Monument Knob via Big Red and Bartman Hill Trail

SCHWER 32 Bewertungen
#2 von 4 Wegen in

Der Monument Knob über den Big Red und den Bartman Hill Trail ist ein 12 Meilen langer, mäßig befahrener Rundweg, der in der Nähe von Boonsboro, Maryland, liegt und über einen See verfügt. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Wandern, für Naturausflüge und zur Vogelbeobachtung genutzt und wird am besten von April bis September genutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Distance: 12.0 miles Höhenunterschied: 2,188 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

angeleinte hunde

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

See

Aussicht

Wildtiere

historischer Ort

Strenge Wanderung vom Greenbrier State Park zum Appalachian Trail, der zum Washington Monument führt. Diese Wanderung in Washington County beginnt im Greenbrier Lake im Greenbrier State Park. Diese Wanderung führt mit beträchtlichen Steigungen am Greenbrier Lake und am Besucherzentrum des Greenbrier State Park vorbei. Dann steigt der Bartman Trail an, der mit dem Appalachian Trail verbunden ist. Wenn Sie nach Süden in Richtung Washington Monument fahren, steigt der Weg weiter an. Viele felsige Streckenabschnitte, aber keine Flusskreuzungen. Einige Abschnitte in Greenbrier SP können schlammig sein.

wandern
1 month ago

Wunderschöner Park und tolle Trails.

Großartige Wanderung; Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie Insektenspray haben. Es gibt keine weiten Ansichten, sondern viele Höhen und Tiefen.

wandern
schlammig
schnee
4 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

Tolle Wanderung. Bei einem frühen Start ist der See im Morgenlicht toll. Um das zu ändern, habe ich auf der AT vor dem Bartman Hill eine Linkskurve gemacht und bin zum Annapolis Rock gewandert. Wenn Sie von der Mountain Laurel Rd aus starten und dieser Anleitung folgen, ist es eine etwa 13,5 Meilen lange Wanderung.

wandern
Sunday, June 24, 2018

Der Parkplatz am Greenbrier State Park war voll. Also habe ich mein Auto vor den US 40 geparkt und die Wanderung an der Kreuzung von Bartman Hill Trail und AT beginnen. Große Wanderung. Schöne Aussichten vom Washington Monument. Teile von AT waren sehr matschig.

wandern
Sunday, May 13, 2018

Tolle Wanderung für Fitnessliebhaber und Waldliebhaber - weniger für große Aussichten. Hat einige der am besten markierten Wege, die Sie finden werden. Ein Badesee und Campingplätze. Ich hatte eine tolle 9 mike Wanderung mit meiner Tochter. Abgenutzt! Glücklich.

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Ich nahm meinen neunjährigen Sohn und seinen siebenjährigen Sohn auf diesem Weg von der Route 40, die die Route 70 überquert. Es war eine strenge Wanderung, aber wir hatten uns im Washington Monument State Park mit einem Transporter getroffen, der ihn erträglicher machte. Das Ende war hart, aber wir waren stolz darauf, das Ziel zu erreichen!

wandern
Wednesday, June 14, 2017

War schön

wandern
Monday, May 29, 2017

Die Schleife ist sehr schön, aber ziemlich einfach. Wenn Sie auf den eigentlichen Appalachian Trail gehen, ist der erste Teil hart und sehr steil. Nachdem Sie das durchgekommen sind, müssen Sie die Baummarkierungen genau beobachten, wurde ich verwirrt und verirrte sich und ich wagte mich bei einem Unfall von der Spur. Tolle Wanderung und wenn man oben an der Struktur ist, lohnt sich das absolut.

wandern
Saturday, April 08, 2017

Nicht viele Ansichten entlang der großen roten Spur, aber es war immer noch eine schöne kleine Schleife. Die herausfordernden Teile sind meistens entlang des AT und des Bartman's Trail. Ich empfehle, vom Besucherzentrum aus zu starten und von dort aus weiterzugehen. Es dauerte ungefähr 5,5 Stunden. Nebenbei bemerkt, die Parkmitarbeiter sind sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Leider ist mein Telefon auf halber Strecke der AT-Spur gestorben, sodass meine Aufzeichnung unvollständig ist.

wandern
Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Ich begann diese Wanderung vom Greenbrier State Park Visitor Center aus, nahm den mit AT verbundenen Bartman Hill Trail, erreichte das Washington Monument und zurück zum Visitor Center. Es war ein gutes Training mit Blick auf das Denkmal. Zahlung einer Gebühr von 3 US-Dollar pro Auto am Greenbrier State Park Gate.

wandern
Thursday, November 03, 2016

Tolle Wanderung. Ich entschied mich, auf der AT Richtung Norden zu fahren, um Annapolis Rock und dann Black Rock auszuprobieren. Tolle Aussicht von dieser Route. Ich habe auch die Washington Monument Route gemacht und auch keine wirklichen Beschwerden über diese Wanderung. Eine Sache beim Wandern dieses Abschnitts von AT sind die steinigen Pfade. Nur ein Teil des Terrains.

wandern
Friday, October 21, 2016

Wir haben diese Wanderung letzte Woche gemacht und es hat viel Spaß gemacht. Das Parken beim Besucherzentrum und das Starten des Weges ist ein Muss. Es beginnt mit einem 6 Meilen langen Hügel, der Sie zu einem Spalt führt. Sie können entweder das Denkmal von Washington oder die Felsen von Annapolis besuchen. Ich würde vorschlagen, zum Denkmal zu gehen, dann zu den Annapolis-Felsen. Die 12-Meilen-Wanderung ist Ihre Zeit wert! Es wird viel Rock geben, tragen Sie also unterstützende Schuhe.

Monday, September 19, 2016

Tolle Aussichten, aber kein Fan der Rocky Trails, fast die ganze Strecke.

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
7 months ago

wandern
9 months ago

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

wandern
Saturday, October 14, 2017

wandern
Saturday, September 23, 2017

wandern
Sunday, May 21, 2017

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Monument Knob via Big Red and Bartman Hill Trail

HARD 35 reviews
#1 of 4 trails in

Monument Knob via Big Red and Bartman Hill Trail is a 12 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Boonsboro, Maryland that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from April until September. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 12.0 miles Elevation Gain: 2,188 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

forest

lake

views

wildlife

historic site

Strenuous hike from Greenbrier State Park to the Appalachian Trail leading to Washington Monument. This hike in Washington County begins in Greenbrier State Park bear Greenbrier Lake. With significant inclines, this hike passes Greenbrier Lake, and the Visitors center for Greenbrier State Park. It then ascends the Bartman Trail that connects to the Appalachian Trail. Heading south towards Washington Monument, the trail continues to climb. Many rocky trail sections, but no stream crossings. Some sections in Greenbrier SP can be muddy.

Great trail condition and all around enjoyable, but I was a bit underwhelmed by its difficulty level. I’d say it’s more of a moderate. I did this trail counter clockwise from the lake so Big Red trail first and it was easy as pie.... basically was a 5 mile warm up. The climb to Monument Knob was more difficult, but nothing earth shattering. Plenty of level spots to break up the steady inclines. The way down is a bit tough on the knees though (I am 27) so I’d recommend walking sticks if you have them. All in all I completed this in 4.5 hours. Next time I will go clockwise and finish off on Big Red.

hiking
5 months ago

Beautiful park and great trails.

Great trek; make sure to have bug spray. There are no wide-sweeping views but a lot of ups/downs .

hiking
muddy
snow
9 months ago

hiking
Fri Nov 02 2018

Great hike.If you get an early start the lake is great in the morning light. To change things up I made a left on the AT off Bartman Hill and hiked over to Annapolis Rock.The Monument is nice but the view from annapolis Rock is awesome. If you start off Mountain Laurel Rd and follow this guide it is about a 13.5 mile hike.

hiking
Sun Jun 24 2018

The parking lot at Greenbrier State Park was full. So, I parked my car off US 40 start the hike at intersection of Bartman Hill Trail and AT. Great Hike. Nice views from Washington Monument. Parts of AT was very muddy.

hiking
Sun May 13 2018

Great hike for fitness enthusiasts and forest lovers—less so for big views. Has some of the best marked trails you will find. A lake for swimming and campgrounds. I had a great 9 mike hike w my daughter. Worn out! Happy.

Thu Sep 21 2017

I took my nine year old son and 7 year old son on this trail from route 40 that crosses over route 70. It was a strenuos hike, but we had transport meet us at Washington Monument State Park which made it much more tolerable. The end was tough but we were proud to make it to the finish!

hiking
Wed Jun 14 2017

Was nice

hiking
Mon May 29 2017

The loop is very nice yet pretty easy. When you go onto the actual Appalachian trail, the first part is hard and very steep. After you get through that, you need to pay close attention to the tree markings, I got confused and lost my way and I ventured off the trail a bit on accident. Great hike though and when you get to the top to the structure it is totally worth it.

hiking
Sat Apr 08 2017

Not many views along big red trail, but it was still a nice little loop. The challenging parts are mostly along the AT and Bartman's Trail. I recommend starting at the visitors center and going from there. Took us about 5.5 hours. Also, as a side note, park staff are super friendly and helpful. Unfortunately my phone died halfway down the AT trail so my recording is incomplete.

hiking
Tue Dec 27 2016

I started this hike from the Greenbrier State Park Visitor Center, took the Bartman Hill Trail, connected with AT, reached Washington Monument and back to the Visitor Center, total 6 miles with 1,600 ft elevation gain. It was a good workout with a view at the monument. Paid $3 entry fee per car at the Greenbrier State Park gate.

hiking
Fri Oct 21 2016

We did this hike last week and it was a lot of fun. Parking at the visitor center and starting the trail from there is a must. It starts out with .6 miles up hill which takes you to a split. You can either goto the Washington monument or Annapolis rocks. I would suggest goto the monument, then to Annapolis rocks. The 12 mile hike is well worth your time! There will be a lot of rock, so wear supportive shoes.

Mon Sep 19 2016

Great views but not a fan of the Rocky trails almost the entire way... My ankles were happy to check that one off!!

hiking
26 days ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
Sat Dec 01 2018

hiking
Sat Oct 20 2018

Tue Mar 20 2018

hiking
Sat Oct 14 2017

Load More