Lockhart Ranch est un sentier en boucle de 2.6 miles peu fréquenté situé près de Fort Smith, Montana. Le sentier vous offrira la possibilité d'observer la faune et sa difficulté est évaluée comme facile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier mais seulement en laisse.

Distance: 2.6 miles Dénivelé: 337 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

course à pied

faune

pas d’ombre

site historique

Au-delà de la jonction de Barry's Landing, la route du parc devient non pavée. Suivez ce chemin de terre jusqu'au début du sentier. Le ranch Lockhart est représentatif de la vie des éleveurs occidentaux à la fin du 19e et au début du 20e siècle. Le courant doux des ruisseaux Davis et Cottonwood a fourni la force vitale du ranch. Les fossés de Davis Creek ont tiré parti de la topographie naturelle du sol en utilisant la gravité pour irriguer les pâturages environnants. Vous pouvez emprunter la boucle d’un demi-kilomètre dans le ranch ou faire une longue randonnée de trois kilomètres le long de la route de comté historique. Le sentier commence sur la route à deux voies à l'est des corrals, près du garage. Suivez la route au nord des pâturages de Caroline Lockhart. Ce chemin mène à Davis Creek. En suivant les deux voies le long de Davis Creek, vous arriverez à une ancienne porte en métal et au chemin de terre. Au lieu de passer la porte, suivez l’intérieur de la clôture jusqu’à la traversée de Davis Creek. Continuez à suivre les sentiers de vache le long de la clôture à travers la colline jusqu'à un poteau d'angle. Sept piquets de clôture au sud du coin signalent un faible virage à deux voies au sud-est. Suivez les deux voies pour revenir en boucle au ranch.

Sun Aug 12 2018

Beaux vieux bâtiments de ranch. Facile à explorer.

balade
Fri Oct 20 2017

Vraiment facile marcher à travers une zone luxuriante dans le haut désert. Les bâtiments sont bien entretenus. Je suis sûr que c'était vraiment la tenue à son apogée. Super petit morceau de l'histoire du Wyoming et amusant facile à vérifier.

randonnée
Sun Apr 23 2017

C'est un parc intéressant de Bighorn Canyon. La majeure partie du parc est haute désert. Cependant, le ranch Lockhart a lieu au printemps, rendant cette région plus verte que la région environnante. Les anciennes cabanes en rondins sont amusantes à la caisse!

randonnée
Sun Mar 06 2016

Bâtiments très bien entretenus et zone de loisirs à explorer.

randonnée
4 months ago

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Lockhart Ranch is a 2.6 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Fort Smith, Montana that offers the chance to see wildlife and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 2.6 mi Elevation gain 337 ft Route type Loop

Dogs on leash

Kid friendly

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Running

Wildlife

No shade

Historic site

Description
Waypoints (0)

Beyond the Barry’s Landing junction, the park road becomes unpaved. Follow this dirt road to the trailhead. The Lockhart Ranch is representative of life for western ranchers in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The gentle flow of Davis and Cottonwood Creeks provided the life force of the ranch. Ditches running from Davis Creek took advantage of the natural topography of the land by using gravity to irrigate the surrounding pastures. You can take the half-mile loop through the ranch or you can take an extended two-mile hike along the historic county road. The trail begins at the two-track road east of the corrals near the garage. Follow the road along the northern edge of Caroline Lockhart’s livestock pastures. This path leads to Davis Creek. Following the two-track along Davis Creek will bring you to an old metal gate and the dirt road. Instead of going through the gate, follow the inside of the fence to the crossing at Davis Creek. Continue following cowpaths along the inside of the fence over the hill to a corner post. Seven fence posts south of the corner post a faint two-track turns southeast. Follow the two-track to loop back to the ranch.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (5)
Photos (11)
Recordings (1)
Completed (10)
Sarah Strong
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Aug 12 2018

Nice old ranch buildings. Easy to explore.

Lee Gannon
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Oct 20 2017
Walking

Really easy walk through a lush area in the high desert. The buildings are well maintained. I'm sure it was quite the outfit in its prime. Great little piece of Wyoming history and fun easy spot to check out.

Ben Goodlad
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Apr 23 2017
Hiking

It is an interesting park of Bighorn Canyon. Most of the park is high desert. However, the Lockhart Ranch has a spring running year round making this area greener than the surrounding area. The old log cabins are fun to checkout!

Jeff Hartman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Mar 06 2016
Hiking

Very well maintained buildings and fun area to explore.

MARIO DOERING
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFri Jul 12 2019
Hiking
View MARIO's Recording