Betty Allen Pond Trail

FACILE 12 avis
N°1 sur 1 randonnées à

Betty Allen Pond Trail est un sentier en boucle modérément fréquenté de 0,5 mile situé près de Huntington, dans l’État de New York, qui comprend un lac et convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à octobre.

Distance: 0.5 miles Dénivelé: 6 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

convient aux enfants

pêche

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

course à pied

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

boueux

chiens interdits

Courte boucle autour de l'étang de Betty Allen Nature Preserve. Le sentier plat et bien entretenu de Betty Allen Nature Preserve serpente autour de son étang central, offrant aux randonneurs l’occasion de voir l’eau et ses habitants, notamment des cygnes, des canards et d’autres oiseaux aquatiques. La réserve a été nommée en l'honneur de Betty Allen, une militante écologiste qui a cofondé la Huntington Audubon Society. L'étang était à l'origine utilisé par les Amérindiens et a été formé par le barrage des ruisseaux à proximité. La ville de Huntington a acheté le terrain en 1972 avec une subvention de contrepartie de 50% du Fonds fédéral pour la conservation des terres et des eaux. En 2011, un nouveau barrage et une nouvelle échelle de pêche ont été installés pour permettre aux gaspareaux de se rendre dans l'étang, ce qui leur fournit un nouvel habitat et des frayères, ainsi que de nouvelles possibilités de pêche.

randonnée
8 months ago

Une boucle rapide. Assez plat et agréable si vous n'avez pas beaucoup de temps. Belle vue sur le son .. paisible.

Wednesday, August 08, 2018

Court et doux et bien entretenu. Seulement environ un demi-mile autour du lac. Quelques passages à quai à mi-parcours peuvent être glissants après une pluie. Je recommande de combiner cette randonnée / promenade avec un sentier du parc Phragmites directement en face de la rue. C'est un peu plus long et tout aussi pittoresque.

randonnée
Thursday, June 01, 2017

Une randonnée rapide ne vaut probablement que si vous habitez à proximité. Très jolie en automne.

Thursday, November 10, 2016

C'est une excellente petite escapade dans la nature si votre temps est limité Très belle en automne

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, September 30, 2018

course de trail
Monday, May 14, 2018

randonnée
Sunday, November 12, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, October 28, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, July 01, 2017

randonnée
Friday, January 01, 2016

Randonnées populaires

Betty Allen Pond Trail is a 0.5 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Huntington, New York that features a lake and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October.

Distance: 0.5 miles Elevation Gain: 6 feet Route Type: Loop

kid friendly

fishing

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

running

forest

lake

views

muddy

no dogs

Short loop around Betty Allen Nature Preserve's pond. The flat, well-maintained trail at Betty Allen Nature Preserve meanders around its central pond, giving hikers opportunities to view the water and its inhabitants, which include swans, ducks, and other waterfowl. The preserve was named for Betty Allen, an environmental activist who cofounded the Huntington Audubon Society. The pond was initially used by Native Americans and was formed by the damming of nearby streams. The Town of Huntington purchased the land in 1972 with a 50% matching grant through the Federal Land and Water Conservation Fund. In 2011 a new dam and fish ladder were installed to allow alewives to travel into the pond, providing them new habitat and spawning grounds, and providing people with new opportunities for fishing.

hiking
5 months ago

Quick hike, easy, flat and easy to navigate. Lots of wooden walkways to help keep your feet dry. It was pretty wet when we went through due to heavy rains a day ago. Really short, great for little kids. Combine with the hike across 25A, Phragmites Park and you have a decent hike. NO views of Sound from this trail as someone else stated, but lovely views of the little pond, all the way around. There were ducks and swans today.

hiking
Thu Feb 21 2019

A quick loop. Flat and nice enough if you don’t have a lot of time. Beautiful views of the sound.. peaceful.

Wed Aug 08 2018

Short and Sweet and well maintained. Only about a half mile around the lake. A few dock crossings half way through that can be slippery after a rainfall. I recommend combining this hike/walk with a Phragmites Park trail directly across the street. That one's a little longer and just as scenic.

hiking
Thu Jun 01 2017

A quick hike probably only worth it if you live nearby. Very pretty in the fall.

Thu Nov 10 2016

This is a great little nature getaway if you have limited time. Very beautiful in the Fall

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
Sun Mar 24 2019

hiking
Sun Sep 30 2018

running
Mon May 14 2018

hiking
Sun Nov 12 2017

hiking
Sat Oct 28 2017

hiking
Sat Jul 01 2017

hiking
Fri Jan 01 2016