Holt Pond Preserve est un sentier en boucle de 7 km situé près de Bridgton, dans le Maine, qui comporte un lac et convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et est accessible toute l’année.

Distance: 4.5 miles Dénivelé: 259 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

convient aux enfants

ski de fond

randonnée

raquettes

balade

ornithologie

lac

faune

chiens interdits

Ce système de sentiers unique permet aux visiteurs de profiter d'une variété d'habitats de terres humides et de terres hautes dans la réserve naturelle de l'étang Holt. En partant du parking de Grist Mill Road, le sentier vous conduit à travers une forêt mélangée de bouleaux, de hêtres, de pruches et de pins. Vous traversez un mur de pierre dans un marais d'érables rouges. Au printemps, écoutez les bruits d'oiseaux migrateurs néo-tropicaux et, en hiver, recherchez les silhouettes agitées de mésanges qui frissonnent pour se réchauffer. En quittant le marais des érables rouges, vous vous retrouverez sur l'un des nombreux buttes de la réserve, un dépôt glaciaire riche en nutriments où les pruches ont pris racine. S'aventurer dans la rivière boueuse, une ondulation dans l'eau et une éclaboussure bruyante indique la présence d'un castor territorial. De retour sur le sentier, vous vous dirigez finalement vers l'endroit où les plantes mangent des insectes, l'orignal se vautrent dans les eaux boueuses et les visons partent à la recherche de poissons: le Holt Pond Overlook. Le trottoir de la promenade Holt Pond Overlook traverse un tapis de mousse de sphaigne qui tremble. Si vous pliez deux fois vos genoux, vous verrez un léger tremblement au bout du trottoir. En effet, la mousse de sphaigne flotte, colonisant les eaux libres devant vous. La tourbière tremblante abrite des plantes de pichet, des orchidées, des feuilles de cuir, des rosiers des marais et de nombreuses autres plantes uniques, l'une des communautés naturelles les plus diverses de Holt Pond. Arrêtez-vous au bout de la promenade et appréciez la beauté de ce lieu chaque saison, lorsque les canards migrants nagent, que les nénuphars recouvrent la surface, que les feuilles rouges, jaunes, oranges et brunes brillent dans les profondeurs ou que la neige et la glace isolent la vie vibrante dessous. Après les perspectives de l’étang Holt, les pistes retournent dans un bosquet de pruches, traversent des terres basses bordées d’érables rouges, puis atteignent à proximité du chemin Grist Mill. Les sentiers continuent sur une forêt plus aride avant de retourner sur une promenade traversant le marécage d'érables rouges et finalement vers un autre sentier en tête sur le chemin Knapp en sortant du chemin Fosterville. Le sentier continue ensuite sur la rive sud de l’étang Holt, qui est plus sec mais moins utilisé que d’autres tronçons. Le sentier court ensuite plus au sud avant de retourner à l’étang, puis vers Chaplins Mill Road. Après avoir parcouru environ 1000 pieds sur la route, tournez à gauche dans un ancien champ de foin pour rejoindre le sentier pour sa dernière étape, le long de la rivière Muddy. Un sentier supplémentaire monte au nord et passe Grist Mill Road vers des formations rocheuses sur Byron's Hill.

randonnée
1 month ago

Grande randonnée amicale pour les enfants!

randonnée
2 months ago

Je vis à Bridgton depuis 13 ans et c’est la première fois que mon mari et moi parcourons l’ensemble de la boucle! C'était une belle journée, tous les sentiers ont été damées et coupées des trottoirs! Aussi, vous n'avez pas à marcher une partie de la route comme le montre l'application, sentier continue à travers les bois, toutes les nouvelles marques blanches sont sur les arbres le long du sentier! Très calme sur le sentier!

randonnée
boueux
2 months ago

Un favori de la famille, nous l’avons fait l’été et autour de Thanksgiving, par temps chaud et sous une neige légère. Parfois, l’eau est très haute et recouvre des morceaux de la promenade. C’est généralement boueuse, mais toujours calme, avec peu de monde et une vue magnifique sur le lac. Bien marqué et facile à suivre, ni trop long ni trop fatigant

randonnée
boueux
couvert de végétation
insectes
3 months ago

randonnée
boueux
couvert de végétation
insectes
3 months ago

randonnée
neige
5 months ago

balade
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

La première moitié de la boucle était une belle promenade à travers forêts et terres humides, comprenant deux points offrant une vue magnifique sur la rivière et l’étang. Sentiers / promenades bien entretenus et balisés. Vraiment agréable. La seconde moitié comprenait un trottoir très envahi par la végétation, une errance déroutante dans des bois clairsemés et poussiéreux et un peu de temps sur une route. Il y a une rampe de lancement de canoë qui avait un canoë public qui était très cool, nous l'avons pris pour un tour rapide et avons vu des loges de castor de près. Portez des bottes car il y a des taches de boue / puddley le long des sentiers.

randonnée
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Belle promenade, bien marquée pour la première mi-temps mais assez envahie par la végétation et difficile à suivre pour la seconde mi-temps. Très buggy, apportez un spray anti-insectes. Plusieurs bons points de vue sur l'étang et même un canoë gratuit à emporter, très cool!

randonnée
Sunday, May 06, 2018

Les sentiers sont mouillés (attendus à cette époque de l'année). J'aime tous les ponts de bois traversant les terres humides. J'ai suivi 5,4 milles pour la boucle. La route menant au parking est une route non entretenue. Apportez un insectifuge!

randonnée
Saturday, August 20, 2016

C'est un merveilleux sentier autour d'une zone humide et d'un étang avec une faune variée. Plusieurs géocaches peuvent être trouvés ici. La route vers l'entrée n'est pas déneigée en hiver.

randonnée
4 days ago

randonnée
28 days ago

randonnée
Saturday, October 06, 2018

randonnée
Sunday, August 26, 2018

randonnée
Sunday, August 19, 2018

balade
Monday, October 02, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, July 29, 2017

balade
Sunday, August 28, 2016

randonnée
Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Randonnées populaires

Holt Pond Preserve is a 7.2 kilometer lightly trafficked loop trail located near Bridgton, Maine that features a lake and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

Distance: 7.2 km Elevation Gain: 79 m Route Type: Loop

kid friendly

cross country skiing

hiking

snowshoeing

walking

bird watching

lake

wildlife

no dogs

This unique trail system allows visitors to enjoy a variety of wetland and upland habitats in the Holt Pond Nature Preserve. Starting at the parking area off Grist Mill Road, the path takes you through a mixed forest of birch, beech, hemlock, and pine. You cross over a stone wall into a red maple swamp. In the spring, listen for the sounds of returning neo-tropical migrant birds and in the winter, look for the flitting silhouettes of chickadees shivering for warmth. Leaving the red maple swamp you find yourself on one of the several hummocks in the preserve, a nutrient rich glacial deposit where hemlocks have taken root. Venturing out to the Muddy River, a ripple in the water and a loud splash indicates the presence of a territorial beaver. Returning to the trail, you eventually make your way to the place where plants eat insects, moose wallow in the muddy waters, and minks scurry about looking for fish: the Holt Pond Overlook. The Holt Pond Overlook boardwalk crosses over a quaking mat of sphagnum moss. If you bend your knees twice, you will see a slight quaking motion at the end of the boardwalk. This is because the sphagnum moss is floating, colonizing the open water in front of you. The quaking bog is home to pitcher plants, orchids, leatherleaf, swamp rose, and many other unique plants, as it is one of the most diverse natural communities at Holt Pond. Pause at the end of the boardwalk and appreciate the beauty of this spot in every season, when migrant ducks swim about, water lilies dot the surface, reflected red, yellow, orange, and brown leaves shine in the depths, or snow and ice insulate the vibrant life underneath. After the Holt Pond outlook, the trails heads back into a hemlock grove, through red maple low lands and then up to within sight of Grist Mill Road. The trails continues over more dry woodland before returning to a boardwalk through red maple swamp and eventually to another trail head on the Knapp Road off of Fosterville Road. The trail then continues along the south shore of Holt Pond which is dryer but less used then other trail sections. The trail then jogs further south before returning to the pond and then out to Chaplins Mill Road. After walking about 1000 feet on the road, take a left through an old hay field to join back up with the trail for its last leg as it follows the Muddy River. An additional trail leg heads north up and over Grist Mill Road to rocky formations on Byron's Hill.

Beautiful trail but very wet. Many of board walkways have been covered in water and slippery. Bring your waterproof hightop hickers.

hiking
1 month ago

Get trail out in the woods. Very well marked and easy to navigate. Bridges and walkways are amazingly done! Road in was rutted but my Subaru did fine. We love this trail!

hiking
bugs
muddy
1 month ago

Nice trails - great bridge work.

recorded Holt Pond Preserve

hiking
muddy
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

We hiked this trail on 3/7/20 with our dog. It was a beautiful hike by the pond and through the wetlands. A great winter hike! Definitely needed waterproof boots for portions of the trail this time of year because some of the wetland areas had high water levels.

hiking
8 months ago

Great kid friendly hike!

hiking
10 months ago

Have lived in Bridgton for 13 years and today was the first time that my husband and I hiked the whole loop! It was a great day, all the trails have been groomed and cut back from the boardwalks! Also you do not have to walk part of the road like the app shows, trail continues through the woods, all new white marks are on the trees along the trail! Really quiet on the trail!

hiking
muddy
10 months ago

A family favorite, we’ve done this one in the summer and around Thanksgiving, in warm weather and light snow. Sometimes the water is very high and covers pieces of the boardwalk, and it is typically muddy, but always quiet with few people and lovely views of the lake. Well marked and easy to follow, not too long or too strenuous

hiking
bugs
muddy
over grown
10 months ago

hiking
bugs
muddy
over grown
10 months ago

hiking
snow
Sun Apr 14 2019

walking
Wed Aug 15 2018

The first half of the loop was a great walk through forest and wet-lands, including two points that have great views of the river and pond. Well maintained and marked trails/boardwalks. Really enjoyable. The second half included a severely overgrown boardwalk, a confusing wander through sparse and buggy woods, and some time on a road. There is a canoe launch that had a public canoe which was very cool, we took it for a quick spin and saw some beaver lodges up close. Wear boots as there are muddy/puddley spots along the trails.

hiking
Wed Aug 15 2018

Nice walk, well marked for the first half but quite overgrown and hard to follow for the second half. Very buggy, bring bug spray. Several nice lookout spots for the pond, and even a free canoe you can take out, very cool!

hiking
Sun May 06 2018

The trails are wet (expected this time of year) I love all the wooden bridges through the wet lands. I tracked 5.4 Miles for the loop. The road to the parking lot is a Not maintained road. Bring bug spray!

hiking
Sat Aug 20 2016

This is a wonderful trail around a wetland and pond with lots of varied wildlife. Several geocache can be found here. The road to the entrance is not plowed in winter.

hiking
2 days ago

hiking
2 days ago

hiking
7 days ago

hiking
21 days ago

hiking
21 days ago

hiking
25 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

recorded Holt Pond Preserve

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

Showing results 1 - 25 of 36