Chief Illini Trail est un sentier de circulation léger situé à proximité de Findlay, dans l’Illinois, avec un lac et classé modéré. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et est accessible toute l’année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

DISTANCE
4.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
282 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

camping

pêche

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

VTT

ornithologie

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

Un sentier à Eagle Creek State Park à Lone Point. Un abri pour pique-nique Et le camping existe à 3 miles du point de départ du sentier de prêt 8 miles du départ du sentier Eagle Creek.

6 months ago

Cinquante membres de l'Ordre du Flèche de BSA ont nettoyé et nettoyé le sentier en mars 2018. Vous ne trouvez plus grand-chose pour les sentiers dans le centre de l'Illinois. Vous prenez ce que vous pouvez obtenir. À un moment donné sur le sentier se trouve un camping semi-primitif. Il dispose d'un foyer, d'une table de pique-nique et d'un abri permanent.

randonnée
Sunday, February 04, 2018

c'est un endroit charmant avec une vue magnifique, je lui donne un 4 étoiles pour la personne moyenne un 3.5 étoiles pour une personne plus en forme ne recommanderais pas la saison des pluies à cause de la vallée et d'un lit de ruisseau qu'il faut traverser

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Nous lui avons donné une étoile car nous avons conduit une heure pour parcourir spécifiquement le sentier Chief Illini. Au début du sentier, il y avait une pancarte indiquant «Fermé-ne pas entrer». Rien sur aucun site Web, rien à l'entrée du parc ... Nous avons parcouru d'autres sentiers dans le parc et ils étaient ok. Beaucoup d'entretien est nécessaire (arbres, arbustes et mauvaises herbes envahis par la végétation) et les kilométrages de sentiers sont répertoriés, mais les sentiers eux-mêmes se croisent et sont difficiles à suivre. Une autre situation délicate est que les sentiers plus petits traversent les campings des gens… Nous nous sommes bien amusés mais ne reviendrons probablement pas trop loin… pour des fermetures potentielles et des besoins de maintenance élevés…

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

E

randonnée
Friday, November 13, 2015

Un sentier difficile en distance et en altitude gagne au milieu des Grandes Plaines, qui seraient autrement plates. La grande majorité du sentier est modérément profonde dans les bois et éloignée de la civilisation mais pas particulièrement pittoresque. En fonction de votre réflexe "eek", vous voudrez peut-être éviter cette piste de la fin du printemps à la fin de l'été en raison de l'épidémie de tiques. J'utilise ce sentier comme lieu d'entraînement pour les randonnées.

randonnée
Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Le sentier Chief Illini suit l'extrémité ouest du lac Shelbyville entre le parc d'état Eagle Creek et le terrain de camping / lancement de bateau exploité par l'USACE. La longueur totale du sentier est de 11,3 miles. Des parkings sont situés tous les quelques kilomètres, ce qui permet aux randonneurs de modifier la durée de leur randonnée s’ils le souhaitent. Des flammes blanches peintes sur les arbres marquent le chemin. Le sentier est principalement boisé d'érables à sucre, de chênes blancs, de chênes rouges, de chinkapins et de pattes dans les versants des hautes terres. Il y a quelques années, de lourdes inondations ont emporté plusieurs passerelles qui traversent des zones humides dans des criques et des ravins. À la fin de l'automne, cela n'était pas un problème, mais au printemps ou en été, le sentier peut devenir impraticable ou nécessiter une randonnée hors sentier pour contourner l'obstacle. À environ cinq kilomètres du point de départ du sentier de Lone Point, du vieux matériel agricole est situé un peu en dehors du sentier. Avec de belles vues sur le lac et le terrain un peu difficile et accidenté, le sentier donne l’impression d’être dans un endroit plus éloigné du centre de l’Illinois.

randonnée
Thursday, April 30, 2015

Chief Illini Trail est un sentier de randonnée accidenté de 11,3 milles situé dans le centre de l’Illinois, près de Findlay, dans le parc national Eagle Creek. D'autres pourraient être en désaccord avec mon examen de la piste en général; mais, je pensais que le sentier était à la fois impressionnant et un effort de plus de 50 livres. fait l’objet d’une randonnée conditionnelle pour une randonnée dans l’arrière-pays de 13 jours en direction de Philmont Scout Ranch en juillet. La piste a besoin de quelques travaux qui sont activement pris en charge par l'Army Corps of Engineers. Je recommande de commencer au point de départ du sentier Eagle Creek et de faire de la randonnée jusqu'au camping Lone Point. Les terrains de camping dans ce parc sont extrêmement bien entretenus. Le sentier offre une belle canopée et une profondeur de bois qui, à l’exception de quelques brosses avec des fermes, vous donneront l’impression d’être dans un environnement beaucoup plus profond et de magnifiques brosses panoramiques avec le lac Shelbyville. Je recommande vraiment ce sentier; robuste et primitif, mais le vaut vraiment le coup. Compte tenu de la façon dont nous avons parcouru ce sentier, je ne le considérerais pas comme un sentier de loisirs ... c’est un sentier très polyvalent ... que vous souhaitiez simplement faire une longue promenade ou vous promener en bonne santé. et entraînement exigeant, ce sentier peut accueillir.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Les choses sont sur le point de changer radicalement sur le sentier Illini: le 30 juin, il devient le projet pilote pour l'Illinois Trail Corps, un service de conservation civil + un modèle de bénévolat pour la réparation et la construction de sentiers dans notre État. Dans cinq semaines, nous éliminerons une bonne partie du changement d'itinéraire et nous réparerons ce dont Illini a désespérément besoin. Nous publierons des mises à jour et des images sur Facebook (http://facebook.com/trailsforillinois) et Twitter (@ Trails4Illinois #ILtrailcorps). Consultez http://trailsforillinois.org/ILtrailcorps pour en savoir plus!

randonnée
Wednesday, April 09, 2014

Nous venons de marcher une heure, puis une heure de retour, à un rythme assez rapide, mais nous prévoyons de tout faire dans les mois à venir. Si vous commencez à Eagle Creek SP, comme nous l'avons fait, vous devrez traverser la route à partir de laquelle vous vous garez pour trouver le début du sentier. L'entretien des pistes fait défaut, mais pas surprenant compte tenu des finances de notre état. En fait, nous avons adoré ce sentier et nous nous sommes sentis comme sortis du bois pour une fois au lieu de sortir de la route. Il y avait quelques endroits où nous devions chercher les étiquettes orange nouées autour des arbres pour marquer le sentier.

randonnée
Thursday, July 04, 2013

Je ne donne à ce parcours que deux étoiles car il était en mauvais état. Il y avait plusieurs endroits où des arbres étaient tombés sur le sentier et des sentiers traversant de l'eau stagnante. Mais le problème le plus grave était les tiques. La femme et le chien et moi étions couverts de plus de 100 tiques. C'était ridicule. Éviter si possible

randonnée
10 months ago

randonnée
10 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, October 01, 2017

randonnée
Wednesday, August 30, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, June 18, 2017

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

a enregistré Illini Trail

randonnée
Tuesday, October 06, 2015

Chief Illini Trail is a 4.9 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Findlay, Illinois that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 4.9 miles Elevation Gain: 282 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

camping

fishing

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

bird watching

forest

lake

views

wild flowers

wildlife

A trail at Eagle Creek State Park to Lone Point. A shelter for picnic And camping exists 3 miles from the loan point trailhead 8 miles from the Eagle Creek trailhead.

hiking
2 months ago

Great trail! We will be back

hiking
8 months ago

the entire Chief segment of the Illini trail from Arrowhead to Eagle Creek

hiking
8 months ago

nice physical workout for training. Several bridges are out. no water in early fall. some spots severely overgrown.

hiking
Sun Apr 21 2019

Needs a little maintenance but nice hike

hiking
blowdown
bridge out
muddy
washed out
Tue Apr 09 2019

Tried to hike the Little Illini Trail on the southern end but bailed out due to the hazardous conditions of heavy leaf coverage on top of muddy ground. Extremely dangerous footing on the numerous steep sections from the loose mud beneath already slippery leafs. Wettest I've ever seen the trail. Main downed trees and a bridge out between the 2 and 2.5 mile marker (I think this may be the same bridge that's been out for a year or two). Overall the trail is poorly maintained, hazardous step sections with broken boards and exposed re-bar posts. Heaven help anyone that would fall and land on one of the metal re-bar posts. Would not recommend for novice hikers, especially in these current conditions.

Wed Sep 12 2018

Fifty members of BSA’s Order of the Arrow cleared and clean up the trail in March of 2018. You don’t find much for trails in Central Illinois any more. You take what you can get. At one point along the trail is a campsite that is semi-primitive. It has a fire pit, permanent lean-to and picnic table.

hiking
Sun Feb 04 2018

it is a lovely place with wonderful views i give it the 4star for the average person a 3.5star for the more fit person would not recomend rainy season just cause of the valley's and a creek bed that you must cross

Wed Jun 14 2017

Gave it a 1 star because we drove an hour to specifically hike the Chief Illini trail and at the trailhead there was a sign saying "closed-do not enter". Nothing on any websites, nothing at the entrance to the park... We did hike other trails in the park and they were ok. A lot of maintenance needs to be taken care of (overgrown trees, bushes and weeds) and the trail mileages are listed but the trails themselves criss-cross and are hard to follow. Another awkward situation is that the smaller trails cross right through people's campsites... We had a nice time but probably won't go back...too far for potential closures and high maintenance needs...

Tue May 24 2016

E

hiking
Fri Nov 13 2015

Challenging trail in distance and elevation gain in the middle of the otherwise flat Great Plains. Vast majority of trail is moderately deep in the woods and away from civilization but not particularly scenic. Depending on your "eek" reflex, you may want to avoid this trail from late spring to late summer due to epidemic tick population. I use this trail as a training location for backpacking trips.

hiking
Tue Oct 27 2015

The Chief Illini Trail follows the western edge of Lake Shelbyville between Eagle Creek State Park and the USACE-operated Lone Point campground/boat launch. The trail is 11.3 miles in total length with parking lots located every few miles, allowing hikers to modify the length of their hike if they wish. White blazes painted on trees mark the path. The trail is mostly wooded with sugar maples, white oak, red oak, chinkapin oak and paw paw trees in the upland slopes. Heavy flooding a few years ago washed out several of the foot bridges that cross over wet areas in coves and ravines. During late fall this was not an issue but during spring or summer the trail may become impassable or require some off-trail hiking to bypass the obstacle. At approximately three miles from the Lone Point trailhead, some old farm equipment is located a little ways off the trail. With nice views of the lake and the somewhat demanding and rugged terrain, the trail gives the sense of being in a place further from central Illinois.

hiking
Thu Apr 30 2015

Chief Illini Trail is a rugged 11.3 mile hiking trail located in Central Illinois near Findlay, Illinois in Eagle Creek State Park. Others might disagree with my review of the trail overall; but, I thought the trail was both impressive and an endeavor with 50+ lbs. packs as a conditioning hike for a pending 13 day backcountry trek to Philmont Scout Ranch in July. The trail does need some work which is actively being addressed by the Army Corps of Engineers. I recommend beginning at the Eagle Creek Trailhead and Hiking to Lone Point Campground. The campgrounds in this park are extremely well maintained. The trail offers nice canopy and timber depth that with the exception of a few brushes with homesteads will give you the feeling of being in a much deeper environment married with some beautiful scenic brushes with Lake Shelbyville. I definitely recommend this trail; rugged and primitive, but most definitely worth it. I would not, based on the way we approached out hiking of this trail, consider it a leisure trail... it is a very versatile trail... whether you are just looking to take a long stroll or you are out for a healthy and demanding workout, this trail can accommodate.

Tue Jun 17 2014

Things are about to change on the Illini Trail in a big way: on June 30, it becomes the pilot project for Illinois Trail Corps, a civilian conservation service + volunteer model for repairing and building trails in our state. In five weeks, we'll knock out much of the reroute and repair that Illini desperately needs. We'll be posting updates and pictures to Facebook (http://facebook.com/trailsforillinois) and Twitter (@Trails4Illinois #ILtrailcorps).See http://trailsforillinois.org/ILtrailcorps to find out more!

hiking
Wed Apr 09 2014

We just hiked an hour in and an hour back out, at a pretty quick pace, but we have plans to hike the whole thing in the next month. If you start at Eagle Creek SP, like we did, you will need to cross the road from where you park to find the trail head. Trail maintenance is lacking, but not surprising considering our state's finances. We actually LOVED this trail, and felt like we were way out in the timber for once instead of just off the road. There were a few spots that we had to hunt for the orange tags tied around the trees, to mark the trail.

hiking
Thu Jul 04 2013

I give this trail only two stars because it was in poor condition. There were several areas where trees had fallen over the trail and trails thru standing water. But the most serious issue was the ticks. The wife and the dog and I were covered with over 100 ticks. It was ridiculous. Avoid if possible

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
Fri May 03 2019

hiking
Mon Apr 01 2019

hiking
Sat May 19 2018

hiking
Thu May 10 2018

hiking
Sat Apr 14 2018

hiking
Sun Oct 01 2017

hiking
Sun Jun 18 2017

Wed Nov 16 2016

recorded Illini Trail

hiking
Tue Oct 06 2015