Oriole Grove Trail: Jenson Woods

INTERMÉDIAIRE 15 avis

Oriole Grove Trail: Jenson Woods est un sentier en boucle de 3.8 miles peu fréquenté situé près de Lake Bluff, Illinois. Le sentier longe une rivière et sa difficulté est évaluée comme modérée. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier mais seulement en laisse.

Distance: 3.8 miles Dénivelé: 36 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

course à pied

forêt

voie partiellement aménagée

rivière

faune

insectes

neige

Connue localement sous le nom de Jensen Woods, cette réserve de 86 acres chevauche la frontière entre Lake Forest et Lake Bluff et relie deux zones naturelles communautaires. Dans Oriole Grove, il y a 1 km de sentiers enherbés, ce qui en fait un endroit idéal pour la randonnée et le ski de fond. La réserve comprend une forêt de chênes et de noyer sylvestres, qui abrite un vaste bosquet de scories et de chênes blancs âgés de plus de 220 ans. Il y a aussi une forêt de tilleuls et de tilleuls et deux zones de prairies avec des prairies restantes et restaurées, y compris «Birch Prairie».

a enregistré Oriole Grove Trail: Jenson Woods

randonnée
7 months ago

Nous n’avons que peu de chemin sur le chemin avec les lignes électriques et avons fait demi-tour. Beaucoup de bicyclettes qui passaient devant vous, la route goudronnée et les grandes lignes électriques nous ont tué.

9 months ago

J'aime cette boucle. Je classerais cela assez facile cependant!

randonnée
Tue Sep 19 2017

La première moitié du sentier était belle. Nous ne nous attendions pas à ce que la dernière moitié du sentier soit sur une piste cyclable pavée sous des lignes électriques (je suppose que si j'avais regardé la carte de plus près, j'aurais pu le deviner). Le bourdonnement des lignes électriques était un peu gênant / dérangeant et le chemin pavé est dur pour mes articulations. Nous allons juste faire un aller et retour la prochaine fois.

Sun Apr 16 2017

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
3 months ago

balade
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

Sun Nov 25 2018

randonnée
Fri Sep 21 2018

randonnée
Sun Aug 05 2018

randonnée
Sat Jun 02 2018

Sat Apr 15 2017

Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Oriole Grove Trail: Jenson Woods

moderate(16)
Lake Bluff, Illinois

Oriole Grove Trail: Jenson Woods is a 3.8 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Lake Bluff, Illinois that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 3.8 miles Elevation Gain: 36 feet Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

running

forest

partially paved

river

wildlife

bugs

snow

Locally known as Jensen Woods, this 86-acre preserve straddles the Lake Forest–Lake Bluff border and connects two community natural areas. Within Oriole Grove there are 1.35 miles of grass trails, making it a great place for hiking and cross-country skiing. The preserve includes an old growth oak-hickory woodland, which features a large grove of massive bur and white oaks estimated to be over 220 years old. There is also an oak-basswood woodland and two grassland areas with remnant and restored prairie, including “Birch Prairie.”

hiking
snow
2 months ago

Awesome wooded section. Lots of spots to get your feet wet if you’re not careful. The bike trail section was a nice reprieve from the slushy woods. Probably a lot nicer without snow.

hiking
11 months ago

We only got a little ways down the path with the power lines and turned around. Lots of bikes zooming past you, the paved road and the large power lines killed it for us.

Thu Feb 21 2019

I like this loop. I would class it pretty easy though!

hiking
Tue Sep 19 2017

The first half of the trail was lovely. We weren't expecting the last half of the trail to be on a paved bike path under electrical lines (I suppose if I had looked at the map more closely I could have guessed that). The buzzing from the electrical lines was somewhat annoying/disturbing and the paved path is hard on my joints. We'll just make it an out and back next time.

Sun Apr 16 2017

walking
11 months ago

Sun Nov 25 2018

hiking
Fri Sep 21 2018

hiking
Sun Aug 05 2018

hiking
Sat Jun 02 2018

Sat Apr 15 2017