Sands Point Preserve Loop Trail

EASY 24 reviews

Sands Point Preserve Loop Trail is a 1.6 mile loop trail located near Port Washington, New York that offers the chance to see wildlife and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, birding, and fishing and is best used from February until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
134 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

fishing

hiking

walking

views

wildlife

hiking
2 months ago

walking
2 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

Great family day. Hiked the dino trail -- very short and easy for the kids, but not boring for the adults.. cute with dinosaurs they can bounce on, hiked the trail that goes to the beach -- short and easy... very enjoyable. Took hour long, tour of one of the castles. Tour guide very knowledgeable and made the castle very interesting. We even went into the old vault!

hiking
5 months ago

5 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

The trail is part of the Sands Point Preserve Conservancy and it is on the original Guggenheim estate. You can walk onto the grounds for $4 or park for $10. It's a great family outing and there is a mix of paved and dirt trails and you can walk along the cliffs or down to the beach. There are also guided tours along the outer property. There is a lot to see and the grounds are gorgeous. Spring and fall are probably pretty spectacular here.

8 months ago

Great light hike. Dog friendly and a amazing variety of scenery.

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

hiking
Saturday, June 25, 2016

Love this place. Trails are perfect and the overlook is beautiful.

walking
Monday, May 30, 2016

Monday, February 29, 2016

My boys and I had awesome time

birding
Tuesday, January 05, 2016

Great family walk

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Several trails. Very nice. You do have to pay to get in however.

hiking
Sunday, October 25, 2015

hiking
Saturday, August 01, 2015

Great water hike.

Friday, July 03, 2015

birding
Friday, June 05, 2015

Excellent... Variety of Trail... plenty to do...many different levels! Picnic area, Birdwatching, Beach, Beekeeper Show.., Guggenheim Estate Tour...