Stoney Brook Trail via Appalachian Trail Loop is a 5.8 mile loop trail located near Branchville, New Jersey that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
731 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

backpacking

camping

cross country skiing

hiking

snowshoeing

forest

lake

snow

This loop is great on XC skies or Snowshoes. Although during times when snow lacks on the trails it is better to use the alternate route by taking the Appalachian trail. The reason for this is it avoids having to walk paved Sunrise Mt road. It is a very scenic road but better when snow covered. On this loop you will go through Hemlock Forest, cross streams and climb on top of the Kittatinny ridge. When doing this on skies make sure you take the Stony Brook trail up the ridge.

hiking
3 days ago

Stony Brook trail to Blue Mountain. Stay on Blue Mtn. Real nice, pine trees, streams, not difficult. Turn right on Tinsley Trail (yellow) to Swenson (red) and Blue Mtn. and back to Stony Brook (brown). Overall nice, quiet hike, no hills. Took 3 hours.

hiking
2 months ago

Stony Brook trail to App. trail then back via Tower trail. lots of streams and wide trails along stony brook. Up the mountain was steep and the climb down was treacherous. Overall all moderate to difficult. Good loop.

Monday, January 30, 2017

Nice hike with my son for his eight birthday. We parked at Culver's Gap lot and walked along Sunrise Mountain Road to Coursen Trail (blue). Took Stony Brook Trail (brown) to the AT (white) and back down to the parking.

I recorded this loop to be a little more than 6.25 miles. Some very rocky and wet areas to maneuver around. A few small waterfalls. Great views along the AT.

hiking
Saturday, December 09, 2017

hiking
Saturday, November 25, 2017

hiking
Saturday, October 28, 2017

hiking
Sunday, October 01, 2017

hiking
Friday, June 30, 2017

hiking
Saturday, March 11, 2017

Saturday, March 11, 2017

hiking
Saturday, October 29, 2016

Sunday, September 25, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Saturday, April 30, 2016

hiking
Saturday, December 05, 2015