Frederick Municipal Forest - Three Pond Circuit

EASY 17 reviews

Frederick Municipal Forest - Three Pond Circuit is a 8.3 mile loop trail located near Frederick, Maryland and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, trail running, and mountain biking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
8.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1076 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

hiking

mountain biking

trail running

Nice forest trails and several natural ponds in proteced watershed area. The Frederick Municipal Forest is a forest area protecting the watershed servicing the city of Frederick, MD. Within the forest are many small ponds (yes, the same ponds subject to the FBI anthrax investigations), springs, and many jeep roads and hiking trails. Unfortunately they are all unmarked with the exception of portions of the Catoctin Trail which runs through the area. Take a map and compass! This hike begins with a steep, rough ascent on an unmaintained trail with many blow-downs. This trail will shortly intersect with a fire road. Proceed right. Continue on this trail until you reach large pond on left (small side trail leads down to and around pond). Continue past pond. The trail will begin heading south and roughly parallel Gambrill Park Rd, eventually reaching to Hamburg Road where you can pick up the blue-blazed Catoctin Trail back North. This trail will pass two small ponds and eventually lead back to the first larger pond.

hiking
21 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
3 months ago

5 months ago

trail running
11 months ago

Saturday, July 09, 2016

Amazing! The nature here is one of a kind the ponds among the best I've seen!

hiking
Tuesday, December 01, 2015

mountain biking
Thursday, August 27, 2015

mountain biking
Sunday, May 31, 2015

mountain biking
Saturday, May 16, 2015

hiking
Sunday, April 26, 2015

Sunday, April 12, 2015

mountain biking
Sunday, April 12, 2015

hiking
Sunday, March 22, 2015

Tuesday, August 05, 2014

hiking
Saturday, May 10, 2014

hiking
Saturday, March 29, 2014