Lake Te-ata via Long Path

INTERMÉDIAIRE 11 avis
N°61 sur 101 randonnées à

Le lac Te-ata via Long Path est un sentier en boucle de 13 km situé près de Highland Falls, dans l’État de New York. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, le camping et les excursions dans la nature et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 8.9 miles Dénivelé: 2,017 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

lac

Le sentier commence par une montée courte mais raide jusqu'à Long Mountain et le mémorial de Torrey. Le long chemin commence au pont George Washington et traverse le parc Harriman et les Catskills pour se terminer juste à l’extérieur des Catskills. Une fois terminé, vous serez conduit à Whiteface Mt dans les Dacks. Après avoir plongé dans les vues, vous grimperez aux monts Howell, Brooks et Surebridge, tous avec des vues limitées.

randonnée
Thu Jun 14 2018

J'avais environ 3 étoiles jusqu'à ce que le sentier (des marqueurs verts, je pense) et la carte de l'application divergent lorsque je me rapproche de l'art 6. Avant, le sentier était un bon défi et bien indiqué. Le seul inconvénient était les tirs de fusil à l'arrière-plan de l'entraînement militaire / WP à proximité. Après cela, tout s'est détérioré ... J'ai fini par marcher le long de la route, ce qui me mettait très mal à l'aise, et j'ai abrégé ma randonnée. J'ai fait ce sentier dans le but de me rendre au lac Te Ata, nommé d'après une femme américaine étonnante. Si ce n’était pas pour cela, j’aurais opté pour une autre piste en fonction des critiques. Mon sentiment est qu'il y a beaucoup d'autres endroits à visiter. La région avec une vue magnifique et un cadre plus paisible ... épargnez-vous l'agacement ... optez pour autre chose.

randonnée
Sat Apr 07 2018

Garez-vous près du premier lot près des intersections 6/293 afin de minimiser la marche sur les routes. Le camp vide du YMCA était intéressant. Long Path est un excellent sentier, peu de montées et descentes du côté nord de la route 6. Le Torrey Memorial offre une belle vue sur Bear Mountain et Popolopen Torne avec le lac Turkey Hill ci-dessous.

randonnée
Sun Mar 12 2017

BOUCLE DE SUCETTE ABRÉGÉE: Est-ce qu’une partie de ce sentier a commencé à 41.315548, -74.05004. Je cherchais un sentier modéré, avec des vues et randonnées un jour où la neige recouvrait le sentier. C'était un sentier extrêmement bien balisé, pas difficile à faire, même dans la neige, le seul problème que j'ai rencontré était de voir le chemin de pierre AVANT la crique - nous avons sauté deux criques, puis nous nous sommes retournés. J'aurais continué si ce n'était pas tard dans la journée et neigeux. Je pense qu’il s’agissait au total d’une boucle de 2,6 milles. Nous avons commencé la journée tardivement et ce fut une courte randonnée idéale avec une brève montée et une vue magnifique. Est-ce que l'itinéraire du circuit de la sucette, tel que décrit ici, est très précis? Description:

randonnée
Sat Oct 29 2016

Il y a un petit chemin sur 9w qui indique le long chemin, à partir de là, il ne vous reste que 1,5 km environ jusqu'au sommet qui suit le long chemin. vous pouvez ensuite continuer sur le long chemin et descendre du belvédère. Tourner à gauche juste avant le ruisseau qui vous emmène sur une route non balisée qui vous ramène au début. Je suggérerais de faire demi-tour à la vigie et de revenir sur vos pas vers le parking, le reste de la randonnée n’offrant pas grand-chose. La vue depuis le sommet est vraiment agréable, certainement un joyau caché parmi de nombreuses randonnées beaucoup plus populaires.

randonnée
Sun Sep 18 2016

Une grande partie de la randonnée était le long de l'autoroute et cela semblait dangereux et inconfortable. Je ne recommanderais pas la randonnée pour cette partie. La longue section de sentier était magnifique cependant.

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
Sun Jul 29 2018

randonnée
Tue Feb 27 2018

randonnée
Sat Oct 28 2017

Sat Jun 17 2017

Thu May 04 2017

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Lake Te-ata via Long Path

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(16)
Harriman State Park

Lake Te-ata via Long Path is a 8.9 mile loop trail located near Highland Falls, New York and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, camping, and nature trips and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 8.9 miles Elevation Gain: 2,017 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

camping

hiking

nature trips

lake

The trail starts out with a short but steep climb up to Long Mountain and the Torrey memorial. The Long Path starts at the George Washington bridge and goes through Harriman park and the Catskills and ends just outside of the Catskills. When complete it will take you to Whiteface Mt in the Dacks. After soaking in the views you will climb Howell Mt, Brooks Mt and Surebridge Mt, all with limited views.

hiking
9 days ago

trail was fine except for poor blazes on the way up northwest toward the camp. other than that, tough hike. but recommend it

1 month ago

I had completed this trail several years ago well visiting family in the area. they didn't know much about the trail or the general area but this one seems like it would be a really great day hike considering length and estimated duration. ended up hiking it in March, It was a cold day and there was still snow as we got closer to the summit. The views of the Hudson were absolutely amazing. Having grown up in Croton on Hudson I was already familiar with the beauty of the river; but this perspective was amazing. I would definitely consider taking this trail again if I'm ever back up for a visit.b

hiking
Thu Jun 14 2018

I had this rated at about a 3 star until I got to the point where the trail (green markers I think) and the map on the app diverged when I got near art 6. Before that the trail was a good challenge and well marked. Only downside was gunfire in the background from nearby military training/WP. Everything went downhill after that... I ended up walking along the highway, which felt very uncomfortable, and cut my hike short. I did this trail for the purpose of getting to lake Te Ata, named after an amazing Native American woman. Were it not for that I would have opted another trail based on reviews. My feeling is that there are plenty of other places to go around The area with beautiful views and more peaceful setting...save yourself the aggravation...go for something else.

hiking
Sat Apr 07 2018

Park at the first lot near the 6/293 intersections to minimize road walking. Empty YMCA camp was interesting. Long Path is a great trail, few nice up and downs on the north side of Route 6. Torrey Memorial has a nice view of Bear Mountain and Popolopen Torne with Turkey Hill Lake below.

hiking
Sun Mar 12 2017

ABRIDGED LOLLIPOP LOOP: Did a portion of this trail, which started at 41.315548, -74.05004. Was looking for a moderate trail, with views, and hiked on a day when snow covered the trail. It was an extremely well-marked trail, not difficult to do, even in the snow, the only problem I encountered was seeing the stone path BEFORE the creek -- we hopped two creeks and then turned around and came back. Would have kept going were it not late in the day and snowy. I think in total it was about 2.6 mile loop. We got a late start to the day, and it was an ideal short hike with a brief uphill and great view. Did the lollipop circuit route as described here, very accurate route description: https://www.nynjtc.org/hike/long-path-long-mountain-summit-harriman-state-park#dialog-hike-description

hiking
Sat Oct 29 2016

there's a small high way on 9w that has a sign for the long path, from there its only about a mile to the summit following the long path . you can then continue onto the long path and descend down from the lookout. Turn left right before the Brook which takes you on an unmarked road which take you back to the beginning . I'd suggest turning back around at the lookout and retracing your steps back to the parking lot as the rest of the hike doesn't offer much . The veiw from the top is really nice , definitely a hidden gem amongst many much more popular hikes .

hiking
Sun Sep 18 2016

Large portion of the hike was along the highway and it seemed dangerous and uncomfortable. Would not recommend the hike for that part. The long trail section was gorgeous though.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
Sun Jul 29 2018

hiking
Sat Oct 28 2017

Sat Jun 17 2017

Thu May 04 2017