South Beacon Mountain via Casino Trail (Red)

MITTELSCHWER 128 Bewertungen
#2 von 6 Wegen in

Der South Beacon Mountain via Casino Trail (Red) ist ein 3,7 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Beacon, New York, der über einen See verfügt und als moderat eingestuft wird. Der Weg bietet zahlreiche Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Distance: 3.7 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,377 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

angeleinte hunde

kinderfreundlich

Wandern

Mountainbiking

Naturausflüge

Trailrunning

Gehen

Wald

See

Aussicht

Wildtiere

schlammig

steinig

Schnee

Dies ist die beliebteste Route, die am Mount Beacon Park beginnt. Es beginnt am Fuß des Berges an der unteren Haltestelle der alten Steigungsbahn, die den Berg hinaufging und auf dem Casino Trail (rot) aufstieg, zunächst zu den Ruinen des Kasinos (sowie zu den Maschinen, die die Eisenbahn hochgezogen haben ), dann weiter den Aufstieg bis zur alten Route des Breakneck Ridge Trail, auf der Sie rechts abbiegen, um den Beacon-Feuerturm mit einem unglaublichen Panoramablick zu erreichen.

wandern
7 days ago

Sehr felsig und ständig sehr steil. Für Anfänger nicht zu empfehlen.

wandern
17 days ago

sehr schöne Wanderung! Die Landschaft oben war wunderschön und es war cool, den alten Pfad und das, was das Casino zu bieten hat, zu sehen.

wandern
scrambling
steinig
21 days ago

ausgezeichnete Wanderung! Ich würde es ein bisschen mehr als moderat bewerten, aber nicht ganz schwierig. viele lose Steine. Wenn Sie zum Feuerturm gehen, müssen Sie einige riesige Felsen hinaufklettern, um dorthin zu gelangen. Trekkingstöcke werden empfohlen.

wandern
22 days ago

Schöne Wanderung, tolle Aussicht. Holen Sie sich einen guten Schweiß

wandern
steinig
27 days ago

wandern
steinig
1 month ago

Sehr sehr felsig, aber würdig, die Aussicht vom Feuerturm ist erstaunlich. Ich ging Samstag, 8. Juni, schönes Wetter, nicht zu voll, gute Parkmöglichkeiten.

wandern
scrambling
steinig
1 month ago

wandern
käfer
2 months ago

Ziemlich überfüllt, aber wir hatten mal die Spur für uns. Extrem hundefreundlich. Am Anfang steil, aber nach 20 Minuten gewöhnt man sich daran. Es macht Spaß, bei Aussichtspunkten und Ruinen Halt zu machen.

wandern
2 months ago

Steiler Anfang, aber alles lohnt sich am Ende. Erstaunliche Aussichten. Dauerte ca. 2,5 Stunden mit ein paar Zwischenstopps auf dem Weg.

wandern
2 months ago

Ich liebe diesen stetigen, steilen In-Out-Pfad ... mit einem Feuerturm, wenn Sie den Mut haben (Wind kann schwierig sein) !! Mit einem gleichmäßigen Tempo können Sie es in 2 Stunden tun, tolles Training, fantastische 360-Ansichten vom Feuerturm.

3 months ago

Sehr schöne Einrichtung, gute Parkmöglichkeiten, recht einfacher Aufstieg zum Bahnübergang mit guter Aussicht auf den Hudson

wandern
3 months ago

Wir haben diese Wanderung am Samstag, den 18. November 2017 gegen 9 Uhr gemacht. Es war teilweise bewölkt und 32 Grad. Dieser Weg begann mit einem steilen Anstieg neben den Überresten einer ehemaligen Eisenbahnlinie. Der Aufstieg war ein tolles Cardio-Training. Sogar mit einem Windchill-Faktor fiel die Temperatur in den Teenager und wir wurden leicht überhitzt, bis wir aufhörten. Mehr als ein paar Minuten länger anzuhalten, war lang genug, um die gefrierende Temperatur zu spüren, und der Wind war genug, um uns in Bewegung zu halten. Obwohl die Fahrt bergauf spannend und herausfordernd war, war es das Beste, den Turm zu erreichen und zu klettern. Das Gefühl, so hoch und am Rand zu sein, war anders als am Boden. Nicht für die Finte im Herzen. Der Wind oben auf dem Feuerturm war heftig! Ich freue mich darauf, diese Wanderung und andere Feuertürme bald zu machen!

wandern
3 months ago

Ausgezeichnete Wanderung Die perfekte Tageswanderung, die von Anfängern bis zu erfahrenen Wanderern anspruchsvoll ist, war in gutem Zustand und der Feuerturm ist großartig

7 months ago

Spaßwanderung. Ziemlich steiler Anstieg. Tolles Cardio-Training. Windy up am Feuerturm, aber tolle Aussicht. Ich möchte das nächste Mal versuchen, die gelbe Spur zu nehmen und die Schleife zu machen, seit ich den Feuerturm zweimal gemacht habe. Beobachten Sie, wie bereits in einem anderen Test erwähnt, die roten Markierungen. Leicht abzulaufen.

wandern
8 months ago

Eine kurze (etwa eine Stunde einfache Strecke) aber steile Wanderung! Es wird manchmal ziemlich intensiv, aber die Aussicht oben ist großartig. Es gibt viele schöne Plätze zum Sitzen und Ausgehen. Auf dem Weg nach unten haben wir uns ein bisschen verirrt, stellen Sie also sicher, dass Sie immer nach den Wegmarkierungen suchen. Insgesamt genossen die Aussicht und einen schönen Aktivitätsschub.

10 months ago

Wäre lieber von Breakneck herübergewandert,

wandern
11 months ago

Verliebt

wandern
11 months ago

Pluspunkte: 5-Sterne-Sicht, Verbindungen zu mehreren anderen Wegen, neuer Parkplatz, einige historische Überreste des alten Kasinos und der Straßenbahn, die von der Stadt Beacon aus erreichbar sind. Minuspunkte: offensichtliche Anzeichen von Überbeanspruchung: Graffiti, Müll, abgenutzte Nebenwege und Abkürzungen, an Wochenenden viele Besucher; Schlamm und fließendes Wasser auf der gesamten Strecke, unabhängig von der Jahreszeit, 85% der Strecke besteht aus losem Gestein. Fazit: Eine schöne halbtägige Wanderung, wenn es nicht die Aussicht gäbe, würde ich passieren und ein anderes günstiges Gelände an anderer Stelle in der Umgebung wählen.

wandern
11 months ago

Zunächst ein steiler Anstieg, gefolgt von sensationellen Ausblicken auf den Hudson River und den Beacon. Das felsige Gelände sorgte für eine reizvolle Wanderung. Achten Sie auf wilde Heidelbeersträucher rund um den South Mountain Fire Tower!

Saturday, July 07, 2018

HVH Wanderung Surperb Morgen klar - niedrige Luftfeuchtigkeit - ein Gewinner auf dem ganzen Weg

wandern
Sunday, June 10, 2018

Das Gelände ist meine Lieblingssorte: relativ ordentlich, durchgehend abwechslungsreich und steil über längere Strecken. Kombiniert mit mehreren schönen Aussichtspunkten, Ruinen und Strukturen zum Klettern und Erkunden, dem herrlichen Blick auf den See und dem Gefühl, sowohl weit weg von der Stadt zu sein, als auch mit denen verbunden zu sein, die vor mir kletterten (die Signaturen im Feuerturm waren ein machen Sie diesen Weg zu meinem Lieblingsweg in NY, den ich bisher gewandert bin. Um das Gelände näher zu erläutern: Trockenes Wetter für erträgliche Mengen an Schlamm, und der Weg ist durch störende Baumwurzeln, überschaubares Stepping und eine gute Mischung aus dichten Wäldern, offenen Flächen, felsigem Gelände, Grasboden und Wiesen gekennzeichnet Schmutzboden. Das Wetter war erstaunlich, hohe 70er Jahre und etwas luftig. Donnerstagmorgen-Nachmittag im Mai = wenig Verkehr :) Abgeschlossen am 24.05.18: Downtown Beacon zum Casino Trail zum Breakneck Ridge Trail zum Fire Tower und zurück. Ich nahm eine sonnengetränkte Pause in den Casino-Ruinen und eine Fotopause am Feuerturm.

wandern
Saturday, May 05, 2018

Schöne Steigung, um die Wanderung in den nördlichen Beacon Mountain zu beginnen. Die Ruinen sind sehr cool und die Aussicht vom ersten Aussichtspunkt aus ist wunderbar. Danach ist es ein schöner Spaziergang durch den Wald, bis Sie die Kreuzung für den weiß markierten Pfad erreichen, der Sie zum Feuerturm führt. Die Aussicht vom Turm ist ebenso herrlich wie der offene Gipfel. Wurde auf dem Gipfel von mehreren gelben Grasmücken serenadiert. Außerdem sahen sie gelbe rumpige Grasmücken, einen Vireo, eine Gruppe von 5 Cowbirds. Es empfiehlt sich, früh am Morgen zu gehen, um den Massen zu entgehen, die die Pfade auf dem Berg angreifen. Der Trailhead-Parkplatz ist derzeit geschlossen, wird im Sommer 18 wiedereröffnet

wandern
Friday, May 04, 2018

Es war eine harte Wanderung. Steiler Aufstieg. Es dauerte eine Stunde, bis die Ruinen des Casinos ein paar Mal stehen blieben (wir sind 61 Jahre jung). Es war die Aussicht wert. Es war wundervoll. Das Herunterkommen war etwas schwierig, weil es rutschig war und duschte. Würde es auf jeden Fall empfehlen

wandern
Saturday, December 02, 2017

Das erste Stück des Weges ist ziemlich steil. Da ich zum Wandern neu bin, musste ich ein paar Mal anhalten, um wieder zu Atem zu kommen. Sobald Sie die erste Ruine sehen, wird der Weg für eine Weile eben. Wenn Sie zum Feuerturm weitergehen, sind die letzten 10 Minuten steinig und haben wieder ein bisschen Grad. Es war heute Mitte 40 und ich traf ungefähr 15 andere Wandergruppen. Die Aussicht von den Ruinen aus ist schön und die Aussicht vom Feuerturm ist unglaublich. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie Wasser mitbringen, weil Sie es brauchen.

wandern
Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Toller Aufstieg und der Turm ist großartig

Saturday, November 25, 2017

nahm die rote Spur, nur zum Aussichtspunkt. ging nicht den ganzen Weg zum Feuerturm und war insgesamt etwa 2-2,5 Meilen lang. Es ist ein stetiger Anstieg und sehr gut befahrene Strecke.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Absolut herrliche Aussicht! Vor ein paar Wochen, Ende Oktober, war das Laub atemberaubend. Super voll, aber es lohnt sich.

wandern
Saturday, November 04, 2017

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Memorial Day Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

South Beacon Mountain via Casino Trail (Red)

MODERATE 105 reviews
#2 of 6 trails in

South Beacon Mountain via Casino Trail (Red) is a 3.7 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Beacon, New York that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
3.7 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1,377 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

lake

views

wildlife

muddy

rocky

snow

This is the most popular route starting at Mount Beacon Park. It begins at the base of the mountain at the lower stop of the old incline railroad which went up the mountain, ascending on the Casino Trail (red), initially to the ruins of the casino (as well as the machinery which hauled the railroad up), then continuing the ascent until reaching the old route of the Breakneck Ridge Trail, onto which you turn right to reach the Beacon fire tower, with its incredible panoramic view.

hiking
bugs
11 days ago

Pretty crowded but times we had the trail to ourselves. Extremely dog friendly. Steep in the beginning but after 20 minutes you get used to it. Fun to stop off at overlook and ruins.

hiking
11 days ago

Steep beginning but all worth it in the end. Amazing views. Took about 2.5 hours with a few stops along the way.

hiking
23 days ago

I love this steady, steep in-out trail...with a fire tower if you have the courage (winds can be challenging)!! With a steady pace, you can do it in 2 hours, great workout, awesome 360 views from the fire tower.

1 month ago

Very nice setup, good parking, fairly easy climb to top of incline railroad overlook with good view of the Hudson

hiking
1 month ago

We did this hike on Saturday Nov 18th, 2017 around 9 am. It was partly cloudy and 32 degrees. This trail started with a steep incline alongside the remnants of what used to be a railroad. The climb was great cardio workout. Even with a windchill factor the temperature dropped into the teens and we were easily overheating until we stopped. Stopping for 2 more than a couple of minutes was long enough for us to sense the freezing temperature and wind at that was enough to keep us moving. Although the journey uphill was exciting and challenging, reaching the tower and climbing it was the ultimate! The sensation of being so high and on the edge was different from being on the ground. Not for the feint at heart. The wind at the top of the fire tower was fierce! I look forward to doing this hike and other fire towers soon!

hiking
1 month ago

Excellent hike perfect day hike that is challenging from beginners to experienced hikers trails were in good shape and the fire tower is great

5 months ago

Fun hike. Fairly steep incline. Great cardio workout. Windy up at fire tower but great views. Want to try and take the yellow trail next time and do the loop since I’ve done the fire tower twice. As previously mentioned in another review, watch the red markers coming down. Easy to go off trail.

hiking
6 months ago

A short (about an hour one way) but steep hike! It gets pretty intense at times but the views up top are great. There are a lot of nice places to sit and look out. We got a bit lost on the way down so make sure you are always looking for the trail markers. Overall enjoyed the views and a nice burst of activity.

8 months ago

Would rather have hiked over from Breakneck,

hiking
9 months ago

In love

hiking
9 months ago

Pros: 5 star view, connections to several other trails, new parking area, some historical relics of the old casino and tramway, accessible to the town of beacon. Cons: obvious signs of overuse: graffiti, litter, worn out side trails and short cuts, crowds on the weekends; Mud and running water throughout the trail regardless of season, 85% of the trail is loose rock. Verdict: a nice doable half day hike, if it weren’t for the views, I would pass and choose more favorable terrain elsewhere in the area.

hiking
9 months ago

Steep climb initially, followed by sensational views of the Hudson River and Beacon. The rocky terrain made for an engaging hike. Be sure to look out for wild blueberry bushes around the South Mountain fire tower!

10 months ago

HVH hike surperb morning clear - low humidity-a winner all the way

hiking
11 months ago

The terrain is my favorite kind: relatively neat, varied throughout, and steep for long stretches. That combined with several beautiful lookout points, ruins and structures to climb and explore, the gorgeous lake views, and the feeling of being both far away from the city sounds yet connected to those who climbed before me (the signatures in the fire tower were a nice touch) make this my favorite NY trail I’ve hiked so far. To elaborate on the terrain: dry weather made for a tolerable amount of mud, and the trail has a scarcity of disruptive tree roots, manageable rock-stepping, and a good mix of thick woods, open spaces, rocky ground, grassy ground, and dirt ground. Weather conditions were amazing, high 70s and slightly breezy. Thursday morning-afternoon in May = low traffic :) Completed 5/24/18: Downtown Beacon to Casino Trail to Breakneck Ridge Trail to Fire Tower, and back. Took a sun-soaked break at the casino ruins and a photo break at the fire tower.

hiking
Saturday, May 05, 2018

Nice incline to start the hike up north Beacon Mountain..the ruins are very cool and the view form the first overlook is wonderful. After that it's a nice walk through the woods until you reach the junction for the white blazed trail which will take you to the fire tower. View from the tower is glorious as well as the open peak. Was serenaded by several yellow warblers at the peak..also saw yellow rumped warblers, a vireo, a group of 5 cowbirds. Recommend going early in the morning to avoid the crowds that assault the trails on the mountain. The trailhead parking lot is currently closed, will reopen in summer '18

hiking
Friday, May 04, 2018

It was a tough hike. Steep climb up. Took an hour to the casino ruins stopping a few times to rest (we are 61 years young). It was worth the view. It was amazing. Coming down was a little tricky because it was slippery and showering. Would definitely recommend it

hiking
Saturday, December 02, 2017

The first bit of the trail is fairly steep. Being new to hiking, I needed to stop a few times to catch my breath. Once you get to the first overlook by the ruins, the trail levels out for a while. If you continue on to the fire tower, the last 10 minutes up are rocky and have a bit of a grade to them again. It was in the mid 40s today and I ran into about 15 other hiking groups. The views from the overlook by the ruins are nice and the views from the fire tower are incredible. Make sure you bring water because you'll need it.

hiking
Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Great climb and the tower is great

Saturday, November 25, 2017

took the red trail, only to the overlook spot. did not go all the way to the fire tower and was about 2-2.5 miles total. it’s a steady incline, and very well trafficked trail.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous views! Did this a few weeks ago, end of October & the foliage was breathtaking. Super crowded though, but well worth it.

hiking
Saturday, November 04, 2017

Monday, October 16, 2017

beautiful views, some sun and shade, nice inclines and declines. little bit of everything.

hiking
Saturday, October 07, 2017

Consistently steep, but pretty short, so it's manageable. Fair amount of traffic.

hiking
Thursday, October 05, 2017

Nice, short hike with a nice view at the top.

hiking
Sunday, September 24, 2017

I went a few times when I lived in the area. The route I always took was pretty short (I don't think it was 3.8 miles) but pretty rugged (hands-and-feet climbing at some points). The summit is great, it's a large, flat area as big as a park with a few abandoned structures from when there used to be an incline railway and a casino that look really cool, big rusty gears and all. Really great view of the Hudson river and surrounding mountains.

Saturday, September 09, 2017

It's a hard Hike!!! But getting to the top is awesome. The view is amazing!

hiking
Friday, August 25, 2017

nice and a bit challenging, but worth it for the view

Thursday, June 01, 2017

The red trail was cool if you don't want to enjoy nature. The yellow and white trail was amazing but challenging.

hiking
Wednesday, April 12, 2017

The switchbacks were there as soon as you needed them! Mainly all incline with rocks & extremely little bouldering (if any at all!), worth it!

Monday, April 03, 2017

Challenging climb with a 40lbs backpack (toddler included) I sure felt the burn by the time I reached the casino ruins. Would do this hike again

Load More

Featured Trails