Katahdin, Dudley - Knife Edge - Saddle [FERMÉ]

DIFFICILE 8 avis
N°30 sur 36 randonnées à

Katahdin, Dudley - Knife Edge - Saddle [CLOSED] est une piste en boucle de 4 km située près de Millinocket, dans le Maine. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et est préférable de juin à août.

DISTANCE
4.0 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
2,624 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

randonnée

fermé

chiens interdits

Prévoyez au moins deux heures pour gravir ce tronçon de 1,2 km du sentier Dudley. C'est assez raide et très accidenté, comme dans tout Katahdin. Il n’ya que trois voies de Pamola: le fil du couteau, Heelon Taylor ou le ruisseau rugissant ou le sentier Dudley. Le tranchant du couteau est très accidenté par endroits - la cheminée est presque une montée technique. Le bord supérieur du couteau Baxter est une ruée rocheuse. Le sentier de selle a une section de 1/2 km d'éboulis et est également très raide. Une randonnée difficile pour laquelle vous devriez être en forme. Les parties les plus difficiles et les plus longues de la randonnée sont exposées et au-dessus de la limite des arbres.

randonnée
rocheux
gravir
1 month ago

Une des meilleures randonnées dans le Maine!

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Depuis le 26 mai 2017, tous les sentiers sont ouverts à Baxter State Park, à l'exception de Dudley.

Thursday, June 08, 2017

Ce sentier est fermé pour l'été ou 2017. éventuellement plus longtemps.

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Impressionnant

randonnée
Wednesday, January 02, 2013

C'est la meilleure randonnée dans le Maine. Aussi le meilleur itinéraire de Chimney Pond à mon avis. Le couteau est étroit, mais ne craignez rien, marchez avec confiance et il est facilement praticable. J'y étais le 1er septembre 2012 et le temps était parfait. J'ai hâte de réserver cette année.

randonnée
4 days ago

5 months ago

randonnée
Monday, August 31, 2015

Katahdin, Dudley - Knife Edge - Saddle [CLOSED]

HARD 5 reviews
#8 of 23 trails in

Katahdin, Dudley - Knife Edge - Saddle [CLOSED] is a 4 mile loop trail located near Millinocket, Maine and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and is best used from June until August.

DISTANCE
4.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
2624 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

hiking

closed

You should plan on at least 2 hours to climb this 1.2 stretch of the Dudley trail. It is pretty steep and very rough, as is all of Katahdin. There are only 3 ways off of Pamola - the knife edge, Heelon Taylor to roaring brook or back down the Dudley trail. The Knife edge is very rugged in places - the chimney is almost a technical climb. The Baxter peak side of the knife edge is a boulder scramble. The saddle trail has a 1/2 mile section of scree and is also very steep. A tough hike that you should be in shape for. The most difficult and time consuming portions of the hike are exposed and above tree line.

3 months ago

As of May 26, 2017, Baxter State Park has all trails open except Dudley.

6 months ago

This trail is Closed for the summer or 2017. possibly longer.

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Awesome

hiking
Wednesday, January 02, 2013

This is the best hike in Maine. Also the best route from Chimney Pond in my opinion. The Knife Edge is narrow, but fear not, walk with confidence and it's easily passible. I was there on Sept 1, 2012 and the weather was perfect. I can't wait to book this year.

hiking
Monday, August 31, 2015