Parker Loop High Point Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 6 avis
N°8 sur 13 randonnées à

Le Parker Loop High Point Trail est un sentier en boucle de 11,8 km modérément fréquenté situé près du canton de Montague, dans le New Jersey. Il présente de belles fleurs sauvages et est classé comme modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, les excursions dans la nature et l'observation des oiseaux. Il est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 11.8 miles Dénivelé: 1,551 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

Cette boucle vous emmène à travers de superbes forêts de Hemlocks, de Beach, de Chêne, de Sucre, d'Erables rouges et de Bouleaux. Le long des sentiers Howell, Cartwright et Criss, vous longerez de nombreuses criques. Tout comme les Flatbrook, Criss, Forked et Parker Brooks, cette randonnée est très pittoresque, en particulier avec le feuillage. Vous traverserez également un ruisseau de truite sauvage, le Parker Brook. Le long de la boucle, vous arriverez à un superbe point de vue sur Stokes, High Point et les Poconos. Dans les vallées, vous découvrez également d'anciennes fondations en pierre provenant de fermes qui exploitaient autrefois la terre. Il y a un puits asséché le long du sentier Cartwright et de nombreuses sources le long du sentier Howell. Le long du Flatbrook se trouve une ancienne fondation d'un moulin à farine.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
hors piste
propriété privée
5 months ago

Divers ensembles de biomes couverts dans ce sentier, notamment les marais de basse altitude, les rivières, les pentes rocheuses et le sentier des Appalaches. Malheureusement, il semble y avoir quelques tronçons désuets sur la route, là où techniquement, les sentiers n'existent plus. Plus souvent que souhaité, vous tomberez sur une propriété louée, en particulier au milieu de la randonnée. Attendez-vous à faire du bushwacking de temps en temps avant d’atteindre le "point jaune" en direction de "swenson" et de l’AT. Le GPS vous conduira également dans les sections suivantes de Swenson. Tous ensemble une bonne randonnée. Difficile à certains moments mais très enrichissant une fois terminé.

randonnée
6 months ago

beaucoup de changements à cet enregistrement original. Je recommanderais alternativement de faire de la randonnée sur le sentier bleu. toujours une sortie amusante. si vous suivez l'enregistrement original, lorsque vous parvenez à la randonnée le long de la rivière, je vous conseillerais de randonner du côté opposé (sur le sentier bleu) à celui indiqué par l'application.

Fri May 25 2018

Juste fait une randonnée à moitié mais j'ai adoré le sentier. Pas une autre âme sur la piste en 4 heures!

randonnée
Sat Oct 28 2017

D'accord avec les commentaires de Kshitish. Je me suis retrouvé à plusieurs reprises sur le sentier - le nouveau sentier de 15 milles doit être mieux balisé. La première partie du sentier que j'ai parcourue était magnifique, mais il y avait des traces d'activité d'ours. Mais une fois que ce sentier a pris la route, j'ai complètement perdu la trace de l'endroit où je devais aller. Il me semble également étrange de choisir d’utiliser des points bleus alors qu’un sentier appalachien de points bleus s’y relie. Ne suivez pas ma trace!

randonnée
Tue Jul 05 2016

Cette piste n’a pas été téléchargée récemment ici et la nouvelle piste bleue a une longueur de 15 miles, contrairement à la piste précédemment téléchargée. Nous avons un peu perdu notre chemin et nous nous sommes retrouvés sur le sentier des Dorsales des Appalaches. Nous avons fini par aller et venir au lieu de faire une boucle à cause de cela et avec beaucoup moins de miles, juste un peu moins de 13. Le terrain est moyennement accidenté et, bien que l’altitude ne soit pas un problème pour les randonneurs habituels, la combinaison de miles, les changements d'altitude et le terrain rocheux typique du nord-est sous vos pieds vous permettront de réaliser les 15 kilomètres complets de ce magnifique sentier. Il peut devenir très solitaire car il ne semble pas être un sentier très populaire.

randonnée
1 month ago

Randonnées populaires

Parker Loop High Point Trail

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(10)
High Point State Park

Parker Loop High Point Trail is a 19.0 kilometer moderately trafficked loop trail located near Montague Township, New Jersey that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 19.0 km Elevation Gain: 473 m Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

views

wild flowers

This loop takes you through some great forest of Hemlocks, Beach, Oak, Sugar, Red Maples, and Birch trees. Along the Howell, Cartwright, and Criss trails you go along many creeks. Like the Flatbrook, Criss, Forked and Parker Brooks, making for a very scenic hike, especially with the Foliage. You will also cross over a wild Trout Stream, the Parker Brook. Along the loop you come to one great viewpoint overlooking Stokes, High Point and the Poconos. Down in the Valleys you also come to old stone foundations from farms that once worked the land. There is a dried-up well along the Cartwright Trail and many springs along the Howell trail. Along the Flatbrook there is an old foundation from a Grist Mill.

hiking
23 days ago

What a great hike! We saw the gamut of wildlife including newts, deer, a bald eagle, and even a black bear. We went counterclockwise and did have some trouble finding the trail near the sawmill campground- ended up bushwacking up to the road. Despite two maps saying otherwise, I think the green trail is on the 'other' side of the river from where we were. Also, alltrails clocked in at 14.3, which seems disproportionately greater than the 11.8 cited on the original map. Still easily worth all the pain.

Second time doing this trail! I would absolutely recommend doing the same! The first two miles (coming in from the road) are a bit dry as there’s not a lot of scenery aside from trees and leaves, but then you hit the river and you have a full mile of on the water scenery that you walk parallel with. It is truly stunning and a beautiful cool down as you’re hiking! Then you pass some old farm scenery before hitting the next crossroads at mile 4! Gorgeous day!

hiking
flooded
muddy
off trail
rocky
1 month ago

Not much scenery in the beginning. The river just off the first blue dot trail was beautiful though. Cold and damp conditions. Be cautious of the mud and puddles.

hiking
off trail
over grown
private property
Mon May 27 2019

Diverse set of biomes covered in this trail, including low land marshes, rivers, rocky inclines, and the Appalachian trail. Unfortunately, route seems to have a few outdated sections where trails don't technically exist anymore. More often than preferred will stumble upon rented property, especially midway through the hike. Expect bushwacking occasionally before reaching "yellow dot" trail toward "swenson" and the AT. GPS will lead you off the trail in later sections of Swenson as well. All together a good hike. Challenging at points but very fulfilling once completed.

hiking
Sun Apr 21 2019

lots of changes to this original recording. I would recommend alternatively to hike the blue trail. still a fun outing. if you do follow the original recording, when you get to the hike along the river I would recommend hiking the opposite side (on blue trail) than the app says.

Fri May 25 2018

Just hiked half but loved the trail. Not another soul on the trail in 4 hours!

hiking
Sat Oct 28 2017

Agree with Kshitish's comments. I got way way off trail a few times - the new 15 mile trail needs to be marked better. The first part of the trail I covered was beautiful, there was some evidence of bear activity however. But once that trail hit the road I completely lost track of where I was supposed to go. It also seems strange to me to choose to use blue dots while there is a blue dot Appalachian trail that connects to this. Don't follow my track!

hiking
Tue Jul 05 2016

This trail has no recent uploads here and the new blue trail is 15 miles long unlike the prior uploaded track. We got off trail quite a bit and ended up on the Appalachian backbone trail. We ended up doing a in and out instead of a loop due to that and with significantly less miles, just under 13. The terrain is moderately rugged and while the elevation is not something most regular hikers will worry much about, the combination of miles, changes in elevation and the typical northeast rocky terrain under your feet will make you realize the full 15 miles of this beautiful trail. It can get very lonely as it does not appear to be a very popular trail.

hiking
7 months ago