Rock Shelter via Low Gap Trail

MODERATE 33 reviews

Rock Shelter via Low Gap Trail is a 3.1 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Unionville, Indiana that features a great forest setting and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
3.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
314 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

hiking
1 month ago

Nice little hike that is used enough to be easily followed. Recommend pants as both sides of the path have a significant amount of poison ivy. The hike took about an hour with a short stop at the rock shelter.

hiking
6 months ago

Nice scenic trail, rock shelter definitely looks better in person , the trail is not too hard , my father and I did it in just over 2 hours taking our time and stopping anytime we wanted to see anything . like most I would recommend going clockwise. All in all a nice fun trail, definitely worth it .

9 months ago

Nice easy hike that took my girlfriend and I about an hour. We went out on a warm day in late November and conditions were dry. There are a few hills but definitely nothing too extreme and we had the trail to ourselves.

10 months ago

Great trail to take a the boys on a Webelos hike.

hiking
Thursday, July 27, 2017

Nice, moderately difficult trail with some hills. Several downed trees to go around and very buggy this time of year. Nice scenery, bet it will be beautiful in the Fall!

Friday, July 07, 2017

Nice trail.

hiking
Saturday, June 03, 2017

I really enjoyed this trail, I thought it had a bit of everything. Not to hard so kids and older people can do it as well. Beautiful scenery mainly the whole hike.

hiking
Tuesday, May 02, 2017

Plenty of wildflowers once into Sweedy Hollow Nature Preserve.

hiking
Sunday, October 23, 2016

Nice easy hike

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

trail running
11 months ago

hiking
Sunday, July 23, 2017

hiking
Saturday, July 15, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 02, 2017

hiking
Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Sunday, April 09, 2017

hiking
Thursday, April 06, 2017

hiking
Monday, February 20, 2017

hiking
Saturday, November 19, 2016

Load More