Monticello Canyon OHV Trail est un sentier de point à point de 32.4 miles peu fréquenté situé près de Elephant Butte, Nouveau-Mexique. Le sentier longe une rivière et sa difficulté est évaluée comme modérée. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier.

Distance: 32.4 miles Dénivelé: 1,801 feet Type d'itinéraire: Point A à point B

chiens bienvenus

conduite scénique

Conduite/Véhicules tout-terrain

rivière

vue panoramique

faune

payant

Ceci est une route de conduite hors route. Ce n'est pas un sentier de randonnée. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une voie publique, il ya eu beaucoup de débats au cours des dernières années pour décider de la fermer ou non. Les utilisateurs ont signalé qu'en août 2018, la route avait été fermée et fermée. Les visiteurs pourraient peut-être obtenir un laissez-passer de 25 $ qui leur permettrait de faire des excursions hors route. Veuillez contacter les comtés Sierra ou Socorro pour vérifier l’état de la route. La route chevauche les deux comtés. Ce voyage commence là où le SR142 se sépare du NM52. Le sentier se trouve juste au nord-ouest de Monticello. Il se dirige ensuite vers le nord-ouest à travers le canyon longeant le ruisseau Alamosa, puis à travers Monticello Box et se termine à NM52. À ce stade, vous pouvez vous diriger vers le nord sur le NM52, qui vous mènera par le VLA jusqu’à NM60, ou vous pouvez ramener le NM52 au sud vers l’I-25. Près de l'extrémité nord-ouest du sentier se trouve Ojo Caliente (sources chaudes) et les ruines d'un vieil avant-poste américain. Le sentier à travers le canyon est flanqué de part et d’autre de terres privées, soyez donc respectueux envers les propriétaires. Il y a plusieurs passages d'eau et zones où le ruisseau est le sentier.

Wed Aug 22 2018

Grande aventure

conduite scénique
Sun Aug 05 2018

La route est en grande partie détruite par les pluies récentes. Impassable sauf avec 4 roues motrices et un peu difficile même avec ça. En outre, il est fermé, fermé et verrouillé 7 miles de la ville de Monticello et sur l'extrémité nord aussi. J'ai conduit autour de la NM Hwy 52 jusqu'au point d'accès nord et je l'ai trouvé FERMÉ, GATED ET LOCKED à environ 3 km de NM Hwy 52

randonnée
Fri Nov 30 2018

randonnée
Thu Mar 15 2018

conduite hors route / hors route
Sun Jan 21 2018

Monticello Canyon OHV Trail [CLOSED / PRIVATE PROPERTY]

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(6)
Elephant Butte, New Mexico

Monticello Canyon OHV Trail [CLOSED / PRIVATE PROPERTY] is a 32.4 mile lightly trafficked point-to-point trail located near Elephant Butte, New Mexico that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for scenic driving and ohv/off road driving and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 32.4 miles Elevation Gain: 1,801 feet Route Type: Point to Point

dog friendly

scenic driving

ohv / off road driving

river

views

wildlife

closed

private property

fee

Note: This route has been closed due to its proximity to private property in the area. This is an off-road driving route. This is not a hiking trail. Although this is a public road, in recent years there has been much debate over whether to close it or not. Users have reported that as recently as August 2018, the road was closed and gated. Visitors might be able to get a $25 entry pass that would allow off-roading trips. Please contact Sierra or Socorro Counties to check the status of the road. The route straddles the two counties. This trip starts where SR142 branches off NM52. The trailhead is just northwest of Monticello. It then proceeds NW through the canyon along Alamosa Creek and out through Monticello Box and ends at NM52. At this point you can go north on NM52 which will take you by the VLA, up to NM60, or you can take NM52 south back to I-25. Near the NW end of the trail is Ojo Caliente (warm springs) and the ruins of an old US Outpost. The trail through the canyon is flanked on both sides by private land, so be respectful of the land owners. There are several water crossings and areas where the stream is the trail.

closed
private property
4 months ago

This trail is officially closed because of disrespect to the private properties along the road by previous off-roaders. This trail needs to be taken off of the app. Please respect the land owners privacy.

Wed Aug 22 2018

Great adventure

scenic driving
Sun Aug 05 2018

Road is mostly washed out now after recent heavy rains. Impassable except with 4wd and somewhat difficult even with that. Also it is CLOSED, GATED, AND LOCKED 7 miles from the town of Monticello and on the north end also. I drove around on NM Hwy 52 to the northern access point and found it CLOSED, GATED, AND LOCKED about 2 miles in from NM Hwy 52

hiking
Fri Nov 30 2018

hiking
Thu Mar 15 2018

ohv/off road driving
Sun Jan 21 2018