Sentier Saint-Thomas

INTERMÉDIAIRE 26 avis
N°12 sur 33 randonnées à

St. Thomas Trail est un circuit en boucle de 3 km situé près d'Overton, dans le Nevada, classé modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et les chevaux et il vaut mieux l’utiliser de septembre à mai. Les chiens et les chevaux peuvent également utiliser ce sentier.

DISTANCE
2.0 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
9 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

chiens bienvenus

convient aux enfants

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

boueux

rocheux

St. Thomas a émergé des profondeurs du lac Mead en raison du niveau d'eau décroissant, causé par la grave sécheresse sur plusieurs années du sud-ouest. L'un des rares points lumineux de la pénurie d'eau, St. Thomas est sous l'eau depuis 65 ans, depuis la construction du barrage Hoover Dam et la création du lac Mead. St. Thomas a été colonisée par les Mormons en 1865, puis abandonnée puis réinstallée en 1880. Le recensement américain de 1930 indiquait que la population de St. Thomas était de 274 habitants. , dont les habitants ont pour la plupart déménagé à Logandale-Overton lorsque l’eau a recouvert leur ville. Il existe de nombreuses informations sur St. Thomas sur Internet et dans les publications locales. Le sentier est rapidement amélioré. Il est dangereux de porter des pantalons ou des manches courtes car les tamaris sont denses et brutaux sur une peau nue.

randonnée
boueux
pas d’ombre
rocheux
5 days ago

Grand chien de piste amical excellent pour les débutants ne recommande pas en été zéro

randonnée
16 days ago

C'est incroyable de se promener et de voir cette vieille ville, on a aussi vu des chevaux sauvages au loin!

randonnée
2 months ago

Randonnée facile. Plutôt plat, sauf au début du sentier. Inégal et sablonneux par endroits, mais bon pour les enfants et les chiens. 2,5 miles. Nous y sommes allés en décembre. La température était bonne mais le vent y mordait et j'étais donc reconnaissant de m'être souvenu d'une veste. J'ai adoré les panneaux qui expliquent l'histoire de la ville et identifient les structures qui restent. Ce fut une bonne et agréable leçon d'histoire.

randonnée
3 months ago

Le mois de novembre était idéal pour les journées ensoleillées, une belle promenade et de nombreux panneaux / cartes vous racontant l’histoire de la ville.

randonnée
11 months ago

Le sentier est considéré comme modéré, mais je le considère plus comme un sentier facile. C'est court et la piste elle-même est assez lisse. J'irais le matin ou pendant les mois les plus froids; prenez juste beaucoup d’eau et d’écran solaire. La route menant au début du sentier est étroite dans certaines parties où vous ne pouvez pas voir les virages.

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Le sentier est ouvert et très agréable. Très cool à voir. Tamarix envahit le sentier d'Overton qui descend la rivière

randonnée
Monday, November 27, 2017

Fais tes devoirs. Recherchez en ligne l'histoire de cette ville avant de partir. Obtenez une carte qui montre l'emplacement des bâtiments et de chaque bâtiment. En parcourant cette ville fantôme à l'aide d'une carte, vous pouvez avoir une bonne idée de ce à quoi la ville doit ressembler. Une belle escapade.

Monday, May 01, 2017

Intéressant et facile. Randonnée à la rivière boueuse pour le plaisir.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Cooll petite ville fantôme. Ne faites pas de randonnée en été, il n'y a aucune ombre. Je dirais que c'est une randonnée facile, c'est environ 3 miles avec 85 pieds de dénivelé. Peasy facile.

Thursday, March 02, 2017

Marche super facile. De beaux espaces ouverts et calmes.

randonnée
Thursday, November 08, 2012

Je viens de faire cette randonnée le 2 novembre lorsque la température était basse, 80. (Je n'essaierais pas cette randonnée en été) C'était spectaculaire! La randonnée était facile, le paysage magnifique. Les ruines étaient très intéressantes. Les gens ont découvert plusieurs artefacts. La meilleure partie était la solitude. De ma vie, je n'ai jamais été à des kilomètres de la civilisation avec un seul autre être humain. Le calme était presque une expérience religieuse ... Les seuls bruits étaient des sauterelles, des oiseaux et un avion occasionnel. Oh, et bien sûr mon téléphone portable (meilleur signal que dans les hôtels du Strip de Vegas!). Mais éteignez votre téléphone portable et communiquez avec la nature! C'est très apaisant et nettoyant. Fera certainement cette randonnée à nouveau!

randonnée
9 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

randonnée
10 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

Thursday, February 22, 2018

a enregistré walk about

randonnée
Sunday, January 07, 2018

randonnée
Saturday, October 14, 2017

randonnée
Monday, September 11, 2017

a enregistré st thomas

randonnée
Saturday, September 09, 2017

Charger plus

St. Thomas Trail is a 2 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Overton, Nevada that offers the chance to see wildlife and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking and horses and is best used from September until May. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 2.0 miles Elevation Gain: 16 feet Route Type: Loop

dog friendly

kid friendly

hiking

horseback riding

views

wildlife

muddy

rocky

closed

no shade

historic site

This trail is experiencing full or partial closure due to COVID-19. Please see the open trails nearby for alternate hiking options. St. Thomas has emerged from the depths of Lake Mead due to the decreasing water level, which is caused by the severe multi-year drought in the southwest. One of the few bright spots to appear from the critical water shortage, St. Thomas has been underwater for 65 years, since Hoover Dam was completed, and Lake Mead was created. St. Thomas was settled by Mormons in 1865, abandoned, then re-settled in 1880. The 1930 U.S. Census listed St. Thomas' population at 274. This small agricultural community never had electricity or running water, but was a tight-knit group, whose inhabitants mostly relocated to Logandale-Overton when the water covered their town. There is much information available about St. Thomas on the internet, and in local publications. The trail is being rapidly improved. It's a dangerous proposition to wear short pants or sleeves since the tamarisks are dense and brutal on bare skin.

hiking
2 months ago

Started hike from Northshore Road because Road was closed. Didn’t make it to the trailhead because it was muddy & no shade (had a small dog with me). Next time.

easy trail for the whole family. great for kids who want to run.

hiking
no shade
rocky
washed out
5 months ago

Very intriguing hike. Who knew this even existed? For pictures and videos of this trail and many more, follow my Instagram @Nathan_vanengen

hiking
6 months ago

super easy and flat as a pancake after a short descent at the beginning of the trail. Interesting to learn about the history and layout of the old town flooded after the Hoover dam and re-emerged with the drought, though there's not much left.

hiking
bugs
Mon Apr 29 2019

beautiful but full of little bugs

hiking
Sat Apr 06 2019

I would recommend this for a dy trip and site seeing. easy dirt road and a small hike.

hiking
muddy
no shade
rocky
Wed Mar 13 2019

Great trail dog friendly excellent for beginners would not recommend in summer zero shade

hiking
Sat Mar 02 2019

It’s incredible to walk through and see this old town, we also saw wild horses in the distance!

hiking
Sun Dec 30 2018

Easy hike. Mostly flat other than at the trailhead. Uneven and sandy in places, but fine for children and dogs. 2.5 miles. We went in December. The temperature was good but the wind had a bite to it and so I was grateful I had remembered a jacket. Loved the signs that have been posted that explain the history of the town and identify the structures that remain. It was a good and enjoyable history lesson.

hiking
Wed Nov 28 2018

November was perfect for temps, nice walk and plenty of signs/maps telling you about the towns history.

hiking
Tue Apr 10 2018

The trail is rated as moderate but I consider it more of an easy trail. It's short and the trail itself is pretty smooth. I would go in the morning or during cooler months; just take plenty of water and sunscreen. The road to the trailhead is narrow in some parts where you cannot see around the curves, so go slow.

Sat Dec 30 2017

Trail is open and very nice. Very cool to see. The Overton trail down the river is overgrown with Tamarix

hiking
Mon Nov 27 2017

Do your homework. Research the history of this town online before going. Get a map that shows the location of the buildings and of which each building was. As you walk through this Ghost Town with the aid of a map, you can get a pretty good idea just what the town must have looked like. A nice getaway.

Mon May 01 2017

Interesting and easy. Hiked down to the Muddy River for fun.

Wed Mar 29 2017

Cooll little ghost town. Don't hike it in the summer there is zero shade. I would rate this as an easy hike it's about 3 miles with 85 ft of elevation change. Easy peasy.

Thu Mar 02 2017

Super easy walk. Beautiful, quiet open spaces.

hiking
Thu Nov 08 2012

Just did this hike on Nov 2 when temp was low 80s. (I would not attempt this hike in the summer) It was spectacular! The hike was easy, scenery beautiful. The ruins were very interesting. There are several artifacts that people have uncovered. The best part was the solitude. I have never in my life been miles away from civilization with only one other human being. The quiet was almost a religious experience.... The only sounds were grasshoppers, birds and an occasional plane. Oh and then of course my cell phone (better signal there than in the hotels on the Vegas strip!) But turn your cell phone off and commune with nature! It's very calming and cleansing. Will definitely do this hike again!

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

recorded St. Thomas Trail

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

Showing results 1 - 26 of 45