Saddleback Mountain via Bald Mountain Trail

MODERATE 21 reviews
#2 of 3 trails in

Saddleback Mountain via Bald Mountain Trail is a 5.4 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Wilton, Maine that features a great forest setting and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from April until September. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 5.4 miles Elevation Gain: 2,559 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

forest

views

hiking
11 months ago

Nice views, nice trail. This out-and-back took me about 3.5hours, hardest part was up and down Bald Mountain. Views from the top of Bald are nicer than from the top of Saddleback. All in all, it was about 5.5 miles. This trip is one to avoid in wet weather unless you are an experienced hiker, many slippery spots on the way down.

hiking
Sunday, July 15, 2018

Ascent starts right away Don’t forget to enjoy the wild blueberries at the top !

hiking
Sunday, July 08, 2018

Includes peaks of Bald Mountain and Saddleback Mountain. Bald Mountain is about a 1.75 mile round trip with wonderful views, at which point you can turn back or continue on to Saddleback Mountain. The Bald Mountain portion is still moderate - as other mentioned, the trail gets fairly steep fairly fast.

Sunday, June 24, 2018

Steep grade. The view was great at the top.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

went today very good hike

hiking
Friday, June 08, 2018

Amazing hike! Spectacular views and a fairly good challenge. With it so windy, didn't even need bug spray!

Monday, August 21, 2017

great hiking

hiking
Monday, July 17, 2017

Moderate trail, once you start it just goes up for 1 mile. beautiful views of the Weld, Mount Blue area.

hiking
23 hours ago

hiking
1 month ago

9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
Saturday, July 21, 2018

hiking
Saturday, June 30, 2018

hiking
Wednesday, June 27, 2018

hiking
Saturday, October 07, 2017

Sunday, August 20, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, August 09, 2017

hiking
Sunday, August 06, 2017

Featured Trails