Mesa Falls Nature Trail

FACILE 95 avis
N°6 sur 73 randonnées à

Le sentier de nature des chutes Mesa est un sentier de circulation modérée situé près de Saint Anthony, dans l'Idaho, qui comporte une cascade et convient à tous les niveaux de compétence. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, les excursions dans la nature et l'observation des oiseaux. Il est préférable de l'utiliser de mai à octobre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 2.2 miles Dénivelé: 219 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

chute d'eau

fleurs sauvages

faune

insectes

Le sentier de découverte de la nature des chutes de Mesa commence dans le parc de stationnement de Upper Mesa Falls et se termine juste au-dessus des chutes de Lower Mesa. Il est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée. Le début du sentier se trouve à l'extrémité sud du stationnement. Le sentier nature des chutes de Mesa est le meilleur moyen de voir les chutes du bas Mesa. C'est une randonnée facile qui se termine sur le plateau, juste au-dessus des chutes inférieures. Si vous êtes vraiment aventureux, il y a une piste du plateau qui mène aux Lower Falls. Vous pouvez vous tenir sur le bord même des Lower Falls. Note importante: Il ne s'agit pas du sentier de la promenade du haut des chutes de Mesa.

randonnée
29 days ago

Belle piste. Nous y sommes allés quand il pleuvait. La dernière partie est presque droite vers le bas. Un seul feuillet et vous pourriez vous retrouver vous-même sur les chutes. Certainement une superbe vue sur les chutes du fond. Vous pouvez obtenir une superbe vue sans descendre la dernière partie.

randonnée
1 month ago

Nous avons adoré cette randonnée facile à regarder. Ensuite, nous avons parcouru le sentier primitif jusqu'au sommet des chutes. C’était bien pour mes adolescents et moi de le faire mais c’était épuisant. La vue directe sur les chutes était incroyable et la brume fraîche était rafraîchissante. Je recommande fortement cette randonnée. Assurez-vous de prendre de l'eau à boire.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

Grande randonnée! Mes 13 et 4 ans ont adoré! Beaucoup de fleurs sauvages à identifier et différentes structures de lave à voir aussi! Les chutes sont belles aussi! La fillette de 4 ans a adoré lire les panneaux informatifs tout au long du parcours!

randonnée
2 months ago

Beautiful Falls, nous avions une bonne vue de deux arcs-en-ciel sur les chutes supérieures.

randonnée
2 months ago

Absolument un must si vous êtes n'importe où près de la région. Nous sommes venus pour Yellowstone, mais nous avons eu une mauvaise journée et avons décidé d'y aller. Je suis très content de l'avoir fait, car c'est le top 5 des meilleures cascades que j'ai jamais vues et randonnées. Ce qu'il faut savoir - 1. Il y a un parking avec un accès pavé aux chutes UPPER Mesa. C'est à une distance de marche de votre voiture et ce n'est pas une randonnée. Mais très jolie et la plupart des images que vous voyez postées en sont. J'ai passé du temps là-bas. 2. Le trajet actuel de 3,5 km aller-retour est la "promenade dans la nature". Cela vous emmène aux chutes inférieures de Mesa, qui sont superbes. 3. Le sentier vous conduit à un point de vue pour voir les chutes d'en haut. Ça vaut le coup. 4. Si vous êtes aventureux, vous pouvez descendre une petite zone rocheuse vers la fin du sentier. Ensuite, suivez des sentiers hors parc peu fréquentés. Cela vous amène à la cascade réelle et vous pouvez y arriver et la toucher si vous voulez! C'est spectaculaire et je le recommande. 5. certainement pas pour les enfants ou une personne plus âgée ou une personne qui ne sait pas si leur pied. Très très raide dans certaines parties, ou vous pouvez sauter le long des roches de lave en vrac.

randonnée
rocheux
3 months ago

Assez raide à certains endroits avec quelques escalades mineures, mais une vue incroyable. Vaut vraiment le détour.

randonnée
4 months ago

Nice, facile, beau petit sentier. À environ deux milles de l'aller-retour, nous avons parcouru le trajet en environ une demi-heure et nous n'avons croisé qu'un autre petit groupe de personnes. Le chemin était un peu boueux à certains endroits (à compter du 9 juin), mais rien d'insupportable. La vue à la fin est absolument phénoménale, vaut bien la randonnée! Globalement, je dirais que le sentier lui-même est quatre étoiles, avec la vue au bout de cinq étoiles.

randonnée
4 months ago

Vue des chutes inférieures, je pensais que vous pouviez la descendre à la base des chutes.

randonnée
4 months ago

Super petite promenade! Ne me sens pas vraiment comme 2 miles. Bien entretenu et pas aussi occupé que je le pensais. Vous obtenez les sensations lorsque vous vous approchez et entendez les chutes rugir!

randonnée
5 months ago

Le sentier de nature des chutes de Mesa est un charmant sentier serein à travers la forêt qui vous conduit à une superbe vue sur les chutes. Mais la vraie raison pour laquelle j'essaie de faire de la randonnée chaque été est pour le sentier «hors des sentiers battus» juste à droite lorsque vous sortez de la clairière qui vous emmène au plus près des chutes évitez de vous baigner (vous pouvez littéralement poser vos pieds sur le rebord du rocher et regarder / entendre / sentir l'eau qui gronde sous eux). Descendre là-bas, même s’il est un peu raide, n’est pas long, mais nécessite un peu d’attention prudente au-dessus d’un vaste champ de pierres de lave. Je serais nerveux de prendre des enfants en bas âge car le rebord au-dessus des chutes peut être plutôt précaire et encombré s'il y a d'autres personnes. Mais seul ou en compagnie de quelques personnes, c'est un endroit absolument époustouflant pour passer du temps et acquérir une expérience sensorielle complète du pouvoir et de la majesté de ces magnifiques chutes.

randonnée
7 months ago

Bien soigné, même le jour de l'an.

randonnée
9 months ago

Les chutes Lower Mesa sont impressionnantes! Mais ce sentier nature est un peu trompeur. Depuis le belvédère des chutes inférieures, il semble que le sentier se termine juste au-dessus des chutes, mais la vue est obstruée par des arbres. Il existe un sentier non conventionnel créé qui vous conduit jusqu'aux chutes, mais il est difficile de le trouver en bas de la falaise. Indice: allez au belvédère de la route. Vous pouvez voir le sentier qui descend du rebord. Prenez une photo si cela peut aider. Ensuite, descendez vers ce sentier naturel et vous saurez où chercher ce sentier supplémentaire qui mène aux chutes.

Friday, September 14, 2018

J'ai vraiment apprécié cette belle vue sur les chutes inférieures de la mesa. Plus gratifiant si vous prenez la randonnée raide à travers les rochers pour être juste à côté de la rivière et des chutes d’eau.

randonnée
Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Grand sentier de 2 milles partant des chutes supérieures de la Mesa et descendant vers le bas. Les deux chutes sont incroyables, mais la partie supérieure est à couper le souffle, car vous pouvez vous tenir à côté. Le sentier didactique part du parking Upper Falls et constitue une randonnée facile sur la terre avec un peu de gravier au début. Se termine par une vue magnifique sur les chutes inférieures.

balade
Friday, July 20, 2018

Normalement, je déteste ce genre de "sentiers", cependant, le service forestier a fait un excellent travail pour que vous vous sentiez toujours comme si vous étiez dans la nature et pas seulement sur une promenade. De plus, la magnifique cascade est un bonus.

Sunday, July 01, 2018

magnifique !! les chutes est à couper le souffle ..

randonnée
Sunday, July 01, 2018

Très beau! Randonnée facile et beaucoup de zones pour prendre des photos.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

C’est un endroit idéal pour emmener petits et pas si petits enfants dans une petite promenade jusqu’à la magnifique vue sur la cascade. C’est un lieu de prédilection pour les familles de l’état où elles viennent en visite.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Le sentier lui-même est très facile, plat et large. Il offre deux superbes vues dégagées vers le milieu et à la fin. Le sentier principal n’offre pas une très bonne vue sur les chutes inférieures. Je vous conseillerais donc de prendre le sentier latéral. Pour arriver au bord des chutes inférieures, vous devez faire un peu de brouillage modéré sur un champ de talus ouvert. Cela devient assez raide, mais si vous en êtes capable, la vue sur les chutes inférieures est fantastique dès le bord!

activités en pleine nature
Monday, May 14, 2018

Un de mes endroits préférés lorsque je vis dans l'Idaho - je ne suis plus sur cette piste depuis 2016, mais la vue ne déçoit jamais! Sachez qu'il y a des frais par voiture, 5 $ par jour (à moins que vous n'ayez récemment augmenté), mais ne vous laissez pas décourager!

balade
Saturday, December 02, 2017

Belle.

ornithologie
Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Beaucoup de petits oiseaux dans ce domaine. La fin est impressionnante avec la vaste zone dégagée et les chutes et la rivière en contrebas. Très peu de dénivelé et beaucoup d'ombre.

balade
Sunday, August 20, 2017

Belle piste facile. Très relaxant. Parfait pour une promenade avec les chiens.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Belle promenade facile. Aurait pu prendre une poussette de jogging sur le sentier. À la toute fin pour approcher les chutes, c'est vraiment raide et un peu difficile, certains membres de notre groupe ne sont pas descendus.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Le sentier était un sentier agréable, mais une fois arrivé au bout, plusieurs sentiers plus petits vous mènent plus près de l’eau. Ils sont extrêmement raides, mais les vues vraiment cool.

randonnée
Saturday, June 24, 2017

J'ai adoré les marqueurs informatifs et le guide papier fourni! J'ai beaucoup appris sur les plantes et les animaux indigènes!

randonnée
Sunday, May 21, 2017

Je ne suis allé que dans les chutes supérieures de la mesa, cela n'a pas déçu. Chutes et canyon magnifiquement puissants!

Sunday, September 25, 2016

Belle promenade. Ce n’est pas vraiment une randonnée, mais j’ai bien aimé être assez près des chutes pour sentir le brouillard. Excellente vue!

conduite scénique
Monday, July 11, 2016

Les chutes sont étonnamment plus grandes que prévu. Commencé à Upper Falls, et arrêté au belvédère de Lower Falls. Idéal pour les familles avec de petits enfants car les allées sont très faciles à naviguer.

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Mesa Falls Nature Trail is a 2.2 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near St. Anthony, Idaho that features a waterfall and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 2.2 mi Elevation gain 219 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Kid friendly

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Forest

Views

Waterfall

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Bugs

Description
Waypoints (0)
Facilities
Contact
Getting There

The Mesa Falls Nature Trail begins in the Upper Mesa Falls parking lot, ending just above the Lower Mesa Falls, and is primarily used for hiking. The trailhead can be found on the south end of the parking lot. The Mesa Falls Nature Trail is the best way to see the Lower Mesa Falls. It's an easy hike ending on the plateau just above the Lower Falls. If you're really adventurous, there is a trail from the plateau that leads down to the Lower Falls. You can stand on the very edge of the Lower Falls themselves. Important note: This is not the Upper Mesa Falls boardwalk trail.

The USFS charges $5/car to park in the Upper Falls parking lot.

http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/ctnf/recreation/recarea/?recid=80613&actid=50

From highway 20 take the Mesa Falls Scenic Byway. Park in the Upper Mesa Falls parking lot.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (110)
Photos (51)
Recordings (54)
Completed (310)
Amanda Penrod
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jun 23 2020
Hiking

Highly suggest climbing to the lower falls to if you have time!

Mikalynn Amos
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue Jun 23 2020
Bugs

We definitely didn't get what we expected with this one. Our first impression was the massive amount of mosquitos. We did go in the evening so I sure hope they aren't so bad during the day. This trail is pretty and easy but it doesn't give you a full view of the falls. The photos of the full waterfall is actually the short trail on the other side of the parking lot. There's 2 spots on the trail that give you a view of the valley, rocks, and flowing river. There's one last view but you have to go down a steep section. You can see the top where the falls go over the edge but not the actual falls (go to the overlook for that). So make sure to enjoy this as a pretty stroll and know that it is not the epic waterfall views shown in some of these photos.

Stacy Reading
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 25 2020
Hiking

Beautiful nature walk. The road to drive down to the trailhead was closed so we had to walk the mile to the trailhead. Don’t let that scare you, it’s a really nice walk and the falls are a really great sight. Easy for all abilities.

Jessica Ashton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Apr 26 2020
Hiking

Gorgeous, easy hike. I did this one with my parents.

Scott Beaver
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Sep 18 2019
Hiking

Nice trail. We went when it was raining. The last part is dang near straight down. One slip and you might end up go over the falls yourself. Definitely a great view of the falls from the bottom. You can get a great view without going down the last part.

Dan Knorpp
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Sep 01 2019
Hiking

We loved this hike that was easy down to the lookout. Then we hiked down the primitive trail to the top of the falls. This was fine for my teenagers and I to do but it was strenuous. The view directly over the falls was amazing and the cool mist was refreshing. I highly recommend this hike. Be sure to take water to drink.

John Lindvig
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Aug 06 2019
Hiking

Great little walk through the woods that leads to Lower Mesa Falls. If you are surefooted, make the descent down below for a more beautiful and closer look!

View John's Recording
Rupp B.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Aug 02 2019
HikingOver grown
View Rupp's Recording
Jacqueline Richard
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Aug 01 2019
Hiking

Great hike! Both my 13 & 4 year old loved it! Lots of wildflowers to identify and different lava structures to see as well! The falls are beautiful too! The 4 year old loved reading the informative signs along the way as well!

Andrew Ogwang
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 22 2019
Hiking

Beautiful Falls, we had a good view of two rainbows at the upper falls.

Don Lines
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 19 2019
Hiking

Absolutely a must if you are anywhere near the area. We came for Yellowstone, but had a down day and decided to go. Super glad I did, as this is the top 5 best waterfalls I've ever seen and hiked. Things to know - 1. there is a parking area with paved access to the UPPER Mesa falls. This is walking distance from your car, and is not a hike. But very pretty and most of the pictures you see posted are of it. I spent time there. 2. the actual 2.2 mile there and back trail is the "nature walk". This takes you to the LOWER Mesa falls, which are stunning. 3. the trail takes you to an overlook to see the falls from above. It's worth doing. 4. if you are adventurous, you can climb down a small rocky area near the end of the trail. Then follow some lightly traveled non-park paths. This takes you to the actual waterfall and you can get right up to it and touch it if you want! It is spectacular and I recommend it. 5. definitely not for kids or an older person or someone not sure if their footing. Very very steep in parts, or you can jump along the loose lava rocks.

Mitchell Barnett
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 12 2019
HikingRocky

Pretty steep at some points with some minor rock climbing, but amazing views. Definitely worth the walk.

View Mitchell's Recording
Ryan Beckstrom
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Jun 09 2019
Hiking

Nice, easy, beautiful little trail. At about two miles round trip, we walked the whole thing in about half-an-hour, and we only crossed paths with one other small group of people. The path was a bit muddy in some places (as of June 9th), but nothing unbearable. The view at the end is absolutely phenomenal, well worth the hike! Overall, I’d rate the trail itself four stars, with the view at the end five stars.

Rick Herman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Jun 08 2019
Hiking

View of the lower falls, thought you could take it down to the base of the falls.

Ericka Arellano
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed May 29 2019
Hiking

Great small walk! Doesn’t quite feel like 2 miles. Well kept and not as busy as I thought it would be. You get the feels as you walk closer and hear the falls roaring!

Angie Rasmussen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun May 05 2019
Hiking

The Mesa Falls Nature Trail is a lovely, serene trail through the forest that leads you to a great overlook view of the Falls. But the REAL reason I try to hike this trail every summer is for the “off-the-beaten-path” trail just off to the right when you come out of the forest clearing that takes you down as close to the Falls as you can get without going for a swim (you can literally hang your feet over the ledge of the rock and watch/hear/feel the roaring water beneath them). Getting down there, although somewhat steep, doesn’t take long but it does require a bit of careful scrambling over a large field of lava rock. I’d be nervous about taking small children as the ledge over the Falls can be rather precarious and crowded if there’s other people. But on your own or with the company of a couple of others, it’s an absolutely breathtaking place to spend some time and really get a full sensory experience of the power and majesty of these beautiful Falls.

Danielle Smith NP-C
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Feb 24 2019
Hiking

Well Groomed even on New Year’s Day.

Trent Brown
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Dec 26 2018
Hiking

The Lower Mesa Falls are impressive! But this nature trail is a bit deceiving. From the Lower Falls lookout up by the road it appears that the trail ends right above the falls, but the view is obstructed by trees. There IS an unconventional trail created that brings you right down to the falls, but it's hard to find that trail down off the cliff. HINT: go to the lookout by the road. You can see the trail that drops down off the ledge. Take a photo if it would help. Then go down to this nature trail and then you'll know where to look for this added trail that leads down to the falls.

Carmen Ramirez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Sep 14 2018

I really enjoyed this, beautiful view of the lower mesa falls. Most rewarding if you take the steep hike down through the rocks to be right next to the river and water falls.

Hobbit Hideout
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Aug 22 2018
Hiking

Great 2 mile trail starting at the upper Mesa falls and going to the lower. Both Falls are amazing, but the upper is breath-taking as you can stand right beside it. The nature trail leaves from the upper Falls parking lot and is an easy hike on dirt with a bit of gravel in the beginning. Ends at a great view looking down on lower falls.

Carly Lee
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 20 2018
Walking

Normally I hate these kinds of "trails" however, the forest service did a great job to make you still feel like you're in nature and not just walking on a boardwalk. Plus, the wonderful waterfall is a bonus.

Robine Singleton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jul 01 2018

beautifull!! the falls is breath taking..

Jessica Martinez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jul 01 2018
Hiking

Very beautiful! Easy hike and a lot of areas to take photos of.

mac dutton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jun 17 2018

This is a great spot to take little and not so little kids on a little walk down to beautiful waterfall views. This is a favorite spot we take family from out of state when they come to visit.

Shane Hawkins
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat May 19 2018
Hiking

Wonderfully beautiful waterfall. Easy walk down. Lucked out and we were one of the only groups there.

Trent Mizuski
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu May 17 2018

The trail itself is very easy, flat, and wide. It offers two great, wide open views towards the middle and at the end. You don't get a very good view of the lower falls from the main trail, so if you can, I would recommend taking the side trail down. To get to the edge of the lower falls, you need to do quite a bit of moderate scrambling on an open-faced talus field. It gets pretty steep, but if you are able, the view of the lower falls is fantastic right from the edge!

Karen Duvall
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 14 2018
Nature trips

One of my favorite places while living in Idaho -- haven't been on this trail since 2016, but the views never disappoint! Be aware there is a per car fee, $5 a day (unless recently gone up), but don't let that deter you!

Katie J Davis
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Dec 02 2017
Walking

Beautiful.

Jen Heese
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Aug 30 2017
Bird Watching

Great lot of small birds in this area. The end is impressive with the wide open area and the falls and river below. Very little change in elevation and lots of shade.

Natalie Parker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Aug 20 2017
Walking

Nice, easy trail. Very relaxing. Perfect for a walk with the dogs.

Showing results 1 - 30 of 110