Stewart Preserve - Orange Trail

FACILE 10 avis
N°1 sur 1 randonnées à

Stewart Preserve - Orange Trail est un sentier en boucle de 2 km situé près de Sand Lake, dans l’État de New York, dans un cadre forestier exceptionnel et qui convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et l'observation des oiseaux et est accessible toute l'année.

Distance: 1.2 miles Dénivelé: 147 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

convient aux enfants

randonnée

balade

ornithologie

forêt

boueux

neige

chiens interdits

La forêt est à maturité et est principalement mature. Les spécimens individuels de hêtres et de chênes ont des épaisseurs d'auvent de 100 pieds et des diamètres de hauteur de poitrine supérieurs à 4 pieds; certains ont probablement plus de 500 ans. On peut également trouver des croissances matures de pruche. Le couvre-sol comprend d'abondantes fougères (22 espèces), des acariens, des fleurs à mousse, des baneberry, des hepatica et des fleurs d'étoile. La forêt est un site de nidification important pour les oiseaux forestiers de l'intérieur, notamment les pics, qui disparaissent rapidement.

6 months ago

a besoin d'un parking un peu mote.

randonnée
Thursday, October 11, 2018

J'ai lu que c'était un sentier facile, mais mon chien et moi l'avons trouvé robuste. Descente raide dans le ravin, beaucoup de rochers et de branches sur le sentier et sortis du sentier une ou deux fois. Mais c'était beau et calme. On reviendra certainement!

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Grande randonnée facile. Je n'ai pas vu une âme. Joli petit ruisseau.

randonnée
Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Certaines parties du parcours étaient vraiment agréables, mais dans l’ensemble, le parcours n’était PAS toujours facile à suivre. Beaucoup de feuilles sur la piste et très boueuses. Les insectes étaient à peu près constants. Cela dit, je pouvais voir cela comme un très beau sentier de raquette, mais comme un sentier de randonnée pédestre, c'était un peu bla. Juste au début du sentier, assurez-vous de rester sur la gauche et de suivre le sentier orange ... les "feuilles" ressemblent au sentier qui se dirige vers la droite pour terminer la boucle la boucle orange est environ 20 mètres plus près de la place de stationnement).

randonnée
Sunday, July 09, 2017

Randonnée sur les pistes orange et bleu le soir après le travail un jour. Très jolie région, mais très humide et boueuse. Apportez des bottes imperméables robustes pour celui-ci. Le sentier était assez bien marqué.

randonnée
Friday, February 24, 2017

J'adorerais revenir en fin de printemps. c'est un bel endroit. Il y a de l'eau courante, un rocher sur lequel monter. Nous avons fait le bleu et l'orange. Essuyé les enfants et chien. Après avoir fait une randonnée en février, il faisait 55-65 degrés pendant 4 jours. La majeure partie du sentier était sous l'eau ou sous une neige dure avec de l'eau en dessous.

randonnée
Saturday, November 14, 2015

Très heureux de trouver enfin le sentier. Nous avons apprécié ce sentier près de chez nous. Quelques beaux grands arbres. Peut être très boueux ..

Thursday, October 09, 2014

Nice et facile pour les familles avec enfants

randonnée
1 month ago

Sunday, May 04, 2014

Randonnées populaires

Memorial Day Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Stewart Preserve - Orange Trail

easyYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(13)
Stewart Preserve

Stewart Preserve - Orange Trail is a 1.2 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Sand Lake, New York that features a great forest setting and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and bird watching and is accessible year-round.

Distance: 1.2 miles Elevation Gain: 147 feet Route Type: Loop

kid friendly

hiking

walking

bird watching

forest

muddy

snow

no dogs

The forest is dominantly mature upland oaksugar maplebeech. Individual beech and oak specimens have 100-foot canopy spreads and breast-height diameters greater than 4 feet; some are probably more than 500 years old. Mature hemlock growths can also be found. Groundcover consists of abundant ferns (22 species), mitewort, foamflower, baneberry, hepatica, and starflower. The forest is an important nesting site for rapidly disappearing interior forest birds, including woodpeckers.

I love it!! So many trees it was amazing

hiking
muddy
1 month ago

It was a nice trail, not hard, marked very well! Orange marks is the main and a blue one is a nice addition. I had surgery on a knee 2 months ago and the trail was kind for it. Definitely need waterproof boots!

Mon Apr 08 2019

needs a bit mote parking.

hiking
Thu Oct 11 2018

I read that it was an easy trail but both my dog and I found it to be rugged. Steep downhill into the ravine, lots of rocks and branches on path and got off trail a time or two. But it was beautiful and quiet. We will definitely be back!

Wed Apr 11 2018

Great easy hike. Didn’t see a soul. Nice little stream.

hiking
Tue Jul 18 2017

Parts of the trail were really nice, but overall the trail was NOT always easy to follow. Lots of leaves on the track and very muddy. Bugs were pretty much constant. That said, I could see this as a really nice snowshoeing trail, but as a hiking trail, it was kind of blah. Right at the trailhead, be sure to stay to the left and follow the orange trail ... the "leaves" look like the trail goes to the right to complete the loop but it definitely does NOT as I found out (the end of the orange loop is about 20 yards closer to the parking spot).

hiking
Sun Jul 09 2017

Hiked the orange and blue trails in the evening after work one day. Very pretty area, but very wet and muddy. Bring sturdy waterproof boots for this one. The trail was fairly well marked.

hiking
Fri Feb 24 2017

Would love to come back in late spring. it is a beautiful spot. There is running water, a boulder to climb on. We did both the blue and orange. Wiped the kids and dog out. Hiked in Feb after it was 55-65 degrees for 4 days. Most of the trail was under water or hard snow with water under it.

hiking
Sat Nov 14 2015

Very pleased to finally find trail. We enjoyed this trail close to home. Some nice big trees. Can be very muddy..

Thu Oct 09 2014

Nice and easy for families with children

hiking
8 months ago

Sun May 04 2014