Balancing Rock Trail

EASY 17 reviews
#14 of 26 trails in

Balancing Rock Trail is a 0.3 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Overton, Nevada that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 0.3 miles Elevation Gain: 3 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

views

wild flowers

wildlife

Right outside the visitor center is another one of the famous Valley of Fire formations. From the Visitor’s Center, take a very short hike to a viewpoint of Balanced Rock.

hiking
5 months ago

Short walk. Not quite as dramatic as some of the other "Balanced Rock's I've seen in red rock country. Is also visible from road.

hiking
no shade
5 months ago

Very short trail right by the Visitor Center, so a nice excuse to get out and stretch your legs if the first stop after a long drive.

Friday, March 30, 2018

Short trail but cool end point.

walking
Sunday, March 25, 2018

easy walk nice visitor center

hiking
Saturday, May 27, 2017

This is a very short easy walk from the visitor center to the base of the balancing rock. Other that getting closer to the base of the rock it isn't much different from the view from either the road or the visitor center

recorded balanced

hiking
4 months ago

recorded Balancing Rock Trail

hiking
5 months ago

6 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

10 months ago

hiking
Tuesday, June 12, 2018

hiking
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Thursday, April 05, 2018

hiking
Monday, March 05, 2018

Thursday, February 22, 2018

hiking
Tuesday, January 16, 2018

hiking
Sunday, October 29, 2017

Featured Trails