C&O Canal Trail: Cumberland to North Branch

EINFACH 20 Bewertungen

C & O Canal Trail: Der Cumberland to North Branch ist ein 9,2 km langer Punkt-zu-Punkt-Trail in der Nähe von Cumberland, Maryland, der über einen Fluss verfügt und für alle Könnerstufen geeignet ist. Der Weg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von April bis Oktober genutzt. Hunde und Pferde können diesen Weg auch nutzen.

Entfernung: 9.2 miles Höhenunterschied: 78 feet Routentyp: Direkte Route

hundefreundlich

kinderfreundlich

Wandern

Reiten

Mountainbiking

Trailrunning

Gehen

Wald

Fluss

Dieser "letzte" Abschnitt des C & O-Kanals ist ein gut gepflegter und glatter Abschnitt, der durch Hinterhöfe und offene Felder führt, und kommt schließlich nach Cumberland. Die Entwicklung hat wenig Anhaltspunkte für die Vergangenheit des Kanals hinterlassen, abgesehen von einigen "Stop Locks", Überlaufrinnen und dem Kanal selbst. Der Weg ist fast wie der Treidelpfad fast flach. Lift Lock 75, der letzte am Kanal, liegt direkt neben dem North Branch Recreation Area und ist die letzte bedeutende Höhenänderung, bis Sie nach Cumberland gelangen, wo Sie über einen hölzernen Gehweg und Rampen über den Kanal in die Stadt gelangen. Der Evitts Creek Hiker-Biker-Campingplatz (N39 36.999 W78 43.954) ist wahrscheinlich einer der schlechtesten Unterkünfte, wenn Sie schlafen möchten. Es befindet sich direkt neben einem großen Garten und die Geräusche von Quetsch- und Hämmern sind keine willkommenen Nachbarn. Bleib hier nur, wenn du durch den Kakophan-Schläger schlafen kannst.

Mountainbiking
3 months ago

Freizeit Fuß- oder Radweg. Einfach auf einem Trailbike oder Comfortbike zu fahren, wenn Sie kein MTB haben.

Immer eine schöne Wanderung entlang des Flusses und über die Tunnelbrücke. Dies ist eine Basisroute, was bedeutet, dass ich viel mache, weil sie in der Nähe des Marriott liegt. Werde es immer wieder tun

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Schöner und leichter Trail - zumindest der kurze Teil, den ich gemacht habe. Coole Dinge auf dem Weg zu sehen.

Mountainbiking
Saturday, February 25, 2017

Große Fahrt mit Sohn und Freund zu Paw Paw zurück um 98-99

wandern
Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Ich konnte nur etwa 2 Meilen von Cumberland hinuntersteigen. Der Weg scheint eher zum Laufen und Radfahren zu sein. Es ist schön. Ich interessiere mich viel mehr für die Kajak-Möglichkeiten, war aber überrascht, niemanden am Fluss und wenig Informationen beim Ausstatter in Cumberland zu sehen.

wandern
Friday, October 31, 2014

Einige Freunde und ich haben tatsächlich den Kanal direkt über der Ohio-Linie aufgehoben und den Treidelpfad bis nach DC gewandert. Wir hatten alle eine tolle Zeit und es gab Zeiten, zu denen wir es tun würden. Auf dem Weg und zu anderen Zeiten hatten wir wirklich das Zuhause, um die verlorene Zeit und schlechtes Wetter auszugleichen. Alles in allem haben wir ungefähr zwei Wochen plus oder minus ein paar Tage gebraucht, um die gesamte Reise zu machen, und wir planen, dies in naher Zukunft mit unseren Kindern wieder zu tun.

Trailrunning
Friday, March 21, 2014

Ich habe 2 Jahre in Cumberland, MD gelebt. Ich habe ein paar Hin- und Rückfahrten gemacht, da dies der Ausgangspunkt ist. Genoss das Museum. Ich radelte ein paar Mal mit dem Rad und parkte manchmal näher an einigen der interessanteren Stellen, da ich es satt hatte, die gleichen 4-5 Meilen zu sehen, bevor ich mich umdrehte. Bei einem Besuch bei Harper's Ferry sah ich eine sehr coole Abteilung. Ich bin daran interessiert, eines Tages den Ultra Marathon laufen zu lassen.

Mountainbiking
7 days ago

wandern
16 days ago

Mountainbiking
16 days ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

Mountainbiking
3 months ago

wandern
5 months ago

wandern
Sunday, July 29, 2018

wandern
Sunday, September 03, 2017

aufgezeichnet C&O-Alleg Psge

rennrad
Monday, April 10, 2017

Empfohlene Wege

Memorial Day Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

C&O Canal Trail: Cumberland to North Branch

easyYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(28)
Cumberland, Maryland

C&O Canal Trail: Cumberland to North Branch is a 9.2 mile moderately trafficked point-to-point trail located near Cumberland, Maryland that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 9.2 miles Elevation Gain: 78 feet Route Type: Point to Point

dog friendly

kid friendly

backpacking

hiking

mountain biking

walking

bike touring

running

forest

river

views

This the "last" section of the C&O Canal is a well maintained and smooth section passing back yards and open fields and it finally comes into Cumberland. Development has left little evidence of the canal's working past aside from a few "stop locks", spillways and the canal itself. Like much of the towpath, the trail is almost perfectly flat. Lift Lock 75, the last on the canal, is right next to the North Branch Recreation Area and is the last significant change in elevation untill you get to Cumberland where a wooden walkway and ramps take you over the canal and into town. The Evitts Creek Hiker-Biker campsite (N39 36.999 W78 43.954) is probably one of the worst to stay at if you want to get any sleep. It sits right beside a major railyard and the sounds of train cars squeeling and banging are not welcome neighbors. Stay here only if you can sleep through the cacophanous racket.

hiking
2 months ago

This is the last part of the canal trail. All flat with clear trail all the way. This is used my recreational walkers and bikers. This part of the 180+ miles is not a traditional hiking area. Nice place to walk and unwind. Bring the dog if you have one.

mountain biking
Thu May 16 2019

Leisure foot or bike trail. Easy to ride on a trail bike or comfort bike if you don’t have a mtb.

Always a nice hike along the river and crossing the tunnel trail bridge. This is a base route meaning one I do a lot because it’s close to the Marriott. Will always do again.

Thu Sep 28 2017

Nice and easy trail - at least the short portion I did. Cool things to see along the way.

mountain biking
Sat Feb 25 2017

Great Ride with Son and friend to Paw Paw back around '98-'99

hiking
Tue Aug 25 2015

I was only able to hike about 2 miles down from Cumberland. The path seems more suited to running and biking. It is pretty. I am far more interested in the kayaking possibilities, but was surprised to see no one on the river and little information available at the outfitter in Cumberland.

hiking
Fri Oct 31 2014

Some friends and I actually picked up the canal just over the Ohio line and hiked the towpath all the way to DC. we all had a great time there was times when we would. Along the trail and other times we really had the home to make up for lost time and bad weather. all in all it took us about two weeks plus or minus a few days to make the entire trip and we are planning on doing it again in the near future with our children.

running
Fri Mar 21 2014

I lived in Cumberland, MD for 2 years. I did several out and backs on the trail, as it this is the starting point. Enjoyed the museum. I biked a few times on it, and sometimes parked closer to some of the more interesting spots, as I got tired of seeing the same 4-5 miles before turning around. On a visit to Harper's Ferry, saw a very cool section. I am interested in running the Ultra Marathon one day.

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

mountain biking
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

mountain biking
Tue Apr 30 2019

hiking
Sun Mar 10 2019

hiking
Sun Jul 29 2018

hiking
Sun Sep 03 2017

road biking
Mon Apr 10 2017