Palmetto, Bayou Coquille and Marsh Overlook

EASY 33 reviews

Palmetto, Bayou Coquille and Marsh Overlook is a 4.2 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Marrero, Louisiana that features a lake and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round.

DISTANCE
4.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
19 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

forest

lake

river

views

wildlife

bugs

muddy

no dogs

Bayou Coquille

17 days ago

Note the visitor’s center isn’t open Monday or Tuesday, but you still have access to trails, maps (if needed), restrooms and water. Easy trail/ well maintained boardwalk. Take lots of water (the humidity is unbelievable). We were able to see several alligators and birds. Beautiful flora/fauna. More of a walk/stroll than an actual hike.

hiking
19 days ago

Easy stroll through the Bayou. We saw six alligators including a large one swimming near the Marsh Overlook. Definitely worth the trip down from NOLA.

2 months ago

The entire trail is a wooden walkway through a swamp, so it felt pretty immersive. The weather wasn’t too hot, so bugs weren’t a problem. I saw several snakes —too many to count actually, great big frogs, and two 6-7 foot alligators. One was a bit too close for comfort and surprised the heck out of me. I wouldn’t take any small
children on this trail. I also managed to get sunburned despite SPF 50, a hat, and the trail being nicely shaded.

hiking
4 months ago

Wonderful, easy trail with tons of history, flora and fauna. We saw a few gators off the trail too...so beware.

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

3 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

Monday, May 29, 2017

hiking
Friday, May 19, 2017

hiking
Saturday, May 06, 2017

Saturday, April 08, 2017

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Monday, March 06, 2017

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 04, 2016

walking
Saturday, July 16, 2016

hiking
Sunday, June 26, 2016

hiking
Saturday, June 25, 2016

nature trips
Sunday, May 08, 2016

recorded

walking
Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Load More