DePauw Nature Trail

MODERATE 33 reviews
#1 of 1 trails in

DePauw Nature Trail is a 3.9 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Greencastle, Indiana that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
3.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
154 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

birding

cross country skiing

hiking

nature trips

road biking

trail running

walking

forest

lake

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

Outstandingly maintained nature park with over 9 miles of trails. One of the best nature parks in Indiana. Perfectly maintained trails with outstanding views. The university has a full naturalist program that is professional run and with modern facilities. If you enjoy being out in nature you should not miss this park.

1 month ago

Great trail. Especially the quarry trail

1 month ago

Nice variety of scenery. Trails well marked and interconnected.

hiking
3 months ago

Nice, peaceful, and full of beauty. The quarry is the highlight (in my opinion). Trails are not hard. I would rate them closer to “easy” instead of moderate. A lot of small trails good for a beginner. It would also be a great ace to jog or mountain bike.

hiking
11 months ago

Great beautiful views & space to hike along the rim if the rock quarry.

hiking
Monday, May 29, 2017

Thanks Depauw for repurposing a quarry. Nice spot, even saw a wedding there today !

trail running
Tuesday, March 07, 2017

High qual

Sunday, September 18, 2016

came here thinking it would be more hiking involved. the place is well taken care of and all the paths are gavel. great place to get you nature walk on.

hiking
Sunday, June 05, 2016

very well maintained. Nice place to take non hiking friends as well due to resting points, picnic spots.

Friday, May 27, 2016

Awesome!

hiking
Monday, April 25, 2016

Wow! This has to be DePauw's best kept secret! Thank you DePauw for making this gorgeous and well- maintained trail freely accessible to the public!

hiking
Thursday, April 14, 2016

This is a nice, easy set of trails. Great for a nice afternoon walk if you want to get some trail time but don't want to stray too far from civilization.

Saturday, March 26, 2016

great trails and pretty scenery!

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Awesome place! Quarry rim trail is beautiful only topped by the quarry trail going into the canyon. Very different than most hikes in Indiana. Bird watching was great. Never seen turkey vultures within 20 feet on the ground before. Very impressive! If you haven't been here, GO! Truly Awesome!

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

Monday, May 22, 2017

hiking
Sunday, May 14, 2017

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, September 06, 2016

hiking
Saturday, August 27, 2016

hiking
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Load More