Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Boucle des sentiers de Sterling Valley, Bare Rock et Sterling Ridge

INTERMÉDIAIRE 9 avis
N°6 sur 14 randonnées à

Sterling Valley, Bare Rock et Sterling Ridge Trails Loop Loop est un sentier en boucle de trafic modéré situé sur une distance de 7,8 km, situé près de Tuxedo Park, dans l’État de New York, qui comprend un lac et est qualifié de modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, le course à pied et les excursions dans la nature. Son utilisation est optimale d'avril à octobre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

DISTANCE
7.8 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
1,046 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

course de trail

balade

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

faune

Ce sentier longe un ruisseau qui alimente le lac Sterling. Le sentier traverse un creux profond bordé de hautes Hemlocks. Une fois que vous sortez du creux, vous venez à Sterling Lake. La rive nord du lac offre une vue imprenable sur Sterling Ridge et la tour à incendie. Après avoir longé la rive du lac jusqu'à l'extrémité sud, vous empruntez le sentier Orange. À ce stade, vous commencez votre ascension vers le sommet de l’arête Sterling. En chemin, vous passerez de très belles sources. Une fois au sommet, vous empruntez le sentier Sterling Ridge, qui suit l'arête jusqu'à son début. Le long de la crête, vous passerez de superbes points de vue sur les environs.

randonnée
7 months ago

Nous avons emmené 3 enfants âgés de 11, 7 et 4 ans sur le sentier jaune qui mène au lac, puis nous sommes remontés. Environ 5 miles aller-retour. Nous recherchions une promenade amusante et amusante avec les enfants et non une promenade pénible, ce qui impliquerait de se mouiller par une journée chaude. C'était parfait. Les enfants ont adoré marcher dans les ruisseaux et grimper sur certaines des cascades le long du chemin. Nous avons vu beaucoup de grenouilles, un lézard et un serpent. Au bord du lac, nous avons tourné à gauche et trouvé un bel espace dégagé pour s’asseoir, déjeuner et regarder le poisson de près. La randonnée était plus difficile mais même notre enfant de 4 ans a persévéré et réussi. Soyez prêt pour beaucoup de boue avec le plaisir.

randonnée
Thursday, February 01, 2018

Pas très fatigant. Assez plat dans la plupart des sections. Superbes vues sur le lac.

randonnée
Saturday, August 19, 2017

La raison pour laquelle personne ne se présente sur cette piste est que vous perdez le service après un kilomètre et demi de trajet. Le kilométrage est incorrect. Selon le plan du sentier Sterling Forest (disponible au centre des visiteurs) et ma montre Garmin, ce sentier mesure 9 km. Nous l'avons fait en 2 heures. Bien que la piste soit facile, comme indiqué, vous feriez bien de porter de bonnes chaussures de randonnée et un pantalon long. Une grande partie du sentier est sur d'anciens chemins routiers, mais il y a des zones marécageuses, des montées / descentes rocheuses et même une section mal entretenue, et même entretenue, et vous vous sentirez comme un arnaqueur. Globalement, une belle randonnée (isolée aussi ... nous avons rencontré peu de monde) dans un magnifique parc qui est souvent négligé pour les plus fréquentés, à proximité du parc d'état Harriman.

randonnée
Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Sunday, December 13, 2015

belle piste mais il faut marcher un peu sur la route principale.

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

Monday, April 18, 2016

Saturday, January 03, 2015

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Sterling Valley, Bare Rock, and Sterling Ridge Trails Loop

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(15)
Sterling Forest State Park
;

Sterling Valley, Bare Rock, and Sterling Ridge Trails Loop is a 7.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Tuxedo Park, New York that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, trail running, and nature trips and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 7.8 mi Elevation gain 1,046 ft Route type Loop

Dogs on leash

Kid friendly

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Running

Forest

Lake

Views

Wildlife

Description
Waypoints (0)
Contact
Getting There

This trail follows along a stream that feeds Sterling lake. The trail goes through a deep hollow lined with tall Hemlocks. Once you get out of the hollow you come to Sterling Lake. From the north shore of the lake you get great views of Sterling Ridge and the fire tower. After following along the lake shore to the southern end you get on the Orange trail. At this point you start your climb to the top of Sterling ridge. Along the way you will pass some very nice springs. Once on top you pick up the Sterling ridge trail, which follows the ridge back to the trail head. Along the ridge you'll pass some great view points of the surrounding area.

Sterling Forest: 845-351-5910

Town of Warwick, take 17A East towards Greenwood lake. past town of Greenwood lake and go up Hill. At crest of hill look for hiker crossing. Trail head is on right There is also a sign for Sterling Ridge Trail.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (15)
Photos (236)
Recordings (14)
Completed (35)
Aleck Edwards
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue May 05 2020
HikingRocky

A bit rocky and muddy on some parts, flat on other parts

View Aleck's Recording
Corey Rabinowitz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat May 11 2019
HikingBugsMuddyRockyWashed out
View Corey's Recording
Matt Lebowitz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Apr 07 2019
HikingBugsMuddyRocky

We shortened the hike by going from the hiker’s parking to the lake but then cutting directly back to the parking via the shortcut that cuts through the middle of the full loop as marked (i.e. we stayed on the Stirling Valley Trail the whole time). It was rocky at times, muddy in parts, and buggy in parts, but much of it was very nice and quiet (only saw a few other people the entire afternoon, on a day when nearby Harriman State Park was overrun). We saw lots of birds, a turtle, and tons of frogs (we stood quietly next to a pond long enough for the frogs to forget we were there, and suddenly they were everywhere, swimming around and croaking cacophonously — one of the cooler experiences I’ve had on a hike and one that wouldn’t be possible on a more crowded trail full of people and dogs). Overall, a nice and secluded walk with some pretty scenery and cool nature.

Jen Eisenstein
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Aug 05 2018
Hiking

We took 3 kids, ages 11, 7 and 4 on the yellow trail to the lake and then back up. About 5 miles round trip. We were looking for a fun, not to strenuous stream hike that we could do with the kids and that would involve getting wet on a hot day. This was perfect. The kids loved hiking through the streams and climbing up some of the waterfalls along the way. We saw lots of frogs, a lizard and a snake. At the lake, we turned left and found a nice cleared area to sit, eat lunch and look at the fish up close. The hike back was more uphill but even our 4 year old persevered and made it. Be prepared for lots of mud along with the fun.

Caitlin Halat
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Feb 01 2018
Hiking

Not very strenuous. Fairly flat through most sections. Great views off the lake.

Mary Flaherty
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Aug 19 2017
Hiking

The reason no one checks in on this trail is because you lose service after a mile or so out. The mileage is incorrect. This trail is 5.9 miles according to both the Sterling Forest trail map (available in Visitor's Center) and my Garmin watch. We did it in 2 hours. While the trail is easy, as indicated, you would do well to wear good hiking boots and long pants. Much of the trail is on old roadbeds, but there are some swampy areas, rocky ascents/descents and even a section that is poorly, if at all maintained, and you'll feel like you're bushwhacking. Overall, a nice hike (secluded too...we encountered few people) in a beautiful park that is often overlooked for the more crowded, nearby Harriman State Park.

Bryan Blood
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed Jul 19 2017
Hiking
Joni R
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Dec 13 2015

nice trail but you have to hike on the main road for a bit.

Maritza Andrea
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Jun 07 2020
Hiking
View Maritza's Recording
emily medina
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun May 31 2020
Hiking
View emily's Recording
Chris Marrone
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Mar 24 2020
Hiking
View Chris's Recording
John Gomez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 16 2018
Hiking
View John's Recording
Yehezkel Yosef
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Apr 01 2018
Hiking
View Yehezkel's Recording
Christopher Christopher Caraballo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Apr 18 2016
Scott Kruse
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Jan 03 2015
View Scott's Recording