Charles River Short Bike Loop Trail

EASY 29 reviews

Charles River Short Bike Loop Trail is a 4 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Cambridge, Massachusetts that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

DISTANCE
4.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
52 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

birding

hiking

road biking

trail running

walking

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This leisurely ride takes you to some of Boston's wonderful waterways, following the beautiful Charles River paths. This leisurely ride takes you to some of Boston's wonderful waterways, following the beautiful and historic Charles River on both the Boston and Cambridge sides as you make your way towards Boston Harbor. This tour is an excellent introduction to the paved bike paths and includes some of the best views of the city. This is our most family friendly tour; it's great for children and inexperienced riders.

1 month ago

2 months ago

2 months ago

trail running
2 months ago

walking
Friday, August 05, 2016

A good place to get in your morning exercise (along with many other Bostonians). Nice views of the city and likely some sculling on the Charles.

walking
Friday, July 22, 2016

walking
Sunday, June 12, 2016

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Good walk on a summer day with a cold drink and friends.

road biking
Saturday, May 21, 2016

Monday, May 09, 2016

walking
Wednesday, May 04, 2016

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Tuesday, December 08, 2015

trail running
Sunday, November 08, 2015

cross country skiing
Tuesday, November 03, 2015

walking
Monday, September 07, 2015

This can be infinitely varied. Best thing to do is lengthen it. Extend your walk downstream to cross at the dam and upstream to cross at the BU bridge. Downstream there is a small embayment just northwest of the dam that is delightful. Crossing upstream at the BU bridge allows one to enjoy even more of the embankment on the Boston side.

trail running
Sunday, December 28, 2014

trail running
Sunday, December 14, 2014

birding
Thursday, September 11, 2014

walking
Monday, July 21, 2014