Fahnestock Trail

MODERATE 24 reviews

Fahnestock Trail is a 7.5 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Philipstown, New York that features a waterfall. The trail is rated as moderate offers a number of activity options. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
7.5 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1374 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

fishing

hiking

nature trips

snowshoeing

trail running

forest

river

views

waterfall

wild flowers

wildlife

Park at either end of the trail.

hiking
5 months ago

Very nice trail. But if it has better view, it would be a 5 star.

6 months ago

not sure why this trail was so well rated. The "waterfall" was nowhere to be found, and the trail was overgrown with grass so badly that we had to do tick checks every 10 minutes.

Also worth mentioning is the overflow on the main path in and out. I didn't plan to walk through water on my hike, and definitely didn't appreciate the wet socks...

camping
Saturday, July 30, 2016

Fun camping experience for our young kids.

Sunday, May 24, 2015

We took Appalachian Trail from 301, heading North, moderate hiking up hills and rocks. At approx 2 miles, we turned right onto Blue Trail , down rocky hill to beach and concession stand. Great workout for a day hike. Chose to return to car via 301 as we were pressed for time.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

This is the trail to take. The western section ridge runs and offers great views. This trail connects to many other trails and is a great stating place for a loop hike to start.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

6 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

Saturday, December 03, 2016

Sunday, October 16, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, August 24, 2016

hiking
Monday, May 30, 2016

Sunday, May 08, 2016

Sunday, May 01, 2016

trail running
Sunday, April 24, 2016

Load More