Gambrill Mill Trail is a 0.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Frederick Junction, Maryland that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for walking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
0.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
52 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

walking

forest

river

views

historic site

hiking
6 months ago

Nice trail for a solo hike through Mother Nature. Safe parking area that leads to a easy trail to follow.

hiking
7 months ago

Nice trail. I am a cub scout den leader and brought my den on an Adventure Hike here. It was a nice stroll. Lots of Frederick history on the posted signs. I will definitely come back again with my boys.

7 months ago

fun and we'll kept trail.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Very pretty, short, easy hike. This is a great place for family pictures.. I saw people doing that both times I went here. The fall colors are beautiful at sunset. The first section has a nice wooden platform to walk on. And at the end of the platform you can walk to the river and see both the car bridge and the train bridge over the Monocacy river. The trail continues and loops back to the lake/parking area. Very pretty spot.

hiking
Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Short trail, but it's great to go around a few times.

Monday, May 29, 2017

Easy walk with boardwalk through the marshy/wooded area. Nice creek to hop in if you so desire. Gambrills Mill manor is also a really cool spot to picnic.

walking
Monday, April 17, 2017

Pretty little loop. I love just going there to sit by the Monocacy river.

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Very easy. Great views.

hiking
Saturday, March 25, 2017

The trail crosses the area where Union soldiers advanced and retreated on July 9, 1864 as they delayed an advancing Confederate army threatening Washington DC. The trail starts at the old Gambrill Mill, winds through thin woods past the old mill race to a spectacular view of a railroad bridge over the Monocacy River. The first half of the trail is generally in shady trees, while the remainder is in more open country. Historical markers describe the battle action in this area. A very nice walk!

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

9 months ago

hiking
Saturday, October 14, 2017

hiking
Saturday, October 07, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 03, 2017

hiking
Monday, August 28, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 27, 2017

hiking
Saturday, August 19, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Saturday, June 03, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, May 16, 2017