Arroyo Hondo Open Space

EASY 30 reviews
#24 of 70 trails in

Arroyo Hondo Open Space is a 1.6 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Santa Fe, New Mexico that offers scenic views. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for hiking, trail running, nature trips, and horses. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.6 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
321 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

horseback riding

nature trips

trail running

views

walking
4 months ago

Just in the area exploring and decided to find a short trail to go for a walk. This was an amazing trail as far as the view. I was able to see the moon and sunset at the same time!!

8 months ago

Always in good shape. Great views and good workout if time is an issue.

8 months ago

Very easy, but great for a quick hike. Really well marked, easy to find & navigate. Perfect for new hikers to get their confidence up.

9 months ago

Nice views for an easy hike. Kept within view of the highway, which was a bummer. The rock and plant diversity was very fascinating for native Kansas though!

hiking
10 months ago

I go there frequently when I want to get outside but don’t have time to go up into the mountains. The trail is short and relatively easy. The views towards Albuquerque are fantastic!

Sunday, June 11, 2017

love this place!

hiking
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

nice simple hike. dog loved it.

hiking
Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Easy hike right off the highway. A little elevation change but nothing exhausting. It has a lot of trails inside the loop which are nice for longer or shorter hikes (my 14y.o. lab got tired halfway around so we cut straight back).

hiking
Saturday, March 25, 2017

Lots of fun!! Not hard but a bit challenging. Many trails hear to choose from.

hiking
Monday, March 06, 2017

Great hike. Easy enough for kids.

walking
Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Great all age family walk. 70 year old parents all they down to our 13 year old son. Lots of options to make it short or long. Great views.

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Really easy trail for kids, we loved this place! The views are beautiful. Some shade, but expect sun. We went in Summer at 7:00 PM, took us 50 min to do the 1.6 miles. Great experience!

hiking
1 day ago

hiking
2 months ago

recorded Arroyo Hondo

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
Thursday, August 03, 2017

Sunday, May 28, 2017

walking
Saturday, May 20, 2017

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

hiking
Sunday, March 12, 2017

hiking
Thursday, December 29, 2016

hiking
Sunday, December 04, 2016

hiking
Saturday, December 03, 2016

Thursday, October 27, 2016

hiking
Sunday, September 11, 2016

hiking
Monday, April 04, 2016