Pueblo Bonito est un sentier en boucle modérément fréquenté situé près de Nageezi, au Nouveau-Mexique, qui offre la chance de voir la faune et qui convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche et le camping et est accessible toute l'année.

Distance: 0.9 miles Dénivelé: 39 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

convient aux enfants

camping

randonnée

balade

vue panoramique

faune

rocheux

chiens interdits

C'est une randonnée éducative. C'est une ville ancienne qui rivalise avec les Aztèques au Mexique. À voir absolument, surtout si vous êtes un majeur urbain ou architecte. Pueblo Bonito est divisé en deux sections par un mur parfaitement aligné, allant du nord au sud, à travers la place centrale. Un grand kiva est placé de chaque côté du mur, créant un motif symétrique commun à beaucoup des grandes maisons. Outre les grands kivas, plus de trente autres kivas ou structures cérémoniales ont été découverts, souvent associés à la grande cour centrale. Les espaces de vie intérieurs étaient assez grands par rapport aux normes de l'ancien Pueblo. Le lieutenant James H. Simpson, de l'armée américaine, et Carravahal, guide de Simpson originaire de San Juan Pueblo, ont découvert le Chaco Canyon pour la première fois au cours d'une expédition militaire de 1849. Ils ont brièvement examiné huit plus grandes ruines du canyon du Chaco, dont le Pueblo Bonito, nommé joli village en espagnol par Carravahal. À la fin de son expédition, Simpson a publié la première description de Chaco Canyon dans son rapport militaire, avec des dessins de l'artiste de l'expédition RH Kern.

5 months ago

Fabuleux! Aime ça!

randonnée
7 months ago

Je marchais avec 4 enfants (âgés de 5 à 7 ans) et nous nous sommes tous éclatés. Je suis 6-3 et j'ai dû ramper à travers une porte et me baisser pour plusieurs autres. Les enfants étaient très mécontents lorsque nous avons abordé les ruines car il y avait des gens à l'intérieur. Une fois qu'ils ont compris qu'ils allaient entrer, ils étaient extatiques. Je recommande d'acheter le guide des sentiers (1 $) au centre des visiteurs car il n'y a aucune description de ce que vous regardez sur le sentier. Il y a un endroit où vous pouvez marcher jusqu'à un cimetière, mais le sentier avait du sable assez profond (et il y a un autre endroit plus facile pour aller au cimetière juste en bas de la route) alors nous avons fait demi-tour. Cependant, un peu plus loin sur le sentier du cimetière, vous pouvez voir quelques noms (d'après certains des premiers explorateurs blancs - 1917 en était un) - sur les falaises. Les enfants les ont tout de suite repérés, mais cela m'a pris du temps pour les voir.

randonnée
Thursday, June 22, 2017

balade
Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Il est étonnant de voir de près l’énormité de la structure, on se croirait dans le Colisée américain. Facile à marcher, quelques espaces restreints mais toujours gérable. Il y a une pièce qui montre le toit / plancher d'origine au-dessus de vous et c'est assez étonnant qu'il soit toujours là. Les pictogrammes sont également très intéressants et méritent un coup d’œil.

randonnée
Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Comme tous les Pueblos du Chaco, très intéressant. Recommander à tous

randonnée
Friday, March 11, 2016

Ne manquez pas ça! La meilleure vue pour vraiment apprécier la taille de cette ruine et le nombre de kivas provient du sentier Pueblo Alto Loop.

randonnée
Monday, February 08, 2016

Ne manquez pas la visite des gardes forestiers. Très compétent et éducatif.

randonnée
Friday, November 13, 2015

Ne manquez pas celui-ci! Nous avons eu la chance de participer à une visite guidée avec un garde forestier. Elle connaissait très bien et était capable de partager beaucoup plus que le guide de base des pistes C'étaient des gens extraordinaires et travaillants. Pendant que nous étions là-bas, ils effectuaient des travaux d'entretien sur les structures. C'était une entreprise très calme et respectueuse.

randonnée
23 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

Saturday, June 02, 2018

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Pueblo Bonito is a 0.9 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Nageezi, New Mexico that offers the chance to see wildlife and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and camping and is accessible year-round.

Length 0.9 mi Elevation gain 39 ft Route type Loop

Kid friendly

Camping

Hiking

Walking

Views

Wildlife

Rocky

No dogs

Description
Waypoints (0)
Facilities
Contact
Getting There

This is an Educational hike. it's an ancient city that rivals the Aztecs in Mexico. Definitely a must see, specially if you're an Urban or Architect major. Pueblo Bonito is divided into two sections by a precisely aligned wall, running north to south, through the central plaza. A Great Kiva is placed on either side of the wall, creating a symmetrical pattern common to many of the Great Houses. In addition to the great kivas, over thirty other kivas or ceremonial structures have been found, many also associated with the large central courtyard. Interior living spaces were quite large by the standards of the Ancient Pueblo. U.S. army Lt. James H. Simpson and Carravahal, Simpson's guide from San Juan Pueblo, first came upon Chaco Canyon during a 1849 military expedition. They briefly examined eight larger ruins in Chaco Canyon including Pueblo Bonito, named pretty village in Spanish by Carravahal. At the conclusion of his expedition, Simpson published the first description of Chaco Canyon in his military report, with drawings by expedition artist R. H. Kern.

There's a parking area for all visitors. From the parking lot to the site, it's around a half mile walk.

By Mail: P. O. Box 220 Nageezi, NM 87037 By Phone: Visitor Information (505) 786-7014 ext. 221

From I-40 exit Hwy 370 go north for a couple hours, turn right on Hwy 57, note that Hwy 57 will transition to E. Rte 9. At this transition there's a "T" intersection, turn left on Chaco Canyon Road (also Hwy 57) and continue north. Note Chaco Canyon Rd. will transition to Navajo Service Route 14 (also Hwy 57) continue East on this road, which will eventually end at Pueblo Bonito.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (13)
Photos (98)
Recordings (4)
Completed (59)
Tom K
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 6, 2020
Hiking

May 2019 trip to Southwest, second visit to NM, last time was 15 years ago in late fall. Day 12 First time here (Main Goal#14 of trip). Most important site in Chacoan Culture!!! I was surprised that you can walk in and explore many rooms. Strongly recommend latter to hike Pueblo Alto trail and see the site from above!!

Kimberly K.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 30, 2019

Fabulous! Love this!

JC Carlyle
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 11, 2019
Hiking

I walked this with 4 kids (ages 5-7) and we all had a blast. I'm 6-3 and I had to crawl through one doorway and stoop way down for quite a few others. The children were very upset when we first approached the ruins because there were folks inside. Once they realized they would get to go inside they were ecstatic. I recommend buying the trail guide ($1) at the visitor's center because there isn't any descriptions of what you are looking at on the trail. There is a spot where you can walk on down to a cemetery, but the trail had some pretty deep sand (and there is another easier spot to get to the cemetery just down the road) so we turned around. However, a short ways down the cemetery trail you can see some names (I'm guessing from some of the early white explorers - 1917 was next to one) on the cliffs. The kids spotted those right away, but it took me some time to see them.

Cortney Johnson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 22, 2017
Hiking
Sam Vandewater
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 15, 2017
Walking

Its amazing to see what the enormity of the structure up close, it kind of feels like the US' Colosseum. Easy to walk around, some tight spaces but still manageable. There is one room that shows the original roof/floor above you and its quite amazing that it's still there. The pictographs are also very interesting and worth a glance.

Doug Neidholdt
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 15, 2016
Hiking

As all the Pueblos at Chaco, very interesting. Recommend to all

Jennifer Nelson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 11, 2016
Hiking

Don't miss this! The best views to really appreciate the size of this ruin and number of kivas is from the Pueblo Alto Loop trail.

Heather Geagan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 8, 2016
Hiking

Don't miss the ranger tour. Very knowledgeable and educational.

Teresa Ross
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 13, 2015
Hiking
First to Review

Do not miss this one! We were lucky enough to meet up with a ranger guided tour. She was very knowledgeable and able to share much more than the basis trail guide did! These were amazing, hard working people. While we were there, they were doing some maintenance on the structures. It was a very quiet and respectful undertaking.

Ray Phillips
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 25, 2019
Hiking
View Ray's Recording
Vicki Cordova
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 8, 2019
Hiking
Juanita Gutierrez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 5, 2019
Hiking
View Juanita's Recording
Scott Harrington
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 2, 2018