Bonanza Peak via Spring Mountain Divide Trail

DIFFICILE 37 avis
N°31 sur 104 randonnées à

Bonanza Peak via Spring Mountain Divide Trail est un sentier modérément fréquenté situé à Indian Springs, dans le Nevada, qui présente de belles fleurs sauvages et qui est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la course sur sentier et les chevaux. Il convient de l’utiliser de mars à novembre. Les chiens et les chevaux peuvent également utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 7.9 miles Dénivelé: 3,179 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

course à pied

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

rocheux

Au lieu de faire de l'équitation / de la randonnée depuis les étangs inférieurs (bondés le week-end), essayez Willow Springs, le col Wheeler, Mud Springs, le sentier Buck Naked ou le sentier Bonanza. Très fréquenté par des chevaux sauvages, des wapitis et des cerfs; Il est extrêmement important de respecter ces animaux et leur précieux habitat. Vous devez être un randonneur autonome dans le désert, préparé aux situations d’urgence - il se peut que cela prenne des jours ou des semaines avant de voir un autre randonneur. Les collines qui montent jusqu'au pic de Bonanza sont couvertes de fleurs sauvages ou de pins. Il y a soi-disant 80 lacets sur cette piste. Cette ascension est moins fatigante que les pistes North Loop ou South Loop. Charleston; mais ce n'est pas une randonnée pour débutants. Il y a un journal à signer au sommet, qui est un "chemin caché" du sentier principal. Randonnée sèche, emporter beaucoup d'eau.

randonnée
26 days ago

Définitivement senti comme plus de 87 lacets! Tout au long de la route, vous sentirez la brûlure et d’autres! Le sentier est facile à suivre, de belles vues, vous pouvez voir Pahrump une fois sur la selle. Emportez un lunch et portez de bonnes chaussures et chaussettes. Les chevaux sauvages et les cerfs sont partout dans cette région. Le service est intermittent.

randonnée
2 months ago

Grande escapade de la chaleur de Vegas. Les lacets vous feront sentir la brûlure, mais les vues sont assez impressionnantes à la montée. Le pic lui-même est couvert de pins, nous gravissons donc les pics rocheux juste au nord du sommet. Il y a une clairière à environ 100 mètres du début du sentier où vous pouvez camper. Il y a juste un anneau de feu mais pas d'autres commodités. Chaque fois que nous avons campé, il n'y avait pas d'autre sur la montagne. Isolement génial.

randonnée
4 months ago

J'ai une Hyundai Elantra, alors j'ai garé ma voiture au début de la route de gravier et je suis allée au début du sentier. si vous faites cela, il vous faudra 4 km pour votre randonnée aller-retour… et au moins une heure et demie

randonnée
4 months ago

Grand sentier. Il semblait un peu plus long que 8 miles. Partis à 7h du matin et finis à 12h30 avec de nombreuses pauses et un arrêt en haut. Plus de neige dans le sentier. La route de gravier pour y arriver est assez rugueuse, alors assurez-vous que la voiture que vous prenez a un dégagement plus élevé.

neige
5 months ago

Il y a pas mal de neige sur le sentier. J'ai dû faire demi-tour à 2,3 km parce que je ne pouvais pas trouver le sentier.

randonnée
neige
5 months ago

Il a fallu faire demi-tour au point situé à environ 1,6 km, car le sentier était indiscernable sous la neige.

randonnée
Sun Sep 23 2018

La route vers le sentier (de Vegas) est un peu plus longue que d’autres randonnées sur le mont. Charleston. Une fois arrivé à Cold Creek, la route devient gravier. Je n'essaierais pas de faire ce trajet dans une voiture. Nous avons un sport Outback Subaru Impreza et nous étions en train de grimper à certains endroits. Si vous n'avez pas l'autorisation, vous pouvez vous centrer plus haut. Camion ou VUS recommandé. La randonnée elle-même est magnifique. Une vue imprenable sur la montée. Beaucoup de lacets. Bonne quantité d'ombre. Nous étions les seuls randonneurs sur le sentier ce jour-là, alors je voudrais que vous recherchiez une randonnée isolée, essayez celle-ci. La dernière personne à avoir signé le livre au sommet était là 4 jours avant nous. Apportez beaucoup d'eau et assurez-vous que vous utilisez la salle de bain d'une station-service au 95. Il n'y a pas de services à Cold Creek. Randonnée ressemble plus à 9 miles plutôt que le 7.9 indiqué.

Sun Sep 03 2017

Très pittoresque, avec un nombre surprenant de points de vue tout au long du sentier, compte tenu de la richesse de sa forêt. Bien connu pour ses lacets, mais rien ne peut être surmonté en le prenant lentement et régulièrement. Pas particulièrement difficile de trouver le détour pour quitter le sentier Divide et atteindre le sommet. Certainement une randonnée recommandée!

randonnée
Mon May 22 2017

La randonnée du 18 mai et, à ma grande surprise, il restait encore beaucoup de glace sur le sentier, en particulier dans la partie supérieure, où il y avait plus d'ombre dans les bois. C'est une randonnée raide avec de belles perspectives mais pas vraiment difficile à faire. Je recommande d'attendre la fin de juin pour que la glace fonde ou pour essayer la route du sud

randonnée
Wed Oct 19 2016

Grande randonnée! Offre de belles vues panoramiques sur les côtés est et ouest des montagnes de printemps!

randonnée
Wed Oct 05 2016

Ce fut une journée de randonnée fantastique. Beaucoup d'animaux sauvages. Très isolée. Couverture cellulaire sur le parking et au sommet. Rien en cours de route.

randonnée
Sun Sep 04 2016

Vues panoramiques et bons endroits pour camper. Cette randonnée est un must pour quiconque aime se sentir accompli.

randonnée
Thu Jun 11 2015

C'était un tueur.

randonnée
Tue Nov 20 2012

Le sentier ne va pas vraiment au sommet. (Le sentier vous ramènera finalement à Lee Canyon où il croise le sentier Bristlecone, environ 20 milles). À partir du début du sentier Bonanza Trail à Cold Creek, suivez le chemin évident jusqu'à la selle au sommet de la crête. De la selle, en regardant vers l'ouest dans la vallée, se trouve Pahrunp NV. On aura l'impression qu'il y a eu 50 lacets. Je ne connais pas le nombre exact, mais il y en a beaucoup. Une fois que vous avez atteint la selle, tournez à gauche (sud) et vous verrez à nouveau le sentier très évident qui se dirige vers une zone boisée. Restez sur le sentier, en montant en majeure partie en lacets doux. Chaque lacune que vous rencontrez mènera à un sentier ascendant. Lorsque vous arrivez à la première lacune qui est très clairement descendante, reculez de 10 mètres et cherchez un cairn sur le haut côté du sentier (à votre droite si vous vous êtes retourné avant d’afficher les lacets descendant). Ne suivez PAS le sentier qui descend. Quittez le sentier au cairn et montez en traversant tout le pays jusqu'à la ligne de crête et finalement au sommet. Cela ne devrait pas prendre plus de 10 minutes pour atteindre le sommet d'où vous avez quitté le sentier.

randonnée
Wed May 09 2012

Ce fut une randonnée spectaculaire. Mon mari et moi avons pris cette randonnée en juin 2006, le temps était parfait. Etre si près des chevaux sauvages était incroyable et c’était aussi un couple de bébés chevaux. Il y avait encore un peu de neige en haut. Belle vue, on pouvait entendre le vent qui approchait et étaient au-dessus des oiseaux qui volent autour.Aimerait faire cette randonnée à nouveau. Nous sommes de Géorgie, donc si nous nous en sortons de nouveau, c’est tout à fait à faire.

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
Wed Sep 05 2018

randonnée
Sun Sep 02 2018

randonnée sac-à-dos
Sat Jul 21 2018

Thu Jun 14 2018

randonnée
Mon Apr 09 2018

randonnée
Mon Sep 04 2017

randonnée
Sat Jun 03 2017

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Bonanza Peak via Spring Mountain Divide Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(61)
Toiyabe National Forest

Bonanza Peak via Spring Mountain Divide Trail is a 7.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Indian Springs, Nevada that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, trail running, and horses and is best used from March until November. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

Length 7.9 mi Elevation gain 3,179 ft Route type Out & Back

Dog friendly

Hiking

Horseback riding

Running

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Rocky

Description
Waypoints (0)
Contact
Getting There

Instead of riding/hiking from the lower ponds (crowded on weekends), try Willow Springs, Wheeler Pass, Mud Springs, Buck Naked trail, or Bonanza Trail. Heavily frequented by wild horses, elk and deer; it is extremely important to respect these animals and their precious habitat. You must be a self-sufficient desert hiker, prepared for emergencies -- it could easily be days or weeks before you see another hiker. The hills up to Bonanza Peak are covered with either wildflowers or pine trees. There are supposedly 80 switchbacks on this trail. This climb is less strenuous than either the North or South Loop trails in Mt. Charleston; but it's not a beginner's hike. There is a log book to sign at the peak, which is off a "hidden path" from the main trail. Dry hike, pack lots of water.

USFS - Humboldt-Toiyabe NF Spring Mtns NRA (702) 515-5400 emerg (702) 872-5306

I-95 N from Las Vegas, continue past SR 157 (Mt. Charleston-Kyle Canyon) and SR 156 (Lee Canyon), and head as if driving to Indian Springs. Look for small green sign on the freeway for Cold Creek (approx. 5 miles past Lee Canyon Ski Area turnoff), turn off freeway here and drive up the mountain past the prisons (State, Federal, work camps) toward the town of Cold Creek (approx. 15 miles). Continue driving (slowly -- look out for wild horses on & along road) until you reach the end of pavement on main road. Drive up the gravel 4WD road towards Camp Bonanza approx. 2 1/2 miles until it ends into the parking area. There is no gas, phones, or services of any type in the town of Cold Creek -- be sure you are prepared. Only pull your horse trailer part of the way to Camp Bonanza, pull off to the L on one of the dirt roads and park/unload horses there (limited pkg/turn around at trailhead). The walk-in campground is up the hill, AWAY from the trailhead in pkg area.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (61)
Photos (106)
Recordings (50)
Completed (115)
Megan Kock
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Jul 09 2020
HikingRockyScramble

Hard hike but make sure when you leave the top you keep to the trail and stay to the right. Easy to get lost.

View Megan's Recording
Henry Chyung
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Jun 03 2020

Although the trail did not seem overly steep/challenging, it still took me four hours and forty minutes to complete the hike. Even though I was feeling sluggish today, the trail definitely seemed longer than 7.9 miles. As a reference point, I hiked Raintree Trail (5.3 miles and over 1,800 foot climb) last week in two hours and twenty minutes (half the time). I would also add that Raintree Trail was more difficult. Anyway, this is a fantastic hike with really nice views. Next time I'll definitely use bug spray (lots of gnats). The two mile dirt road approaching the trailhead was pretty rough on my car but it's doable.

Johanna Twiford
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed Apr 29 2020
HikingSnow
View Johanna's Recording
Joseph Crowell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Apr 24 2020
HikingBlowdownSnow

Well defined snow free trail for the first 1.3 miles - beyond that the trail is concealed. Snow is soft in the afternoon.

View Joseph's Recording
Joseph Crowell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Apr 02 2020
HikingIcySnow

Still a little too early (April 2, 2020) unless you have snow shoes. Snow starts at the trailhead and gets progressively deeper. Only made it about half way, turned back due to waist deep snow.

View Joseph's Recording
Brian Jolly
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Oct 24 2019
Hiking

Definetely felt like more than 87 switchbacks! Pretty much up hill the whole way, you will feel the burn and then some! Trail is easy followable, beautiful views, you can see Pahrump once up on the saddle. Pack a lunch and wear good shoes and socks. Wild horses and deer are all over this area. Service is intermittent.

Tommy AK
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Aug 28 2019
Hiking

Great getaway from the Vegas heat. The switchbacks will make you feel the burn, but the views are pretty awesome on the way up. The peak itself is covered in Pines, so we climb up the rocky peaks just north of the summit. There is a clearing about 100 yards from the trailhead where you can camp. There is just a fire ring but no other amenities. Each time we've camped, there was no else on the mountain. Awesome isolation.

Todd Mackiewicz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Jul 20 2019
Hiking

I have a Hyundai Elantra so I parked my car at the beginning of the gravel road and walked to the trailhead. if you do this it will add 4 miles to your hike up and back....and at least 1.5hrs

Tara Weber
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jun 29 2019
Hiking

Great trail. It seemed a little longer than 8 miles. Left at 7am and finished by 12:30 with many breaks and a stop at the top. No more snow in the trail. The gravel road to get there is pretty rough, so make sure the car you take has a higher clearance.

Paul kuvelis
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jun 07 2019
Snow

The trail has quite a bit of snow on it. I had to turn around at the 2.3 mile mark due to not being able to find the trail.

James Carfagno
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMon May 27 2019
HikingSnow

Had to turn around at about the 1.6 mile point, as the trail was undiscernable beneath the snow.

View James's Recording
Morrie Low
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Sep 23 2018
Hiking

The drive to the trailhead(from Vegas) is a little longer than other hikes on Mt. Charleston. Once you get to Cold Creek, the road changes to gravel. I wouldn’t try to make this drive in a car. We have a Subaru Impreza outback sport and we were scraping in some places. If you don’t have the clearance you could high center. Truck or SUV recommended. The hike itself is wonderful. Amazing views on the way up. Lots of switchbacks. Good amount of shade. We were the only hikers on the trail that day, so I’d you’re looking for a secluded hike, give this one a shot. The last person to sign the book at the summit was there 4 days before us. Bring lots of water and make sure you use the bathroom at a gas station on the 95. There are no services in cold creek. Hike is more like 9 miles rather than the stated 7.9.

H Andress
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 03 2017

Very scenic, with a surprising amount of lookout points all along the trail considering how well-forested it is. Well known for its switchbacks, but nothing that can't be overcome by taking it slow and steady. Not particularly difficult to find the turn-off to leave the Divide Trail and reach the peak. Definitely a recommended hike!

Christian Fox
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon May 22 2017
Hiking

Did the hike on the 18th of May and to my surprise there was still a lot of ice on the trail especially in the upper part where there is more shadow in the woods. It is a steep hike with some beautiful outlooks but not really hard to go. I recommend waiting until the end of June for the ice to melt or try the southern route.

Jeffrey M.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Oct 19 2016
Hiking

Great Hike! Offers good scenic views of both the East and West sides of the Spring Mountains!

Johnny Volonino
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Oct 05 2016
Hiking

This was a fantastic day hike. Lots of wildlife. Very secluded. Cell coverage at the parking lot and the summit. Nothing along the way.

Ryan Conger
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 04 2016
Hiking

Panoramic views and great spots to camp. This hike is a must for anyone who likes to feel accomplished.

Zach England
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Jun 11 2015
Hiking

It was killer.

Vegas Hiker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Nov 20 2012
Hiking

The trail does not actually go to the summit. (The trail will eventually take you back to Lee Canyon where it intersects with the Bristlecone Trail, about 20 miles). From the Bonanza Trail trailhead in Cold Creek, follow the obvious trail up to the saddle at the top of the ridge. From the saddle, looking west into the valley below will be Pahrunp NV. It will feel like there were 50 switchbacks. I don't know the exact number, but there are a lot of them. Once you attain the saddle, turn to your left (south) and you will again see the very obvious trail heading off towards a wooded area. Stay on the trail, ascending mostly gentle switchbacks. Each and every switchback you come to will lead to an ascending trail. When you get to the first switchback that is very obviously descending, go back 10 yards and look for a cairn on the high side of the trail (on your right if you turned around before viewing the descending switchbacks). Do NOT follow down the descending trail. Leave the trail at the cairn and ascend cross country to the ridgeline and ultimately the peak. It should not take more than 10 minutes to get to the peak from where you left the trail.

Tessia Perkey
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed May 09 2012
Hiking

This was a spectacular hike. My husband and I took this hike in June 2006, the weather was perfect. To be so close to the wild horses was amazing and they were a couple baby horses also. There was still a little bit of snow up top. Beautiful views, you could hear the wind approaching and were above the birds flying around.Would love to do this hike again. We are from Georgia so if we get out that way again this is a definite to do.

Di L.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jul 11 2020
Hiking
View Di's Recording
Vegas H.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jul 03 2020
Hiking
View Vegas's Recording
Jill Smith
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 03 2020
Hiking
View Jill's Recording
Linden Peterson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Jul 02 2020
Hiking
View Linden's Recording
Daniel Lee
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jun 29 2020
Hiking
View Daniel's Recording
Ryan McFall
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jun 21 2020
Hiking
View Ryan's Recording
Rob Martin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jun 12 2020
Hiking
View Rob's Recording
Showing results 1 - 27 of 61