Wayne Rec. Der Abstieg des AT mit all den kleinen Bächen auf der Ostseite war großartig.

wandern
Thursday, January 03, 2013

Gute Wanderung mit herrlichem Blick auf den Hudson, die Bear Mountain Bridge und einen Blick auf die Skyline von NYC. Es ist eine gute Runde, wenn Sie nach einer Wanderung suchen, die 4-5 Stunden dauert und ein paar Höhenunterschiede bestehen.

wandern
Friday, October 05, 2012

Es ist ein großartiger Weg, aber anstrengende, schöne Aussichten. Wir haben es im September hervorragend gemacht. Gehen Sie früh, also nehmen Sie den Rest, den Sie wollen.

wandern
Sunday, August 12, 2012

Tolle Wanderung! Ich dachte, es wäre länger als 8 Meilen. Es hat nicht so viel Höhenunterschied wie manche Wanderungen, aber fantastisch. Die Aussicht ist großartig!

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Timp Torne Loop Trail is a 6.8 mile heavily trafficked loop trail located near Tomkins Cove, New York that offers the chance to see wildlife and is only recommended for very experienced adventurers. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 6.8 miles Elevation Gain: 1,788 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

camping

cross country skiing

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

running

cave

forest

views

wildlife

blowdown

rocky

scramble

snow

Start at the Anthony Wayne Recreation Area and hike into Bear Mountain State Park via the Fawn trail. The Fawn trail intersects the Timp Torne trail which you can follow South up the ridge leading to Western Mountain then turn East towards Jones Point overlooking the Hudson River. This also makes a great hike. When you reach Timp's peak, you have a great (distant) view of Manhattan. Bring food and water!

hiking
rocky
1 day ago

hiking
rocky
9 days ago

Went yesterday (3/18) during this self-isolation period and it was just that! Saw maybe 10 people the whole hike. I skipped part of the loop because I left late and was worried about daylight (finished at 6:30): stuck to the left side of the loop, up to the top of Timp and back the same way. Cut off about 1.6mi. Trail was a good mix of rocky and smooth terrain. Good uphill spots - wouldn’t say any part was really a scramble. Always leveled off or dipped back down tho before becoming too challenging. Quiet trail made for lots of wildlife, including 3 white tail does about 40 yds in front of me. Red tail hawk as well, and 3 turkey vultures who seemed to follow me for a while. Neat cave about 20 mins in. Great hike. (Took about 2.5 hours out-and-back, but note I did not do the rest of the loop.)

hiking
2 months ago

Pleasant day hike. With foliage down, there are great views up and down the Hudson river, but a lot of views of the Indian point power plant. Trail is typical for the area - a well maintained mix of steeps and flats with lots of lichen covered rock (was a bit slippery the day we were out because of the recent rains). There was a large cave about 1/3 of the way up that we didn't venture into because it was flooded that day. Large parking area. At a modest pace, it took us about 3 hours with a lunch break at the top.

hiking
6 months ago

It was a less trafficked trail but the views were not that stunning as compared I have seen in other similar trails. It took a ya about 4 hours.

hiking
6 months ago

-neg: too many sections of either old road or atv trails. also some sections of trail(only hiking) is covered with man made pulverized stone which is very ugly. +pos: sum sections of hiking trail r fun scramble dancing, hardly traversed by many people fun. would like to maybe explore other options to skip the sections i dislike or think r boring.

hiking
rocky
7 months ago

This is a great trail. Parking is roadside. Get there early. Semi steep ascent but smooths out 1/2 way up. Great views. A must in this area.

hiking
8 months ago

The first bump of elevation gain is barely enough to get the heart going. Inescapable noise of society: traffic, trains, and manufacturing throughout the whole trail. If I didn't ride my bike to the trail I would of left bored and frustrated.

hiking
8 months ago

7/8/19 Very cool spot. Challenging elevation gain to begin with and then moderate difficulty throughout. Really good exercise. Very lush. Small cave along the way. Great views of the Hudson River. Bugs were mild, at least at this time if year. Trail was well marked if a touch overgrown in a couple spots.

hiking
rocky
9 months ago

6.14.19. In the lower reaches, I thought this trail was a bit so-what, but by the time I reached the upper levels, it certainly did not disappoint. I parked in the lot 200 yards away from the trail head and climbed on the Blue trail quite steeply for about 4/5ths of a mile, after which it leveled out a bit. Wild Honeysuckle perfumed the lower parts, while the Mountain Laurel blooms were out in force higher up. There are stunning views of the Hudson river at the top, as well as quite open woodland with a grassy floor. I continued on the Blue trail clockwise around the loop to the Timp; frankly, the 180º + view from here blew me away. (As did the wind up there.) The second third of the loop section was not blazed, but the final part is the 1777 trail which rejoins the Blue at a rather nice cairn. Then back down to the lot. All in all, a gorgeous outing, but tough on the legs. NB: we spotted an Eastern Timber Rattlesnake on the trail at the top. I took a photo and had it ID’d by NJ Audubon. So be alert up there! Here are my stats as a rough guide to what to expect: Distance: 8.9 miles (I took a wrong turn on the way back, so the entire thing is about 8.2) Elevation Gain: 1,857 feet Moving Time: 4:08:28

running
Sat Aug 25 2018

Not really a loop unless you turn off on the Ramapo-Dunderberg Trail for a few miles and loop back into the Timp-Torne Trail. Sick views once you reach bald mountain. Not an easy run, but a doable 7.5 Miles with just over 2000 feet of vert. Free parking and easy access from the Timp-Torne Trailhead on Route 202 (shorter and easier distance from NYC than Bear Mountain). Lots of wimpy reviews on here. I wear shorts, singlet, bring a few gels and a handheld water bottle, that’s it. https://www.strava.com/activities/1741097624

Tue Jun 19 2018

Solid hike, decent views and a cool cave. Nothing too crazy but enjoyable.

hiking
Mon Apr 02 2018

This should be an out and back trail. There is no need for the loop unless you just want to add miles and walk through the woods. Take the blue trail from the 9 up to the Timp viewpoint then just round the corner to see the Bear Mountain bridge. Beyond that, the loop is just a long climb down that you have to climb back up. You have to leave the blue trail, follow an old fire road by the creek and then meet up with 1777 trail and climb back up (with no views), kind of a waste and a real leg burner. I woulda been more than happy with the out and back

hiking
Sun Apr 01 2018

Take the blue blaze to the 1777 foot path blaze and connect back to the blue blaze to finish up. I'd just do an out and back to the Timp peak instead of the loop. The loop adds no value except additional miles. The loop descends into a valley only to reascend back up to connect to the blue with no additional sites.

Sun Feb 11 2018

From 9W where the trail head launches the immediate 2 Miles are a strenuous 350 foot ascent. We hiked underneath a storm system covering the lower Catskills and the north side of bear Mountain...but it only rained for the last 2 hours. The trail was very icy and slushy in most parts and I would not advise hiking without micro spikes bc it would be way too dangerous. Please be advised that there are other trails that intersect with this loop and it is VERY EASY to lose your way! This is a difficult hike in every sense of the word when conditions are this icy and wet. We handled it gracefully, however you must bring heaps of water and food to complete this journey. The views of the Hudson and the torne are exquisite but I feel they are more pretty bc the trail demanded such effort to survive. Hiking this in February requires a careful calculus of time needed to complete this loop, and with our gear and current trail/weather conditions we were lucky to finish before darkness. I would probably not hike here in warmer months bc of growth and the other trails that intersect as it would make it too tight in the growth and trafficked. However, it is without question a beautiful part of rockland county and the hike offers tremendous terrain, elevation gain and careful decision making. Have fun!

hiking
Wed Oct 18 2017

My husband and I didn't do the loop, we ended up starting off at the parking lot off of 4wd rd and ended up at the Ramapdo dunderberg trailhead parking lot.. Difficult hike with great views. Definitely recommend.

Thu Jul 06 2017

Careful around the loop at the end theres a mile long stretch where the trail becomes unmarked if you follow this loop exactly. Easy to get lost given theres a couple of intersections right there. Good trail, ran into a black bear close to the large cave on the trail

hiking
Tue Jun 27 2017

I did this trail last week. Very good challenge. The inclination will push you to your limits. Here are few tips: Summer Time Hike: 1. Better take some serious insect repellents. Mosquitoes will eat you. Honestly speaking am still itching. 2. Caterpillars everywhere on the trees, watch out where and what you are touching 3. Its too bushy in some places, I would suggest not to wear shorts. Complexity: Hard Terrain: Muddy and Rocky in some places. Mostly rocky Trekking Pole: Needed if you are not used to rocky climbs Foot Wear: Hiking shoe preferably ( Even though my Keen worked very well, but I had to watch out for the bugs, caterpillars and Eastern Newt ) Scenic View: Lots of spots actually Water Stream: Few small streams but better carry your own water. Trail Markers: Mostly follow the blue trail, but at a point you have to take 1477 foot path for the loop.

Mon Apr 17 2017

Good Easter Day hike took red out of parking lot up and around to blue great views of Hudson River and bear mtn bridge

hiking
Sat Jan 28 2017

This hike surprised me with the amazing views it offered throughout the entire hike. In addition there were a couple cool features like an awesome cave halfway up. This hike should certainly not be labeled as "hard" though, definitely a moderate hike. The only downside is that there is not a great vista viewpoint at the end, but the views on the way up make up for it.

Fri Oct 28 2016

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great workout, being that it was a steady difficult incline as well as steep descent (on the blue). The views on the way up were unreal! My friend and I couldn't stop taking pictures. When you reach Timp's peak, you have a great (distant) view of Manhattan. I would recommend you bring food and water. It took us about 4 hours, with a few stops. I'd say it would be best if you are active already and have done a few hikes before. Enjoyed it!

Sat Sep 17 2016

Great trail with good views.

Thu Jul 21 2016

Great views

hiking
Sun Jun 12 2016

Great! Beautiful views

hiking
Thu Mar 03 2016

A good challenging preparatory trail for a larger backpacking trip, or hike. You can access west mountain, but the trail up, and down west mountain is a difficult scramble. With a thirty pound pack this trail is quite good, but I would recommend camping on west mountain.

camping
Fri Feb 12 2016

Very challenging at times, specially at the beginning, yet so worth it for the amazing sunrise and sunset views! Didn't encounter any wild life. I'll definitely do it again

hiking
Sun Jan 17 2016

I parked on 202 just past the anchor monument and took the Timp-Torne trail to The Timp and went back the same way. I initially wanted to go back on the RD, which I will do eventually, but unfortunately I was on a bit of a time constraint. The one negative about this hike is the pollution on the Hudson and the sound of the train because it somewhat takes away from being on a mountain. The trail has a lot of steep inclines and declines, but the switchbacks really help. The abandoned spiral railway sections are cool as well. The Timp is the star of this trail and to be honest it's one of the better views I've ever seen. Will definitely be going back.

Mon Dec 07 2015

great hike

Sun Sep 20 2015

I started on the Timp and connected to ramapo dunderberg to go around dunderberg mountain. The hudson views were beautiful. You also have a spot on the other side of the mountain that gives you nice views of bear mountain. It was pretty quiet too not crowded at all. I went on a foggy morning so the views were a little hard but I heard at the first lookout on a clear day you can see nyc. Overall it was pretty strenuous but fun!

hiking
Mon Sep 07 2015

We combined the Timp, Bald Mountain and Dunderburg Mountain in one hike. Ended up hiking total of 8.5 miles (all strenuous ups or downs). Proper footing is recommended not only because of rocky trails all the way but we stumbled upon a 300 yards of steep descend on man-made bed of rocks (Railway stuff?) at the last part of our hike and was really difficult for our tired legs.

Thu Jul 09 2015

We personalized an extended loop hike that ended up being about 17 miles. This was a pretty challenging day trip. We drove into the Fort Montgomery historical site and parked. From there we took the 1777 Historical Trail, which is the red, until it met up with Timp Trail. Timp offered a pretty nice summit climb and good views. We looped around Timp and followed the Timp Trail (blue) allllllll the way down south to where it connected with the Appalachian trail, made the hard left, and started north on the AT. We then followed the AT all the way back to the bear mountain parking lot, and made a sorta risky 1 mile road walk back to the Montgomery Site. Overall it was nice. Good mix of rocks and wooded trail. As a fit 20 year old this was hard but not too bad. Lots of ascents and descents on this path we took.... Our path was definitely the most difficult way around Bear Mountain Park, but we saw most of the park.

Load More