Merwin Nature Preserve Trail is a 2 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Lexington, Illinois that features a river. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for hiking, walking, trail running, and nature trips.

DISTANCE
2.0 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
121 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

river

views

wild flowers

no dogs

Parklands Foundations Merwin Nature Preserve is a lovely hiking spot along the Mackinaw River. This area is described as the "Crown Jewel" of Parklands Foundation and they have put a great deal of effort into restoring the natural prairie.

hiking
1 month ago

Very peaceful. Looking forward to trying it again.

hiking
3 months ago

Bring your bug spray!!! Mosquitoes are high in the area. Kept getting snagged and scratched by thorn branches that hung out into some of the main pathways which narrows greatly in some areas.

My son and I couldn’t finish the trail do to how bad the mosquitoes was. Only thing that we enjoyed is we got to see a few different types butterflies and it’s quite of people. Maybe we will try it again when mosquitoes aren’t so bad.

hiking
6 months ago

Beautiful river views and very peaceful.

hiking
6 months ago

Took my 5 year old on it today, and she didn’t want to leave. She said she wanted to do it 10 more times.

hiking
Friday, August 04, 2017

Nice easy trail. Lots of interesting Flora along the way. Quite a few mosquitos, but it is late summer.

Sunday, May 28, 2017

no dogs allowed

hiking
Sunday, April 30, 2017

We've visited the Preserve the past two years while the bluebells were blooming in April and have really enjoyed the easy hike.

Saturday, April 01, 2017

Beautiful easy hike with lots of beautiful woodpecker sightings!

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
Sunday, October 22, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 24, 2017

hiking
Saturday, September 09, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 03, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 30, 2017

Sunday, July 30, 2017

Monday, July 10, 2017

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Sunday, March 19, 2017

hiking
Friday, January 23, 2015