Sandy Creek Covered Bridge Historic Site Walk

FACILE 26 avis

La promenade du site historique du pont couvert de Sandy Creek est un sentier de 3 000 kilomètres à faible trafic situé près de Hillsboro, dans le Missouri, qui comprend une rivière et convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche et l'observation des oiseaux. Il est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 0.2 miles Dénivelé: 0 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux fauteuils roulants

convient aux enfants

convient aux poussettes

randonnée

balade

ornithologie

forêt

rivière

faune

Sandy Bridge Covered Bridge est un pont historique pittoresque préservé dans un joli parc. Les kiosques d’information décrivent la construction et l’histoire des ponts couverts dans le Missouri. C'est une promenade courte dans le parc au pont et à l'arrière. Le pont couvert de Sandy Creek possède l'apparence parfaite d'une vieille grange rouge. C'était l'un des six ponts construits en 1872 pour permettre le passage du siège du comté de Jefferson, Hillsboro, à Saint-Louis. John H. Morse a construit le pont couvert Sandy Creek en utilisant la conception de Howe-Truss, nommée en l'honneur de William Howe. Howe a breveté son projet en 1840, qui prévoyait l’utilisation de tiges verticales pour dessiner des pièces de bois collées au sommet et au bas du pont. Trois des quatre ponts couverts restants du Missouri ont été construits selon la conception de Howe-Truss, notamment les ponts couverts de Sandy Creek, Burfordville et Locust Creek.

randonnée
2 hours ago

Le pont couvert est incroyable mais impossible d’obtenir une photo. Toutes sortes de groupes prenant des photos du pont en arrière-plan. Les tables de pique-nique et les toilettes ici aussi. Pas de randonnée mais un bon endroit pour s'arrêter et prendre des photos.

randonnée
28 days ago

Je veux dire, ce n'est pas une randonnée..mais le pont est amusant et jouer dans la crique peut être cool quand il fait chaud.

balade
6 months ago

Pas un sentier. Il n'y a pas de randonnée à cela. C'est un pont couvert très cool et beaucoup d'histoire. A une crique et des tables de pique-nique. Quand j'ai grandi, l'histoire était à minuit, une fille traversait le pont. C'était le fantôme d'une fille qui s'était pendue au milieu du pont couvert. Je doute que cet événement se soit produit, mais il y avait quelque chose à faire dans la journée pour avoir peur et y aller la nuit. Il y a des kilomètres de bonnes routes de campagne que vous pouvez également emprunter pour vous y rendre

6 months ago

Beau paysage. Pas beaucoup d'un sentier. Endroit parfait pour un pique-nique.

a enregistré Recording - Mar 16, 03:55 PM

randonnée
7 months ago

Déconseille vraiment. Le pont est bien, mais cela ne valait pas la peine de 51 minutes en voiture.

8 months ago

C'est un pont sympa à découvrir mais il n'y a pas vraiment beaucoup de piste. joli petit parc.

randonnée
11 months ago

Joli pont couvert et ruisseau paisible. Ce n'est pas vraiment un sentier, mais plutôt un parc avec des espaces ouverts à explorer. Quelques chemins menant au ruisseau mènent à un banc de sable. A pris le chien en laisse. Le ruisseau et la pierre étaient pittoresques et le pont couvert était unique. Nous étions heureux d'avoir fait le voyage.

Monday, April 09, 2018

Belle promenade. Pas vraiment beaucoup de randonnée mais classé plus haut pour les vues panoramiques et les zones de pique-nique. Excellent arrêt si dans la région pour pique-niquer. Il y a deux sentiers qui ne sont pas très longs qui traînent le ruisseau.

randonnée
Thursday, January 25, 2018

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

J'aime faire de la randonnée et marcher des sentiers. Il n'y a pas de sentiers pédestres ici, c'est plus une zone d'utilisation de jour. Sinon c'est un endroit vraiment sympa

balade
Sunday, October 09, 2016

Beau pont. Le gamin s'est bien amusé. Les sentiers se séparent un peu et se terminent à certains endroits, mais il est agréable de se promener avec les enfants.

Saturday, July 16, 2016

randonnée
Friday, May 20, 2016

Une courte randonnée facile le long de la crique. Un cadre pittoresque avec une perspective historique.

randonnée
Tuesday, January 26, 2016

J'ai grandi en allant à Sandy Creek! ❤️

balade
Saturday, August 31, 2013

Un des quatre ponts couverts survivants à MO. C'est le cadre le mieux préservé et agréable avec le parc environnant. Vaut la visite quand dans la région.

randonnée
3 months ago

a enregistré Recording - Jun 02, 05:00 PM

randonnée
4 months ago

Monday, January 15, 2018

Sunday, April 09, 2017

Monday, March 27, 2017

balade
Friday, December 02, 2016

Thursday, July 09, 2015

balade
Sunday, October 06, 2013

Randonnées populaires

Memorial Day Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Sandy Creek Covered Bridge Historic Site Walk

easyYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(35)
Hillsboro, Missouri

Sandy Creek Covered Bridge Historic Site Walk is a 0.2 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Hillsboro, Missouri that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 0.2 miles Elevation Gain: 0 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

stroller friendly

hiking

walking

bird watching

forest

river

wildlife

Sandy Bridge Covered Bridge is a picturesque historic bridge preserved in a nice park setting. Informational Kiosks describe construction and history of covered bridges in Missouri. It is a short walk in the park to the bridge and back. Sandy Creek Covered Bridge boasts the picture-perfect appearance of an old red barn. It was one of six bridges built in 1872 to allow passage from the Jefferson County seat of Hillsboro to St. Louis. John H. Morse built Sandy Creek Covered Bridge using the Howe-truss design, named for William Howe. Howe patented his design in 1840, which featured the use of vertical rods to draw wooden members tight against the top and bottom of the bridge. Three of the four remaining covered bridges in Missouri were built using the Howe-truss design, including Sandy Creek, Burfordville and Locust Creek covered bridges.

nature trips
9 days ago

A peaceful, forested environment. Isnt much for hiking, but the walk is decent. However , if you are to go near the streams , keep a lookout , there are a few small moccasin dens in the area. These amazing creatures will not bother you if you dont bother them. They love to be photographed though lol. Overall this is a good little getaway place. Great for a picnic or just a good old fashioned nature excursion.

Very nice! Weather was perfect and very peaceful.

Lots of trash and glass watch out for your dog

hiking
1 month ago

Fun!

1 star for the bridge itself - it’s pretty sweet if you’re into old bridges. Unfortunately for me, on this day, a family decided to hijack the bridge for an Easter cellphone photo shoot. I was unable to enjoy it because their crap was strewn about, they were very loud, and a young boy was throwing rocks. No real hike, but the bridge is cool.

There appears to be a trail past the bridge on the left. I followed it for about .5 miles then turned back. It’s little overgrown and don’t have proper gear. Gonna come back more prepared. Looks like has lots of potential!

The covered bridge is amazing but impossible to get a picture of. All sorts of groups taking photos of the bridge as a background. Picnic tables and restrooms here as well. No hike but a great place to stop and take some photos.

hiking
8 months ago

I mean, it isn't a hike..but the bridge is fun and playing in the creek can be cool when it is hot.

walking
Sun Mar 31 2019

Not a trail. There is no hiking to it. It is a very cool covered bridge and a lot of history. Has a creek and some picnic tables. When I grew up the story was at midnight a girl would walk across the bridge. It was the ghost of a girl who hung herself in the middle of the covered bridge. I doubt that event even happened, but was something to do back in the day to be scared and go there st night. Their are miles of good back roads you can also take to get there

Sat Mar 23 2019

Beautiful scenery. Not much of a trail. Perfect place for a picnic.

recorded Recording - Mar 16, 03:55 PM

hiking
Sat Mar 16 2019

Definitely do not recommend. The bridge is fine, but it wasn't worth the 51 minute drive.

Tue Feb 05 2019

this is a cool bridge to check out but there is not really much for a trail. nice little park.

hiking
Sun Nov 04 2018

Pretty covered bridge and peaceful stream. Not really a trail, more of a park with open space to explore. A few short paths to the stream, one leads to a sandbar. Took the dog on a leash. The stream and stone were picturesque and the covered bridge was unique. We were glad we made the trip.

Mon Apr 09 2018

Nice walk. Not really much hiking but rated higher do to scenic views and picnic areas. Great stop if in area to have picnic. There are two trails that aren't very long that trail the creek.

hiking
Thu Jan 25 2018

Tue May 23 2017

I like to hike and walk trails. There aren't't any walking trails here it is more of a day use area. Otherwise it's a really nice place

walking
Sun Oct 09 2016

Beautiful bridge. Kid had fun. Trails kinda split off and just end in certain places but was enjoyable walking around with the kiddo.

Sat Jul 16 2016

hiking
Fri May 20 2016

An easy short hike along the creek. A picturesque setting with a historical perspective.

hiking
Tue Jan 26 2016

I grew up going to Sandy Creek! ❤️

walking
Sat Aug 31 2013

One of only four surviving covered bridges in MO. This is the best preserved and nice setting with the surrounding park. Worth the visit when in the area.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
10 months ago

recorded Recording - Jun 02, 05:00 PM

hiking
11 months ago

Mon Jan 15 2018

Showing results 1 - 30 of 35