Lake Defiance Trail

EASY 23 reviews

Lake Defiance Trail is a 3.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near McHenry, Illinois that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
3.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
213 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

cross country skiing

forest

lake

views

wild flowers

A multi-use trail system through woods, wetlands around a glacial lake. This is very nice, well maintained trail system of alternating asphalt pavement and crushed limestone, that is one of several hikes in the Moraine Hills State Park near McHenry, Illinois. The trail system can be used by day-hikers, bikers, and (in the winter) cross-country skiers. The park service here does an excellent job of making sure that the bike traffic flows in one direction, minimizing the stress for the day-hiker, The trail winds it way through alternating sections of woodland and wetland as it meanders its way around its namesake, Lake Defiance. The trail offers nice views of the glacial lake and some excellent birding opportunities, as the wetlands and woodlands provide homes for water fowl, kestrels, falcons, red wing balckbirds, orioles, and many others. The park service offers guided hikes and birdwatching on many days, call ahead for a schedule. Water is available through pumps on the hike, and there are concessions at the park station.

23 days ago

5 months ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
7 months ago

Nice park

9 months ago

hiking
Sunday, August 07, 2016

hiking
Saturday, May 14, 2016

Saturday, May 14, 2016

Monday, April 25, 2016

hiking
Sunday, April 17, 2016

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Friday, March 25, 2016

Really nice state park.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

walking
Saturday, February 20, 2016

hiking
Thursday, December 31, 2015

hiking
Friday, July 03, 2015

Love this park. Loads to see as you walk. Great place for bikes too!

Saturday, February 28, 2015

cross country skiing
Saturday, February 14, 2015

cross country skiing
Saturday, January 17, 2015

hiking
Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Nice trail, easy with minimal elevations. Late October hike the leaves are gone, but still some birds and reptiles to see (turtles an garter snakes).