Daniel Webster Trail

SCHWER 13 Bewertungen

Der Daniel Webster Trail ist ein 8 km langer, leicht begehbarer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Gorham, New Hampshire, der malerische Aussicht bietet und als schwierig eingestuft wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich für Wanderungen, Naturausflüge und Schneeschuhwanderungen genutzt und wird am besten von April bis November genutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Entfernung: 8.0 miles Höhenunterschied: 4,593 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

angeleinte Hunde

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Schneeschuhwandern

Aussicht

Schnee

kein Schatten

wandern
4 months ago

Solo-Wanderung 7/3. Geparkt auf dem Dolly Copp Campground. Biegen Sie bei RT 16 in den Campingplatz ein und dann zuerst links. Gehen Sie den ganzen Weg bis zum Parkplatz neben dem wirklich hübschen Holzkunstwerk. Hat die Spur von Daniel Webster genommen. Die erste Viertelmeile ist wegen der Sprengungen schwierig. Ansonsten ist der Weg gut gepflegt. Nach 5 km begeben Sie sich auf den Gulfside Trail zum Gipfel des Berges. Madison. Schöne Aussicht über Baumgrenze. Bis zum Gipfel sind es ungefähr 6 km. Ich fuhr dann weiter auf dem Gulfside Trail zur Madison Spring Hut. Bringen Sie Dollarnoten mit, wenn Sie Leckereien und Getränke kaufen möchten. Ansonsten ist es ein guter Ort, um mehr Wasser zu bekommen. Dann nahm ich den Star Lake Trail zum Mt. Adam's. Dies ist eine herausfordernde, aber unterhaltsame Strecke. Dann nahm ich den Lowes Path zum Gulfside Trail, wo ich meinen Knöchel in ein Loch rollte. Die restlichen fünf Stunden waren eine Herausforderung. Ich habe mich mit dem Edmond Col Cutoff verbunden, einem weiteren herausfordernden Trail, insbesondere mit einem verstauchten Knöchel. Dies war ein Teil aller Trails, auf denen noch Schnee lag. Ich nahm dann den Six Husbands Trail, der die größte Herausforderung darstellte. Es gab vier Leitern auf diesem Abschnitt und es war sehr steil. Ich gehe lieber diesen Pfad hinunter als hinauf. Dieser Weg verband sich dann mit dem Great Gulf Trail, der mich zurück zum Campingplatz brachte. Es war nur ein 12-Stunden-Tag, weil ich 5 Stunden für die letzten fünf Meilen gebraucht habe. Viele Felsen und ein paar Stellen, an denen der Weg nicht so offensichtlich war, aber ich mochte die Wanderung trotzdem. Eine angemessene Anzahl von Sprengungen auf dem Great Gulf Trail, sodass Sie langsamer werden. Viel Wasser in tieferen Lagen, aber nur wenig oberhalb der Baumgrenze, außer bei der Hütte. Und Sie werden für einige Zeit über der Baumgrenze sein, nehmen Sie also etwas Wasser mit. Die AllTrails-Karte zeigt, dass dies eine Wanderung von 12 bis 13 Meilen ist. Mein Fitbit zeigte 42.000 Schritte, erwarten Sie also ein großartiges Training. Der Tag war wunderschön und es waren nicht so viele Leute auf den Trails. Empfehlen Sie diese Wanderung.

Sun Sep 16 2018

Neben Huntington Ravine, unserem nächsten Lieblingsweg. Wegen der jüngsten Stürme gab es mehrere Baumstämme zum Navigieren, die erste Viertelmeile oder so. Aber danach sauber segeln. Und wenn Sie einmal zwischen den Bäumen sind, haben Sie einen herrlichen Blick auf die Umgebung. Aber nicht extrem schwierig.

wandern
Sat Aug 04 2018

Auf jeden Fall ein harter Weg. Auf der anderen Seite des Wegs waren viele niedergestürzte Bäume, als wir uns auf den Weg machten. Die letzte Meile verlief über einem exponierten, offenen Boulderfeld, was äußerst herausfordernd war. Alles in allem war es eine schöne Wanderung, aber wir waren nicht so vorbereitet, wie wir es uns hätten tun sollen.

Fri Aug 21 2015

Tolle Wanderung

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

wandern
Sun Oct 14 2018

wandern
Sat Sep 22 2018

wandern
Fri Aug 03 2018

Tue Apr 17 2018

wandern
Sun Oct 22 2017

Empfohlene Routen

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Daniel Webster Trail is a 8 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Gorham, New Hampshire that offers scenic views and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, nature trips, and snowshoeing and is best used from April until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 8.0 mi Elevation gain 4,593 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Hiking

Nature trips

Snowshoeing

Views

Snow

No shade

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (16)
Photos (247)
Recordings (17)
Completed (41)
Danielle Pungitore
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jul 10 2020
HikingRocky

Pretty good hike, nice view at the top. Tough because of the elevation, but the path was pretty clear and easy enough to climb. A little slippery going down, but not bad.

View Danielle's Recording
Angela DiPesa
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 06 2020
HikingBugsScramble
View Angela's Recording
Jonathan B.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jun 22 2020
HikingBugsRocky

Hiked from Dolly Copp CG up to where it links with the AT on Mount Madison. Pretty easy hike for the first few miles, nothing too crazy. Elevation gets steeper as the treeline thins. Some great views. Last 800 meters seemed to hold the final 1,000 feet of elevation. Challenging for a novice hiker such as myself, but definitely worth it. Take it slow and steady up the boulder field. Amazing views at the top, even with the bugs.

Ron Tebbetts
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 22 2019
Hiking

Solo hike 7/3. Parked at the Dolly Copp Campground. Turn into campground off RT 16 and then first left. Go all the way to the end to the parking lot next to the really neat timber artwork. Took the Daniel Webster trail. The first quarter mile is difficult because of the blowdowns. Otherwise the trail is well maintained. After 3.1 miles, move to the Gulfside Trail to the summit of Mt. Madison. Beautiful views above treeline. It's about 4 miles to the summit. I then continued on the Gulfside Trail to the Madison Spring Hut. Bring dollar bills if you want to buy treats and drinks. Otherwise it's a good place to get more water. I then took the Star Lake Trail to Mt Adam's. This is a challenging but fun trail. I then took the Lowes Path down to the Gulfside Trail where I rolled my ankle in a hole. The remaining five hours was a challenge. I connected to the Edmond Col Cutoff which is another challenging trail especially with a sprained ankle. This was a portion of all trails where snow was still present. I then took the Six Husbands Trail which was the most challenging section. There were four ladders on this section and it was very steep. I'd rather go down this trail than up. This trail then connected with the Great Gulf Trail which brought me back to the campground. It was a 12 hour day only because the last five miles took me 5 hours. Lots of rocks and a couple of places where the trail wasn't that obvious, but I loved the hike nonetheless. Fair number of blowdowns on the Great Gulf Trail so it will slow you down. Plenty of water at lower elevations but only a little above treeline except at the hut. And you will be above treeline for some time so carry some water with you. The AllTrails map shows this to be a 12-13 mile hike. My Fitbit showed 42,000 steps so expect a great workout. The day was beautiful and there weren't that many people on the trails. Recommend this hike.

Rick Ross
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Sep 16 2018

Next to Huntington Ravine, our next favorite trail. Because of the recent storms there were several down trees to navigate around, the first quarter mile or so. But after that, clean sailing. And once you are out of the trees, there are some great views of the surrounding area. But not extremely difficult.

Adam Miller
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Aug 04 2018
Hiking

Definitely a hard trail. There were a lot of downed trees across the trail as we made our way up. The final mile or so was across an exposed, open boulder field, which was extremely challenging. All in all, it was a fun hike, but we weren't as prepared as we should've been.

Dennis Haug
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Aug 21 2015

Great hike

Jean-Nic Caron
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Oct 19 2019
Hiking
View Jean-Nic's Recording
Rolandas Miseikis
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Aug 15 2019
Hiking
View Rolandas's Recording
Ryan McGowan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Aug 11 2019
Hiking
View Ryan's Recording
Takayuki Shirasaka
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jun 29 2019
Hiking
View Takayuki's Recording
Lee Cullivan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Oct 14 2018
Hiking
View Lee's Recording
Kevin M
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Sep 22 2018
Hiking
View Kevin's Recording
Rob Boulanger
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Aug 03 2018
Hiking
View Rob's Recording
Samuel Morse
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Apr 17 2018
adam araujo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Oct 22 2017
Hiking
View adam's Recording