Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Mount Tom via Quarry Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 24 avis
N°3 sur 9 randonnées à

Mount Tom via Quarry Trail is a 3.9 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Holyoke, Massachusetts that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
3.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
990 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

rocheux

Parking available in a lot across from the trail head or in parking areas on the side of Rt. 141.

randonnée
7 months ago

J'ai fait une randonnée avec ma mère. Nous sommes tous les deux des randonneurs expérimentés, mais nous avons eu du mal à nous orienter du sentier de carrière au M & M (aller à droite ou à gauche?) Il n'y avait aucune signalisation à aider, juste des cartes plastifiées. Le réceptionnaire de l'argent dans le kiosque d'accueil a admis qu'il n'avait jamais fait de randonnée, alors il ne l'aidait pas. Nous avons finalement compris nous-mêmes. Les vues étaient super. Les saillies et les affleurements étaient frais. J'ai été complètement déçu par le "sommet". C'était couvert de graffitis. Les tours cellulaires, les clôtures à mailles de chaîne et les hangars électriques ont totalement supprimé le plaisir de la montée. (J'admets que l'ancien support pour remontées mécaniques et l'éolienne un peu avant le sommet étaient froids.) Nous ne savions pas non plus où se trouvait le monument commémoratif B 17 (le gars du kiosque n'était AUCUN aide) ... ... nous n'avons pas pu le visiter et je l'avais VRAIMENT voulu.

randonnée
7 months ago

Je l'ai fait un jour nuageux et humide et j'ai adoré chaque minute. J'ai emmené Kay Bee — Keystone — Carrière —MM jusqu'à l'entrée 141 que MM — DOC — Knox — Bray Valley à Bray Loop. Tant de choses à voir! Il y a des parties poilues mais amusantes de MM qui vous rapprochent du bord, mais la difficulté réside dans l'endurance. Beaucoup de hauts et de bas. Cette randonnée était pour moi environ 12,5 miles et a pris six heures. Évidemment, vous pouvez faire des randonnées plus courtes, il y a de superbes vues une fois que vous frappez MM. Il faisait beau et pluvieux, et j'ai glissé deux fois sur des rochers, mais même cette partie-là était amusante: je le recommande vivement, ce serait aussi difficile, mais basé sur un terrain rocheux.

randonnée
Wednesday, January 03, 2018

Une de mes randonnées locales préférées. En chemin, il y a un point où vous aurez une vue magnifique sur le réservoir Holyoke sur la droite lorsque vous vous approcherez du monument. Les dernières fois que j'ai emprunté ce sentier, il y avait une barrière de neige orange sur le sentier disant qu'il était fermé pour protéger l'habitat.

randonnée
Wednesday, September 06, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, May 27, 2017

si vous n'y êtes jamais allé, préparez-vous à des sentiers rocailleux, la montée vous coupera le souffle, peur des hauteurs, évitez. très effrayant marcher le long de la falaise. belles vues. Mon truc, c'est que si vous commencez un sentier, vous devriez en rester là, pas le cas, à moins que vous ne vouliez retrouver votre chemin, à mon avis, je ne l'ai pas fait. J'ai aussi oublié d'escalader des rochers, tout comme de l'escalade, prenez un sac à dos pour garder les mains libres afin de garder votre équilibre.

randonnée
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Sentier vraiment magnifique et vue imprenable. La piste suit un peu le bord et me donne parfois le vertige. Nous avons emprunté un sentier et descendu la route, ce qui a un peu raccourci la randonnée, mais nous avons pu voir le site de l'accident B17, ce qui nous a permis de passer une journée intéressante!

randonnée
Thursday, March 17, 2016

Passé 3 heures de randonnée sur 5 miles. N'a pas rencontré beaucoup de gens autres que sur les routes de service. Avait mes amis chien avec moi et il a adoré. Nous nous sommes garés sur le premier parking hors de Reservation Rd au bord du lac Bray. Nous n'avons pas vu le mémorial, mais nous avons emprunté Keystone Trail / Extension, Quarry Trail, M & M Trail, Dynamite Trail, McCool Trail, puis la voie de service menant aux ruines d'Eyrie House. Sur le chemin du retour, nous avons pris le sentier M & M vers le sentier T Bagg

randonnée
Monday, June 03, 2013

C'est un beau sentier. Il y a une vue magnifique sur la rivière à quelques mètres du sentier à mi-chemin. Le B-17 Memorial est également magnifique. Bien que plus long, il s’agit d’une ascension beaucoup plus progressive vers le sommet du mont. Tom que le sentier M & M. Parmi les fois où j'ai pris ce sentier, j'ai rarement vu quelqu'un sur ce sentier. Une fois que vous avez traversé la voie de service vers le M & M, cela devient de plus en plus difficile, ce qui signifie plus de rochers à gravir.

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
10 months ago

a enregistré mount Tom

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
Friday, November 10, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, November 04, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, October 07, 2017

Monday, March 28, 2016

randonnée
Tuesday, March 01, 2016

Monday, February 29, 2016

Charger plus

Memorial Day Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Mount Tom via Quarry Trail

MODERATE 41 reviews

Mount Tom via Quarry Trail is a 3.9 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Holyoke, Massachusetts that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
3.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
990 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

views

wild flowers

wildlife

rocky

Parking available in a lot across from the trail head or in parking areas on the side of Rt. 141.

hiking
bugs
rocky
scramble
17 hours ago

Fun place to go hiking. Make sure to wear hiking boots.

hiking
muddy
28 days ago

The trail highlighted on the map is not the Quarry Trail. The trail highlighted red on the map is the New England Trail. Please, correct this. Otherwise, be prepared for a very muddy Quarry Trail.

recorded Mount Tom via Quarry Trail

hiking
muddy
rocky
scramble
snow
1 month ago

hiking
9 months ago

I hiked this with my mom. Both of us are experienced hikers, but we had trouble getting oriented from the Quarry Trail to the M&M ( go right or left?) There was no signage to help, just laminated maps. The money taker in the welcome kiosk admitted he never hiked there, so he was no help. We finally figured it out ourselves. The views were great. The rock ledges and outcroppings were cool. I was completely disappointed in the "summit". It was covered in graffiti. The cell towers, chain link fences and power sheds totally took away the pleasure of the climb. (I will admit that the old ski lift support and wind mill a little before the summit were cool. ) Also we didn't know where the B 17 memorial was ( Again, the guy in the kiosk was NO help)...so we were not able to visit it and I had REALLY wanted to.

hiking
10 months ago

Did this on a cloudy, muggy day and loved every minute of it. I took Kay Bee—Keystone—Quarry—MM all the way down to the 141 entrance than back MM—DOC—Knox—Bray Valley to Bray Loop. So much to see! There are some hairy yet fun parts of MM that bring you very close to the edge, but the difficulty lies in endurance. A lot of ups and downs. This hike for me was about 12.5 miles and took six hours. Obviously you can do shorter hikes, there are great views once you hit MM. It was off and on rainy, and I slipped twice on rocks, but even that part was fun :) highly recommend, would rate as hard though based on rocky terrain.

hiking
Wednesday, January 03, 2018

One of my favorite local hikes. Along the way there is a point where you get a great view of the Holyoke Resevoir on the right as you get closer to the monument. The last few times I took this trail there was some orange snow fence stretched across the trail saying it was closed for habitat protection.

hiking
Wednesday, September 06, 2017

hiking
Saturday, May 27, 2017

if you've never been, be prepared for rocky trails, uphill will take your breath away, afraid of heights, avoid. very scary walking along cliff. beautiful views. my thing is if start a trail you should end there, not the case, unless you want to track back the way you came, in my opinion I didn't. forgot also climbing rocks, just like rock climbing, take backpack to keep hands free for balance.

hiking
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Really beautiful trail, and amazing views. The trail follows the edge a bit and gave me vertigo at times. We took a trail up and the road down, which shortened the hike a little, but we got to see the B17 crash site, which made for an all around interesting day!

hiking
Thursday, March 17, 2016

Spent 3 hours hiking over 5 miles. Didn't run into many people other than on service roads. Had my friends dog with me and he loved it. We parked at the first parking lot off of Reservation Rd by Lake Bray. We didn't see the memorial but we took Keystone Trail/Extension, Quarry Trail, M&M Trail, Dynamite Trail, McCool Trail then service road up to Eyrie House Ruins. On the way back we took M&M trail to T Bagg Trail

hiking
Monday, June 03, 2013

This is a beautiful trail. There is a great view of the river a few yards off the trail about halfway in. The B-17 Memorial is beautiful too. Though longer, it is a much more gradual climb to the summit of Mt. Tom than the M&M trail. Of the times I've taken this trail, I've rarely seen anyone on this trail. Once you cross over the service road to the M&M it does get increasingly difficult, meaning more rocks to climb up.

hiking
8 days ago

hiking
14 days ago

hiking
17 days ago

hiking
22 days ago

hiking
28 days ago

hiking
28 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

Load More

Featured Trails