North Fork Trail Clinton Lake

MODERATE 24 reviews

North Fork Trail Clinton Lake is a 9.1 mile loop trail located near Clinton, Illinois. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking and trail running.

DISTANCE
9.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
994 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

hiking

trail running

lake

1 month ago

Great views of the lake, saw some deer too!

2 months ago

3 months ago

6 months ago

7 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

11 months ago

11 months ago

Make sure you read the posted signs about when the trail is open. It is closed certain times of the year for hunting. It's a nice trail but can be primitive at times. Ticks can be very bad in this area.

hiking
Thursday, May 05, 2016

There were spring time flowers everywhere! The trail was very well marked and easy to walk on... our little dog had absolutely no trouble. Lots of minor uphill & downhill parts in the first mile (which unfortunately, was as far as we could go due to time) so it was a lot of fun!

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Saturday, April 16, 2016

hiking
Saturday, April 16, 2016

Sunday, March 27, 2016

hiking
Sunday, March 13, 2016

hiking
Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Most parts of this trails are through the woods so not very amazing visibility. However occasionally you can get off the trail and have an overview of the lake. At one point the trail changed into a prairie which is pretty cool.

Warning: When you were hiking south again, pay attention to the side of the trail. Someone put something interesting there, but I won't spoil it.

hiking
Monday, February 01, 2016

This trail is very slick after a thaw and has quite a bit of elevation change for the middle of Illinois.

hiking
Sunday, January 31, 2016

Thursday, January 14, 2016

hiking
Thursday, January 14, 2016

Monday, November 09, 2015