Mount Auburn Cemetery Trail

EASY 39 reviews

Mount Auburn Cemetery Trail is a 3.3 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Watertown, Massachusetts that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October.

Distance: 3.3 miles Elevation Gain: 177 feet Route Type: Loop

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

scenic driving

walking

bird watching

forest

partially paved

views

wild flowers

wildlife

no dogs

This cemetery is considered to be one of the first garden cemeteries in the country. You will find numerous amazing monuments and beautiful grave sights as you walk the myriad of trails or drive the roads. At the Washington Tower you will have a great view towards downtown Boston. Bring a camera for this trip.

hiking
2 months ago

Beautiful old cemetery with OLD headstones and beautiful surroundings. Not much elevation, but the view of Boston from the tower is worth the walk.

walking
Mon Oct 08 2018

I enjoyed walking the trail at Mount Auburn Cemetery. The landscape is beautiful, especially in the fall, and there are many different paths to travel and places to see.

Sun Sep 23 2018

Beautiful and quiet. You can easily create your own path and see different parts of the area and make your walk as long or short as you like.

Sat Jul 14 2018

gorgeous gardens and the tower view was awesome. you can park along the paved pathways inside the cemetery.

nature trips
Wed May 09 2018

Absolutely beautiful with blooming trees, bushes & flowers. Meticulous landscaping and up keep. Needed this app as I get lost every time!

walking
Sun Nov 12 2017

Nice walk. Parking available just about anywhere. Plenty of hills.

Wed Aug 09 2017

Beautiful place that you can visit multiple times and find new beautiful views each time. The biggest highlight would be the lookout tower and the lakes. I would say the best time to go is in the fall because of the foliage.

walking
Wed May 03 2017

beautiful walk and loved the tower and view of Boston

hiking
Fri Apr 28 2017

Beautiful flowering trees & well kept up landscaping. Also saw bunnies, frogs, turtles, cardinals, hawk & robins. Gorgeous & peaceful.

Mon Jan 30 2017

beautiful. no bikes

walking
Wed Oct 12 2016

Beautiful cemetery. However dogs are not allowed there.

walking
Sat Feb 13 2016

Incredibly beautiful garden cemetery with multiple trail loops. You could spend all day walking here enjoying landscaping, bunnies, birds, sculpture, history. One of my favorite things to do in Boston.

hiking
2 months ago

recorded Mount Auburn Cemetery

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

nature trips
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
Sun Oct 21 2018

hiking
Sun Oct 21 2018

Sun Oct 14 2018

hiking
Tue Oct 09 2018

hiking
Sat Sep 22 2018

walking
Sat Aug 11 2018

Sat Jul 21 2018

Load More

Featured Trails