Big Rocky Hollow Trail

EASY 22 reviews
#3 of 6 trails in

Big Rocky Hollow Trail is a 0.7 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Goreville, Illinois that features a waterfall and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking and walking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
0.7 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
22 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dog friendly

kid friendly

hiking

walking

forest

waterfall

An easy hike nearly wheel chair accessible. The trail leads to a 100-foot tall intermittent waterfall. The trail is lined with huge boulders, meandering stream, and progressively narrowing canyon becoming more scenic as you progress towards the waterfall.

hiking
2 months ago

Hiked this trail today after a 24 hour rain. The waterfall was spectacular and the tree colors were amazing. The surrounding rock formations were awesome. Did not want to leave the area.

hiking
3 months ago

Cool Hollow with high rocks on both sides leading to waterfall

hiking
6 months ago

Very flat hike. In and then back out on the same trail. Waterfall was not running as it is the dry season. But still an awesome easy trail. Benches near the falls for anyone who walks in and wants to relax and absorb nature without having to sit on rocks or the ground.

hiking
Saturday, November 25, 2017

falls were dry but very nice walk.

hiking
Sunday, September 17, 2017

Pretty little trail. Very flat and easy. It is a wide path, well maintained that extends through a forested canyon to a intermittent waterfall on the far end. The waterfall was and stream was dry when I hiked it, but it was still a very pleasant walk.

Friday, July 07, 2017

Great trail very easy

walking
Sunday, April 09, 2017

Beautiful, easy trail, with great payoff at the end- a beautiful waterfall (note that the falls are rain dependent, so don't count on them if it has been dry). Going slightly off the main trail is very rewarding- you quickly learn how Ferne Clyffe earned it's name.

hiking
Thursday, March 02, 2017

Gorgeous walk back to the falls. A must do while at the park. Doable by most anyone.

hiking
4 days ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
Sunday, October 29, 2017

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Thursday, June 08, 2017

Friday, June 02, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, May 02, 2017

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Sunday, January 01, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 05, 2016

Wednesday, April 06, 2016