Cossayuna Lake and Moreau Lake

MODERATE 16 reviews
#2 of 2 trails in

Cossayuna Lake and Moreau Lake is a 5.2 mile loop trail located near Gansevoort, New York. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, fishing, and snowshoeing.

DISTANCE
5.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
734 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

fishing

hiking

snowshoeing

lake

1 month ago

8 months ago

10 months ago

This is a state park with an entrance fee. FYI.

walking
10 months ago

A nice area to walk around!

hiking
Sunday, June 05, 2016

Thursday, June 02, 2016

Saturday, May 28, 2016

hiking
Saturday, April 09, 2016

hiking
Monday, February 29, 2016

Fairly easy hike to the overlook until the last bit. The ascent wasn't bad but the rocks were pretty icy. Still, the clear day and the view were worth it!

hiking
Monday, December 28, 2015

hiking
Saturday, October 10, 2015

hiking
Thursday, June 18, 2015

Great climb to the overlook. Very rocky though.
Paddle boarded around the lake....beautiful extremely clear water.

Monday, June 15, 2015

Great park with tons of great trails. Trails are generally well marked... only quibble is sometimes they are not well marked exactly where they need to be.

Addendum to Debra B's comment above: Maps are available at the ranger house right adjacent to the main toll booth entrance.

snowshoeing
Friday, November 28, 2014

mountain biking
Saturday, June 28, 2014

Really beautiful lake with a great swimming beach. There looks to be some great hiking trails but there are no maps. since we weren't familiar with the park we were hesitant about wandering too far. looks good for camping, we were only there for a little while.