Harris Mountain Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 6 avis

Le sentier Harris Mountain est un sentier modéré de 1,6 km situé près de Dixmont, dans le Maine, qui présente de belles fleurs sauvages et qui est considéré comme modéré. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à octobre. Les chiens sont également capables d'utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 1.0 miles Dénivelé: 262 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

convient aux enfants

randonnée

VTT

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

course à pied

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

À partir du 23/05/19, il y a un arbre abattu sur le chemin et les randonneurs devront faire un détour par la route, ajoutant environ 2 km à votre parcours. Old Fire Tower, vues de la région environnante à l’automne, bonne randonnée pour emmener votre chien Après le stationnement, le sentier ressemble plus à un sentier de jeep lavé qu’un sentier pédestre. Il s’agit d’une montée progressive jusqu’à un atterrissage offrant une bonne vue du feuillage automnal. Le sentier tourne à gauche et devient soudainement plus raide mais pas très difficile. Avez-vous près du sommet, il nivelle et une vieille tour de feu est située au sommet. La tour d’incendie est dans un état de délabrement grave (au moment où les photos ont été prises, elle était dans un bien meilleur état qu’aujourd’hui) et il est assez dangereux de grimper. Il n'y a pas vraiment de vues intéressantes, sauf en automne, le feuillage est assez beau. Pas de vue du haut sauf par la tour. C’est un endroit agréable pour promener le chien ou s’entraîner à vélo, avec une descente rapide (port du casque!).

randonnée
boueux
insectes
propriété privée
5 months ago

Il y a une propriété privée sur le chemin - actuellement au début de 2019, il y a un arbre dans le chemin qui vous permet de marcher sur la route menant au sommet qui ajoute environ un kilomètre.

Wed Jun 13 2018

La tour d’incendie a disparu, mais c’est un bon point de départ / rotation pour la randonnée (voir l’image associée au sentier, mais c’est le seul endroit sur le sentier qui permet de voir le ciel). La randonnée a lieu à partir de la maison et de la grange mentionnées ci-dessus. La maison semble être un champ de tir (je soupçonne un club de tir local) et ne semble pas être utilisée très fréquemment. En ce qui concerne le trail, les conditions sont bonnes. Sec et pas envahi du tout. Montée et descente très facile. Au cours de la randonnée, vous passez devant une cabane abandonnée utilisée lors de l’utilisation de la tour à incendie. Cela a l'air très sinistre dans la forêt faiblement éclairée. Pas de vue sur l'horizon ou le paysage mais bon pour une belle promenade relaxante dans les bois. Juste après l'ancre en ciment de l'ancienne tour, il y a une belle petite source bien alimentée à gauche. Cependant, les conditions étaient très sèches et le printemps a été presque complètement sec lors de notre visite.

randonnée
Mon Jul 31 2017

Le sentier que j'ai suivi à partir de cette application commence à la fin de "Forest Lane", où l'on se sent dans la cour de quelqu'un parce qu'il y a une maison d'un côté et une nouvelle dalle de garage de l'autre. Si cette piste n'est pas la piste (je n'ai vu aucun flambeau ni Trail Head), quelqu'un devrait commenter où elle se trouve. C'est certes un sentier mais on a l'impression d'être sur une propriété privée. La tour de feu est parti

randonnée
Sat May 26 2012

Randonnée inégale très facile. Pas de vues. Beaucoup de petites cabines le long du chemin. Sympa d'être dans les bois quand même. Bon pour une randonnée l'après-midi. Le chemin menant de ME-7 / Moosehead Trail est indiqué par un petit panneau noir «Forest Road».

randonnée
Fri Jun 17 2011

Ma femme et moi avons parcouru ce sentier il y a quelques années. Je suggère de se garer sur la RT. 7. Vous devrez surveiller attentivement le départ du sentier. Le sentier est essentiellement une route de jeep au sommet. Pas beaucoup de points de vue du sommet. L’autre intervenant a raison de dire que l’ancienne tour d’incendie n’était pas en bon état; il est bloqué et probablement dangereux de grimper. J'ai lu un rapport qui dit que la tour a depuis été démolie. C'était une tour de bois inhabituelle. Le sentier est très populaire auprès des motocyclistes. Il serait assez facile de faire de la randonnée avec des enfants.

randonnée
Sun Sep 02 2018

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Harris Mountain Trail is a 1 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Dixmont, Maine that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Length 1.0 mi Elevation gain 262 ft Route type Out & Back

Dog friendly

Kid friendly

Hiking

Mountain biking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Running

Forest

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Description
Waypoints (0)
Getting There

As of 5/23/19, there is a downed tree on the path and hikers will need to detour onto the road adding a mile or so to your overall route. Old Fire Tower, views of surrounding area in fall, good hike to take your dog After parking, the trail is more like a washed out jeep trail than a foot path. Its a gradual uphill hike to a landing that provides a good view of fall foliage. The trail takes a left hand turn and gets suddenly steeper but not terribly difficult. Has you near the top it levels out and an old fire tower is located at the top. The fire tower is in a severe state of disrepair (at the time the photos were taken it was in much better condition than as of late) and is quite dangerous to climb. There is not any real interesting views except in the fall the foliage is quite nice. No views from the top except by means of the tower. This is a nice place to take the dog for a walk, or for a good work out on a bike, with a fast downhill run (wear a helmet!).

From Waterville, ME take Rt-139 east towards Unity. At blinking light in Unity turn left onto Rt-202/9 At Dixmont (blinking light) turn right onto Rt-7 Turn right onto Fire tower Rd. (unpaved road) Park when road conditions don't allow you to continue

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (7)
Photos (1)
Recordings (3)
Completed (17)
David Morrison
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jul 03 2020
Mountain bikingBugsOver grownRocky

it is on somebody's property but I spoke with them and there is an actual Trailhead just passed their yard

View David's Recording
Derek R. Ginn
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu May 23 2019
HikingBugsMuddyPrivate property

There's private property on the way up - currently at the start of 2019 theres a tree down in the way up so you hyave to walk the road leading to the top which adds a mile or so.

Peak Bagger
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed Jun 13 2018

The fire tower is gone but is a good end point/turn around for the hike (see image related to trail, but it’s the only spot on the trail that clears out where you can see the sky). The Hike takes place from the for-mentioned house & barn area. The house appears to be a shooting range (I suspect a local shooting club) and Does not appear to be used very frequently. As for trail, the conditions are good footing. Dry and not overgrown at all. Very easy ascent and descent. During the trail hike, you pass an abandoned hut used when the fire tower was utilized. Looks very spooky in the dimly lit forest area. No views of the horizon or landscape but good for a nice relaxing walk in the woods. Just after the cement anchor for the former tower is a nice little spring fed well on the left. However, the conditions were very dry and the actual spring was nearly dried up during our visit.

Zeb Pike
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMon Jul 31 2017
Hiking

The trail I followed from this app starts at the end of "Forest Lane," where it feels you're in someone's front yard because there's a home on one side and brand new garage slab on the other. If this track isn't the trail (I saw no blazes or Trail Head) someone should comment where it is. It's certainly a trail but feels like you're on private property. The fire tower is gone

Neil Ruthven
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat May 26 2012
Hiking

Very easy unevenful hike. No vistas. Lots of little cabins along the way. Nice to be out in the woods just the same. Good for a lesiurely afternoon hike. Road off ME-7/Moosehead Trail is maked with a small dark sign "Forest Road."

Jim Melcher
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFri Jun 17 2011
Hiking

My wife and I hiked this trail a few years back. I would suggest parking on Rt. 7. You will need to watch carefully for the trailhead. The trail is basically a jeep road to the summit. Not many views from the summit. The other reviewer is correct that the old fire tower was not in good repair; it is blocked off and probably unsafe to climb. I have read a report that says the tower has since been taken down. It was an unusual wooden tower. The trail is very popular with ATV riders. It would be easy enough to hike with kids.

John Bilowith
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 02 2018
Hiking
View John's Recording