Normans Kill Preserve - West Trail is a 1.1 mile loop trail located near Delmar, New York that features a great forest setting. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for hiking, walking, and trail running. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
114 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

This property is 30 acres in size. Mostly wooded with open fields along the creek. A "musical bridge" spans a small ravine. Over 1 mile of generally easy walking trails, with some steeper slopes. Not that there is no connection between the Normans Kill West and Normans Kill East parcels and thus their respective trails.

1 month ago

Went with my 10 yr old, nothing spectacular but not a bad hike either.

hiking
5 months ago

PROS:
Saw a beaver
Beautiful nature
Trail was of varying slopes
not crowded
fun to walk with my 12 y/o daughter
the terrain kept us guessing, made it fun
Not too long, easy time away in nature on a weekday evening

CONS:
Muddy in spots

birding
Sunday, August 20, 2017

I've never stepped in as much dog poop in my life. Didn't see any interesting birds.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Good trail minus all the dog poop on it. I really wish people would clean up after their dogs. It's inexcusable. Trail would be great for families with young kids. Not too long and stretch along the Normanskill is beautiful.

walking
Thursday, May 18, 2017

Nice morning walk ... but a couple places were VERY VERY muddy and not easily passible

hiking
Tuesday, February 21, 2017

I made this hike in February. The nearby highway is audible the whole time. Houses are visible throughout the hike.

Sunday, January 08, 2017

Nice easy hike for the kids
Nice cold January day

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Nice easy hike through the woods.

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Awesome

hiking
Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Nice walk by normans kill, great place to walk dog. Be aware trail is divided in two halves and other entrance is posted at the trailhead.

Monday, April 18, 2016

Did this not to long ago had fun ... Nice little hill to climb but was cool

hiking
3 days ago

recorded Delmar

hiking
3 months ago

3 months ago

walking
5 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
Sunday, October 08, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 10, 2017

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 04, 2017

hiking
Thursday, November 24, 2016

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

walking
Tuesday, July 12, 2016

hiking
Sunday, July 03, 2016

Friday, July 01, 2016

trail running
Wednesday, June 01, 2016

hiking
Saturday, November 21, 2015

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Load More