Opossum Track Trail

EASY 32 reviews
#3 of 6 trails in

Opossum Track Trail is a 2.5 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near De Soto, Missouri that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
2.5 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
367 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

river

views

wild flowers

rocky

Opossum Track Trail traverses a section of the 68-acre Washington State Park Hardwood Natural Area, an area of land set aside for protection because of its natural beauty. Along sections of the trail, you may notice depressions in the earth which seem un-natural. Prior to the park’s construction, this area was prospected for a mineral called barite, locally known as tiff. The depressions are the remains of those prospecting operations. Barite is used in the production of drilling mud and paint. As you hike along this scenic trail, you may also enjoy several breath-taking views of the Big River valley, particularly near the Civilian Conservation Corps overlook. The trail meanders through a typical Missouri oak-hickory hardwood forest, abounding with wildflowers, songbirds, native wildlife, majestic trees and trickling water winding its way along an ancient creek bed. This trail is moderately difficult. Along the trail, you may encounter slippery conditions, rocks and roots sticking up in the trail’s natural surface, steep grades and creek crossings without bridges.

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

I really enjoyed this hike. Covers a large portion of the park. Pretty scenery...

Monday, August 14, 2017

Pretty decent hill at the beginning, nice overlook area but a lot of the trail is near the sounds of civilization; swimming pool, roads, tractors.

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Terrain fairly rugged. Lots of steps and incline. Not easy!

hiking
Sunday, April 09, 2017

Moderately rugged trail. There is a hidden cave off the track worth visiting.

Sunday, March 26, 2017

I just found this gem after moving to Jeff Co. I dont find the difficulty very hard as my 3 year old did the hike pretty quickly and with more ease than most hikes we usually do. We did the hike mid March and it was still very beautiful.

backpacking
Monday, February 27, 2017

The hill is steep and the rocks are slick. Not a bad hike for my first one

Monday, February 06, 2017

This was a nice trail - very large hill near the beginning if you start at trailhead located across the street from the Thunderbird lodge but after that it was very easy to hike on

hiking
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

spent he afternoon with wife.
trail took close to two hours, very easy to follow.

hiking
Monday, September 19, 2016

Hard Climb and then a lot of downhill. Great views.

hiking
Thursday, September 15, 2016

Nice trail, leaves are still on the trees but it did offer pretty nice views. Rocky and steep in sections, but overall made for a nice walk.

Sunday, April 03, 2016

Steep grades at beginning and end. Very nice hike.

hiking
Sunday, February 22, 2015

Great challenging trail that has significant elevation gains and can be completed in under one hour if you keep a steady pace. Great views from a bluff that overlooks Big River! I have hiked this trail several times but today the trail had my preferred conditions, 1-2 inches of snow on the ground. The snow made for a great workout!

hiking
25 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Saturday, October 07, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 23, 2017

Thursday, August 10, 2017

hiking
Friday, July 07, 2017

hiking
Monday, July 03, 2017

hiking
Saturday, June 10, 2017

Saturday, June 10, 2017

hiking
Friday, April 14, 2017

Monday, February 27, 2017

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

hiking
Saturday, April 23, 2016

hiking
Saturday, February 06, 2016

Load More