Baylor Peak From Aguirre Springs

SCHWER 27 Bewertungen

Der Baylor Peak von Aguirre Springs ist ein 5,5 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Las Cruces, New Mexico, der wunderschöne Wildblumen bietet und als schwierig gilt. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Wandern, für Naturausflüge und zur Vogelbeobachtung genutzt. Er wird am besten von Februar bis November benutzt.

Entfernung: 5.5 miles Höhenunterschied: 2,093 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Vogelbeobachtung

Aussicht

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

steinig

keine Hunde

Der Baylor Peak befindet sich am Ende des Organ Mountains nahe dem Baylor Pass im Norden. Um dorthin zu gelangen, fahren Sie die US 70 von Las Cruces NM in Richtung Alamogordo NM. Sobald Sie den Berg überquert haben, finden Sie den Eingang zum Aguirre Springs National Recreation Area im Organ Mountain Desert Peaks National Monument. Sie beginnen Ihre Reise zu Fuß auf dem Baylor Canyon Pass Trail (32.37176, -106.56163). Am Ende sehen Sie rechts den Baylor Peak. Der Weg zum Gipfel ist steil, felsig und nicht gut markiert, aber man kann ihn sehen, die Karte zeigt nur etwa 200 Meter, ist aber da. Auf dem Weg nach oben finden Sie mehrere Markierungen mit Steinen, die Sie in Richtung des Gipfels führen. Nach etwa 2,5 km erreichen Sie den Gipfel eines kleinen Berges. Von hier aus ist kein Pfad definiert, und Sie müssen den Grat entlanggehen und die meiste Zeit über die Felsen gehen. Auf dem Gipfel des Baylor Peak genießen Sie eine herrliche Aussicht, natürlich auch die Orgelberge und sogar ein Teil des White Sands National Monument. Der Flug der Schwalben wird Sie in Erstaunen versetzen. Vergessen Sie nicht, Ihren Namen auf den kleinen Notizblock in der Metalldose zu schreiben, ein Beweis dafür, dass Sie dort waren! Der Abstieg ist der schwierigste Teil, seien Sie vorsichtig mit den losen Steinen und gehen Sie langsam. Tragen Sie ein Paar Wanderschuhe (kein Tennis) und verwenden Sie vorzugsweise einen Spazierstock und genießen Sie diesen harten, aber schönen Trail!

wandern
1 month ago

Wow, die Aussicht. Dies war eine herausfordernde Wanderung für einen alten Mann. Wir haben es auf das Plateau geschafft und beschlossen, nicht mehr zu klettern. Die Aussicht war oben wirklich spektakulär. Auf jeden Fall ein harter Aufstieg, aber es lohnt sich. Nimm viel Wasser, trage einen Hut und Sonnencreme

wandern
3 months ago

Dies ist das zweite Mal, dass ich diesen Trail mache. wunderschön und mit fantastischer aussicht bin ich die 8,8 kilometer gelaufen aber ich habe nur 4,9 aufgenommen. Wie jeder bemerkt, ist der letzte Teil, steil und felsig, am schwierigsten, aber nicht unmöglich zu gehen. Auf dem Gipfel angekommen, werden Sie von der 360-Grad-Ansicht begeistert sein. Tragen Sie gute Wanderschuhe und bringen Sie viel Wasser mit, wenn Sie diesen Weg im Sommer machen.

wandern
kein schatten
steinig
überwachsen
3 months ago

Gehen Sie nicht an einem Sommertag und bringen Sie trotzdem jede Menge Wasser mit. Ich ging an einem bewölkten Tag Ende Juli los und rannte aus meinem 100-Z-Reservoir, 45 m vom Auto entfernt. Großer Fehler. Der Baylor Pass Teil des Weges ist nicht allzu schwierig, aber achten Sie auf Schlangen. Sobald Sie den Pass erreicht haben, geht der Weg ziemlich schnell von sanft zu geradeaus. Ich bin am nächsten Tag hier ziemlich wund. Trotzdem ist die Aussicht auf den Hauptteil des Orgelgebirges schwer zu übertreffen, und wenn Sie sich einer ernsthaften Herausforderung stellen müssen, dann tut dies Ihnen gut.

wandern
7 months ago

Ich habe diesen Weg wirklich genossen. Schön und leicht zum Pass. Von dort geht es etwas locker und steil zum Gipfel, der nicht immer der am besten definierte Weg ist, aber leicht zu sehen ist. Während des Aufstiegs gibt es tatsächlich einen falschen Gipfel, zu dem Sie hinübergehen müssen, um den wahren Gipfel zu erreichen. Von oben haben Sie eine hervorragende Aussicht auf Las Cruces, White Sands und alle zackigen Gipfel des Orgelgebirges.

wandern
steinig
9 months ago

Schöne wanderung! Es wird nicht schwierig, bis Sie den Passweg verlassen, um zum Gipfel zu gelangen. Mit diesen Worten ist die Gipfelwanderung immer noch sehr machbar, wenn Sie ein "Spitzen" -Wanderer sind! Wir sind Wanderer mit hohem Gipfel und unserer Erfahrung nach wäre dieser Weg als mäßig nicht schwierig einzustufen. Unbedingt Stiefel mit guter Traktion tragen. Der Pfad ist über die abgenutzten Fußwege, Steinhaufen und alle Wanderwege-Apps einfach zu verfolgen. Der Wind war heftig, als wir wanderten. Wir haben 5,5 Stunden gebraucht, darunter 1 Stunde und viele Stopps für Bilder. Würde auf jeden Fall diese Wanderung wieder machen!

wandern
11 months ago

Schöner Aufstieg mit toller Aussicht

Sun Sep 16 2018

Ich fand diese Wanderung sehr anspruchsvoll, aber keine meiner Lieblingswanderungen rund um Cruces, obwohl sie wunderschöne Aussichten bot. Der schwierige Teil beginnt, sobald Sie am Baylor Canyon Pass vorbeigehen und den Gipfel erklimmen. Der Abstieg ist wegen der Steilheit und loser Felsen noch schwieriger. Ich wünschte wirklich, ich hätte Wanderstöcke. Bringen Sie viel Essen und Wasser mit und tragen Sie lange Hosen. Es gibt viele Kakteen, die nur darauf warten, Sie zu erstechen, wenn Sie den Gipfel besteigen. Ich habe in Aguirre Springs angefangen und mein Fitnessgerät las die Entfernung in der Nähe von 8 Meilen (8 Meilen) und nicht von 5,5 Meilen (wie in dieser App angegeben). Ich habe wesentlich länger gebraucht, als ich gedacht hätte. Früh anfangen. Der Weg war manchmal schwer zu folgen. Seien Sie sehr vorsichtig bei dem Felsklettern gegen Ende. Viele dieser großen Felsen sind nicht stabil und könnten auf Sie fallen, wenn Sie nicht aufpassen. Ich war etwa 0,5 Meilen vom Gipfel entfernt und drehte mich um, weil ein großer Stein fast auf mich gefallen wäre. Unterschätze diese Wanderung nicht. Es ist eine der schwierigsten, die ich in diesem Bereich gemacht habe. Ich habe ihm nur 3 Sterne gegeben, wegen der Kakteen, der Weg ist schwer zu folgen und die Steilheit.

Camping
Mon May 28 2018

sehr schöne wanderung !! Vergewissern Sie sich, dass Sie Schuhe mit guter Traktion haben. Der Weg war ein wenig schwierig zu folgen. es war eine gute harte Wanderung !!

wandern
Mon Mar 26 2018

Mein Sohn und ich sind dies am 25.03. Gewandert, nicht zu heiß und eine sehr gute Wanderung. Sobald der Baylor Peak vorbei ist, wird der Weg immer schwieriger, nur aufgrund der Steinscherben, die Sie stürzen können. Auch zu dieser Jahreszeit sind die Winde sehr problematisch. Wenn Sie sich in einer Situation befinden, in der Ihr Gleichgewicht beeinträchtigt werden kann, kann es zu Stürzen kommen. Alles in allem eine tolle Wanderung, die Ihre Herzfrequenz erhöht.

Sun Feb 11 2018

Schöne Wanderung Ich kann es kaum erwarten, meine Eltern hierher zu bringen !! Dauerte ungefähr 2 Stunden.

wandern
Thu Dec 21 2017

Dies ist eine sehr schöne Wanderung. Nicht allzu schwieriger, stetiger Aufstieg mit sehr schönen Ausblicken auf das Orgelgebirge und das Tularosa-Becken. Viele schöne Wildblumen am Ende des Sommers.

wandern
Tue Oct 17 2017

Der Weg vom Pass wird zum Gipfel schwierig. Es ist leicht, die Spur auf dem Weg nach unten zu verlieren. Behalten Sie einfach die von Ihnen verfolgten Cairns bei und Sie sollten auf dem Weg zurück zum Pass in Ordnung sein. Toller Trail! Ansichten sind unglaublich schön!

wandern
Sat May 06 2017

Auf den Baylor Peak zu laufen war ein riskantes, aber interessantes und schönes Abenteuer. Auf dem Baylor Canyon Pass Trail zu laufen war einfach; Sie gewinnen nicht zu viel Höhe, der schwierige Teil erschien, als ich vom Baylor Pass aufstieg. Der steinige und sehr steile Weg war schwer zu gehen, besonders der Kamm in der Nähe des Gipfels, aber es war die Anstrengung wert.

wandern
19 days ago

wandern
19 days ago

wandern
5 months ago

wandern
5 months ago

wandern
7 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

wandern
Sat Apr 07 2018

wandern
Sat Mar 31 2018

wandern
Thu Mar 22 2018

wandern
Sun Feb 04 2018

wandern
Mon Jun 26 2017

Wed Mar 15 2017

Fri Feb 10 2017

Empfohlene Routen

Cyber Weekend Sale 50% Off
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Baylor Peak From Aguirre Springs is a 5.5 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Las Cruces, New Mexico that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from February until November.

Length 5.5 mi Elevation gain 2,093 ft Route type Out & Back
Hiking Nature trips Bird watching Views Wild flowers Wildlife Rocky No dogs
Description
Waypoints (0)

The Baylor Peak is located at the end of the Organ Mountains near the Baylor Pass to the north. To get there you drive by the US 70 from Las Cruces NM toward Alamogordo NM, once crossing the mountain you will find the entrance to Aguirre Springs National Recreation Area, inside the Organ Mountain Desert Peaks National Monument. You start your trip walking on the Baylor Canyon Pass Trail (32.37176, -106.56163); at the end you will see the Baylor Peak to your right. The trail to the peak is steep, rocky and not well marked but you can see it, the map only shows about 200 feet, but is there. On the way up you will find several marks with stones that will guide you in direction to the peak. At about the mile 2.5 you will arrive to the top of a small mountain, from here no trail is defined and you have to walk along the ridge and most of the time over the rocks. Once at the summit of the Baylor Peak you will enjoy beautiful views, of course also the Organ Mountains and even part of the White Sands National Monument, the flight of the swallows will amaze you. Do not forget to write your name on the little notepad inside the metal can, a proof that you were there! Walking down is the most difficult part, be careful with the loose rocks and walk slowly. Wear a pair of hiking boots (no tennis) and preferably use a walking stick, and enjoy this hard but beautiful trail!

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (40)
Photos (385)
Recordings (31)
Completed (79)
View user's profile page
Darrin Haslem
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 27, 2020
Hiking

First time with trekker poles — made all the difference for the trail above the pass. Lots of loose rock and slipping, so go slow. The views are worth the effort. Amazing.

View Darrin's Recording
View user's profile page
Javier Carranza
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 6, 2020
Hiking
View Javier's Recording
View user's profile page
Andrea Gardner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 6, 2020
HikingGreat!Scramble

Beautiful hike with great views. Its pretty much a scramble from the false peak up to the actual summit and some of the rocks are loose, so use caution...lost the trail at a couple of points but was able to get back on track easily.

View Andrea's Recording
View user's profile page
Jorge Gonzalez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 12, 2020
Hiking

It was nice and cloudy. The trail was a bit overgrown in parts but nothing that a bit of shimmying around wouldn't fix. One important thing to consider is that once you get to the pass and you head up to the peak... it gets really steep... like really really steep. We had to turn back halfway up the summit because we did not have hiking poles and it was getting testy. Other than those minor complaints the trail was beautiful, and I'll definitely go back at some point in order to try and attempt the summit.

View Jorge's Recording
View user's profile page
Miggy PT
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 22, 2020
Hiking

It’s a nice hike. Just take enough water. Trekking poles could be helpful for some on the way down. After reaching the saddle there is no shade.

View Miggy's Recording
View user's profile page
Pat Gordon
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 19, 2020
HikingNo shadeOff trailOver grownRocky
View Pat's Recording
View user's profile page
Joel Ortega
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 19, 2020
HikingNo shadeOff trailOver grown

To whomever recommend trekking poles, thank you. I would not attempt the peak without them. Taking a lot of water is without saying! Definitely longer than stated on AllTrails, at least 7 miles according to Garmin GPS tracker.

View Joel's Recording
View user's profile page
Steve Bennett
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 28, 2020
HikingGreat!No shade

Great morning hike - was on the trail in Aguirre Springs at 8:15am, returned about 11:45a or so. So many great views of the Tularosa Basin and White Sands Missile Range, as well as great views of the granite peaks of the Organ mountains. It was *really* windy at Baylor Pass, so we summited the false peak about a quarter mile up from Baylor Pass, but my 11 year old and I didn't feel like getting wind-blown while trying to navigate the rocks on the way up to Baylor Peak. Summer day, two hikers, so we had about 6L of water which we didn't get all the way through. Trekking poles were helpful and we were glad to have had them. They would have been essential had we gone for the summit.

View user's profile page
Jeff Kiebler
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarOctober 7, 2019
Hiking

Wow, the views. This was a challenging hike for an old guy. We made it to the plateau and decided not to got the extra bit of climb. The views were really spectacular at the top. Definitely a hard climb but worth it. Take lots of water, wear a hat and sunscreen

View user's profile page
Jorge Carrillo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 4, 2019
Hiking

This is the second time I do this trail. beautiful and with fantastic views, I walked the 5.5 miles but I only recorded 4.9. As everyone comments, the last part, steep and rocky, is the hardest but not impossible to walk. Once at the summit the 360 degrees view will leave you amazed. Wear good hiking boots and bring lots of water if you do this trail in the summer., .

View user's profile page
Stephen Tures
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 28, 2019
HikingNo shadeOver grownRocky

Don't go on a summer day and bring tons of water anyways. I went on what started as a cloudy day in late July and ran out of my 100z reservoir 45m from the car. Big mistake. The Baylor Pass part of the trail isn't too tough, though keep an eye out for snakes. Once you hit the pass, the trail goes from mellow to straight-up-the-side pretty quick. I'm pretty sore the next day here. Still, the view of the main part of the Organ Mountains is hard to beat, and if you're up for a serious challenge, then this will do you well.

View user's profile page
James Clark
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMarch 19, 2019
Hiking

I really enjoyed this trail. Nice and easy to the pass. From there it gets a bit loose and steep to the peak, which is not always the best defined trail, but easy enough to see. While going up there is actually a false summit that you have to go over to reach the true summit. From the top you get excellent views of Las Cruces, White Sands, and all the jagged peaks of the Organ Mountain Range.

View user's profile page
Michael Grady
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarNovember 27, 2018
Hiking

Nice climb with great views

View user's profile page
Katelyn Przybyszewski
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 16, 2018

I thought this hike was very challenging but not one of my favorite hikes around Cruces although it did offer beautiful views. The hard part begins once you go past Baylor Canyon Pass and start up the peak. The way down is even more difficult because of the steepness and loose rocks. I was really wishing I had trekking poles. Bring lots of food and water and wear long pants. There are plenty of cacti just waiting to stab you especially going up the peak. I started from Aguirre Springs and my fitness device read the distance as closer to 8 miles round trip, not 5.5 miles like this app says. It took me considerably longer than I thought it would. Start early. The trail was difficult to follow at times. Be really careful at the rock scramble toward the end. A lot of those large rocks are not stable and could fall on you if you’re not careful. I was about 0.5 miles away from the summit and turned around because a large rock almost fell on me. Do not underestimate this hike. It’s one of the more challenging ones I’ve done in this area. I only gave it 3 stars because of the cacti, the trail being difficult to follow, and the steepness.

View user's profile page
Lynda Hogue
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMay 28, 2018
Camping

very nice hike!! make sure you have shoes with good traction. the trail was a little difficult to follow, use common sense, but the views were spectacular! it was a good hard hike!!

View user's profile page
John Fisher
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMarch 26, 2018
Hiking

My son and I hiked this on 03/25, not too hot and a very good hike. Once past the Baylor peak pass the trail does get increasingly difficult, only due to the rock shards that can cause you to fall. Also, this time of the year the winds are very much an issue. It can cause you to fall if you are in a situation where your balance can be compromised. All in all a great hike that will raise your heart rate.

View user's profile page
Miranda Graupmann
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 11, 2018

Beautiful Hike. Can't wait to take my mom and dad here!! Took about 2 hours.

View user's profile page
Jean-Claude Linossi
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarDecember 21, 2017
Hiking

This is a very beautiful hike. Not too difficult, steady climb with very beautiful views of the Organ Mountains and the Tularosa basin. Many beautiful wildflowers at the end of the summer.

View user's profile page
Tony Garza
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 17, 2017
Hiking

Trail from the pass becomes difficult to the Peak. It is easy to lose trail on your way down, just maintain the cairns you followed up and you should be fine on your way back to the pass. Awesome trail! Views are tremendously beautiful!

View user's profile page
Jorge Carrillo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMay 6, 2017
Hiking
First to Review

Walking up to the Baylor Peak was a risky but interesting and beautiful adventure. Walking on the Baylor Canyon Pass Trail was easy; you do not gain too much elevation, the hard part appeared when I started to walk up from the Baylor Pass. The rocky and very steep trail was difficult to walk, especially the ridge near the peak, but it was worth the effort, being on top of the peak was an exciting experience.

View user's profile page
Ahram Cho
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarNovember 28, 2020
Hiking
View Ahram's Recording
Showing results 1 - 21 of 40