Black River Trail

MODERATE 34 reviews

Black River Trail is a 5.1 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Great Bend, New York that features a river. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, walking, trail running, and fishing. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
203 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

fishing

hiking

trail running

walking

forest

river

views

bugs

rocky

Beautiful point to point trail that runs along part of the Black River. Lots of Beautiful Views and fishing along the trail.

hiking
14 days ago

hiking
19 days ago

gorgeous views and an easy trail to walk. only mar is the truck ruts and littering en mas near the pump station.

1 month ago

1 month ago

3 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

awesome day amazing trail

walking
9 months ago

road biking
Saturday, July 02, 2016

Nice scenery , easy stroll

hiking
Sunday, June 19, 2016

Sunday, June 05, 2016

hiking
Sunday, May 22, 2016

hiking
Saturday, April 23, 2016

hiking
Tuesday, April 19, 2016

hiking
Sunday, March 13, 2016

hiking
Thursday, January 07, 2016

http://bobbieswaterfalls.net/new-york-state-northern/jefferson-county/falls-in-great-bend/

hiking
Monday, August 17, 2015

completed today with family. Great trail except for the illegal dumping that's going on there. Random trash piles every where. I wish that I could catch them in the act.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Nice and easy trail. Bring bug spray!

Sunday, May 24, 2015

walking
Tuesday, May 12, 2015

Easy trail with a great view of the river and surrounding area. The right side butts up against Fort Drum, so stay away from the fence itself. Only minor 'hills' and the path is very well marked. There are certain spots you can walk onto the rocks that line the river, but be cautious, the river itself is very fast moving.