Goat Mountain Trail

SCHWER 9 Bewertungen
#5 von 5 Wegen in

Goat Mountain Trail ist ein 6,7 Meilen langer Wanderweg, der in der Nähe von Clark Fork, Idaho, liegt und über einen See verfügt. Er wird nur von sehr erfahrenen Abenteurern empfohlen. Der Weg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von Mai bis Oktober genutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Entfernung: 6.7 miles Höhenunterschied: 4,330 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

angeleinte Hunde

Camping

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

See

Fluss

Aussicht

Sturmholz

überwachsen

Scrambling

Schnee

abseits des Weges

In einigen älteren Wanderführern wird der Ziegenberg als der steilste Weg in Idaho bezeichnet. In weniger als 3 Meilen erreicht der Weg 4.000 Fuß. Loser Sand und Kies, der an vielen Stellen des Unterwegs zu finden ist, verstärkt die Herausforderung. Offene, mit Gras und Pinsel gefüllte Hänge verdecken oft den Weg. Das Fehlen von Baumkronen bedeutet, dass Sie in der Sommersonne stark schwitzen. Dies ist ein weiterer Weg ohne Wasserquelle. All dies bedeutet, dass nur wenige Wanderer diese Route befahren, so dass der Weg in der Nähe der Bäume oft verschwindet und der unerschrockene Reisende etwas über die Streckenführung wissen muss. Dies ist ein schwieriger Weg, der nur für starke und erfahrene Wanderer empfohlen wird, die eine gute Haltung beibehalten können. Auf dem Goat Peak werden Sie mit einem Blick auf den Goats Eye auf den Scotchman Peak und die Gratlinie nördlich bis nach Scotchman II belohnt. Lake Pend Oreille liegt wunderschön vor Ihren Füßen. So hart der Goat Mountain steigt, ist die Wanderung besonders auf den alternden Knien noch zermürbender. Betrachten Sie den Busch bis zum Scotchman Peak oder entlang der Kammlinie nördlich in den Morris Creek. Weder sind einfach noch unmöglich. Beide sind körperlich anstrengend und erfordern fortgeschrittene Navigationsfähigkeiten im Backcountry. Es wäre auch hilfreich, wenn Sie sich auf dem Scotchman Peak oder Morris Creek Trail befunden hätten, so dass Sie sie bei Ihrer Ankunft wiedererkennen würden (sie sind leicht zu überqueren und komplett zu verfehlen). Wenn Sie im Voraus planen, ein Auto zu verstauen oder ein Shuttle zu arrangieren, ist es natürlich klug, diese Reisen werden nur von großen Träumern und noch größeren Planmachern unternommen. Wenn Sie mitgehen: Bringen Sie gute Schuhe oder Wanderschuhe und viel Wasser mit, da die Route trocken ist und keine Wasserquelle im Weg ist. Sie benötigen eine topografische Karte, einen Kompass und die erforderlichen Fähigkeiten, um sie verwenden zu können. (Hinweis: Der Goat Mountain Trail folgt dicht einer Kammlinie bis ganz nach oben.) Snacks oder Mittagessen, zusätzliche Kleidung und Regenbekleidung sind in den Bergen immer ratsam.

wandern
kein schatten
abseits des Weges
steinig
überwachsen
1 month ago

Vorteile: Anspruchsvoller, guter Trainingspfad, in der Nähe der Stadt Clark Fork, Blick auf den See von offenen Abschnitten Nachteile: Pfad ist schlecht gepflegt, kann schwierig zu befolgen sein, Loose Rock und Dirt in einigen Abschnitten Ich habe diesen Trail Ende September 2019 gemacht an einem gemischten sonnigen und bewölkten Tag. Nach meinem dritten Versuch in einem Jahr, den Pfadkopf zu lokalisieren, fand ich ihn schließlich mithilfe einer Forstdienstkarte und versuchte, ihn zu wandern. Allerdings verlor ich den Pfad in einem Dickicht von Heidelbeersträuchern in einer Höhe von etwa 5.000 Fuß und drehte mich um . (1.000 Fuß kurz vor dem Gipfel) Trotzdem habe ich die Herausforderung dieses Weges genossen und die Routenfindung war einfacher als ich erwartet hatte, da die Vegetation spärlich war, bis ich stecken blieb. Der Weg wird jedoch nicht regelmäßig gewartet, und aufgrund von losen Bodenabschnitten und steilen Gefällen in einigen Gratabschnitten sind Vorsichtsmaßnahmen erforderlich. Die erste Hälfte des Aufstiegs ist relativ viel Sonne und Wind ausgesetzt, und Wanderer müssen ihre eigene Wasserversorgung mitbringen, es sei denn, Schnee steht zum Schmelzen zur Verfügung. Insgesamt ist dies ein herausfordernder Weg, der am besten für Wanderer geeignet ist, die Steigfähigkeit und Ausdauer verbessern möchten und gleichzeitig eine Alternative zur benachbarten und viel stärker genutzten Scotchman-Gipfelroute bieten möchten.

wandern
abseits des Weges
steinig
überwachsen
2 months ago

Tolle Wanderung, aber keine Ziegen gesehen. Tonne Heidelbeeren. An manchen Stellen ist der Weg etwas verwaschen. Muss auf jeden Fall die App als Anleitung benutzen.

wandern
Sat Sep 08 2018

Dies ist eine großartige Wanderung, aber ich weiß nicht, was beim Hin- und Hergehen schwieriger war. Der Weg wird bald von Huckleberry-Büschen überwachsen und hat viele Bäume und über halbes Wachstum. An manchen Orten ist der Weg auf der Auffahrt schwer zu sehen, auf dem Abstieg jedoch besser zu sehen. Diese Wanderung gefiel mir für die Herausforderung und die großartige Aussicht. Es hat viel zu bieten für diejenigen, die ein wenig mehr Abenteuer als die üblichen Wanderwege suchen. Die einzigen Leute, die ich sah, wo ein paar Elchjäger bogen. Ich würde sagen, auf halbem Weg ist es, wenn der Weg ein bisschen auseinander fällt, aber es ist ziemlich einfach, einfach weiterzugehen. Ich denke, der nächste Trip wird zu Scotsman und Down :)

Tue Jul 03 2018

Mitte April 2018 diesen Weg gewandert. Hätte ihm eine 5 gegeben, aber der Blizzard, der beim Erreichen der Spitze einsetzte, schloss bei allen Sichtweiten jegliche Sicht aus. Ich konnte in der Mitte von Wanderschuhen wandern, brauchte aber Schneeschuhe für den Rest des Weges. Ein großartiger Weg, um zu wissen, aus was Sie gemacht sind. Wegen des ganzen Schnees gab es keine Spur, also wanderten wir die Gratlinie entlang, was bedeutete, dass es mehr als 9 Meilen war, und jeder Schritt war ziemlich anstrengend. Der Schnee fiel auf den Weg, der mein Gesicht hinabstürzte - das ist das erste Mal auf einer Wanderung! Aber die Aussicht auf den Aufstieg - besonders auf den Clark Fork River - war wunderschön.

wandern
Mon Sep 18 2017

Die Beschreibung des oben angegebenen Pfades ist zutreffend. Im mittleren Abschnitt der Studie gab es viele Windstürze. Ja, es ist ein Kalorienbrenner. 3,5 Stunden in und 2,5 Stunden nach der Rückkehr zu meinem LKW. Bummer, JoRayne konnte diese Reise nicht machen :( Keine Ziegen auf dem Gipfel. Etwas Elche auf 5.200 Meter Höhe. Schönes Wetter und minimaler Waldbrandrauch. Zeit und Energie wert.

Tue Jul 11 2017

Tolle Wanderung ... vertikal, aber die Aussicht oben lohnt sich.

wandern
4 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

schneeschuhwandern
9 months ago

Empfohlene Routen

For a limited time only, save 30% on a year of AllTrails Pro!
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Goat Mountain Trail is a 6.7 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Clark Fork, Idaho that features a lake and is only recommended for very experienced adventurers. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from May until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 6.7 mi Elevation gain 4,330 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Camping

Hiking

Nature trips

Bird watching

Forest

Lake

River

Views

Blowdown

Over grown

Scramble

Snow

Off trail

Description
Waypoints (0)
Getting There

Goat Mountain is described in some older hiking guides as the steepest trail in Idaho. In less than 3 miles, the trail gains 4,000 feet. Loose sand and gravel, found in many places on the lower trail, compounds the challenge. Open slopes filled with grass and brush often obscure the trail. The lack of tree canopy means you will sweat heavily in the summer sun. This is another trail with no source of water. All this means that few hikers travel this route, so near the top, in the trees, the trail often just disappears and the intrepid traveler will need to know something about cross country route finding. This is a difficult trail, only recommend for strong and experienced hikers who are able to maintain a good attitude. On top of Goat Peak you will be rewarded with a Goats Eye view of Scotchman Peak and the ridge line north all the way to Scotchman II. Lake Pend Oreille lays magnificently out before your feet. As hard as Goat Mountain is going up, the hike down is even more grueling, especially on aging knees. Consider bushwhacking over to Scotchman Peak or down the ridge line north into Morris Creek. Neither are easy, nor are they impossible. Both are physically demanding and require advanced backcountry navigation skills. It would also help if you have been on Scotchman Peak Or Morris Creek Trail so that you would recognize them when you arrived (they are easy to cross over and miss completely). Of course, if you plan ahead, stashing a car, or arranging a shuttle would be prudent, these are the trips that are made only by big dreamers and even bigger plan makers. If you go: Bring good boots or trail shoes and plenty of water, as the route is dry with no on trail water source. You will need to have a topographic map, compass and the skills to use them. (Hint: Goat Mountain trail closely follows a ridge line all the way to the top.) Snacks or lunch, layers of extra clothing and rain gear are always advisable in the mountains.

Take Highway 200 (east from Sandpoint) to Clark Fork. Turn north at the Chevron Station and follow Lightning Creek Road 419. The trail head is about 3 miles in (right after the grizzly bear sign) and marked only with a small sign with number 135 and a logo of two hikers. Park, carefully, on the roadside.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (15)
Photos (28)
Recordings (8)
Completed (25)
Michelle Linehan
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 20, 2020
Over grown

Hiked today. Not a drop of snow. Got to the top and 3 1/2 hours and down in about 2 and a 1/2. Was amazed how overgrown everything was. Lost the trail numerous times after the saddle to get to the peak. More bushwhacking than I had expected

laure le bourgeois
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMay 25, 2020
Hiking

Very steep hike with beautiful views and flowers all along the trail. There was snow after an hour 1/2 of climbing which made reaching the first summit an interesting challenge

Christian Schwalbach
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 20, 2019
HikingNo shadeOff trailOver grownRocky

Pros: Challenging, good training trail, close to Clark Fork town, Views of lake from open sections Cons: Trail is poorly maintained, Can be challenging to follow route, Loose rock and dirt in some sections I did this trail in late Sep 2019, on a mixed sunny and cloudy day. After my 3rd attempt in a year to locate the trail head, I finally found it with assistance of a forest service map, and attempted to hike it, however I lost the trail in a thicket of huckleberry bushes around 5,000 feet level, and turned around. (1,000 feet short of top) That said, I enjoyed the challenge of this trail and route finding was easier than I anticipated due to sparse vegetation until I became stuck. The trail is not regularly maintained, though, and precautions are warranted due to sections of loose soil, and steep drop offs in some ridge line sections. The first half of the ascent is relatively exposed to sun and wind, and hikers need to bring their own water supply unless there happens to be snow available to melt. Overall this is a challenging trail that is best for fit hikers looking to build ascending ability and endurance, along with offering an alternative to the neighboring, and much more utilized Scotchman peak route.

Serg Bogdanov
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 23, 2019
HikingOff trailOver grownRocky

Great hike but didn’t see any goats. Ton of huckleberries. At places, the trail is a bit washed out. Definitely have to use the app for guidance.

View Serg's Recording
Bill Grace
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 8, 2018
Hiking

This is a great hike but I don't know what was more challenging going up or coming down. The trail is soon to be over grown by huckleberry bushes darn it and has a lot of down trees and over growth about half way. In some locations the trail is hard to see on the up trip but more visible on the way down. I liked this hike for the challenge and the great views. It has a lot to offer for those who are looking for a little more adventure than the common trails. The only people I saw where a couple bow elk hunters. I'd say around the half way point is when the trail kinda falls apart but its pretty easy just keep going up. I think the next trip will be up and over to Scotsman and down :)

Michelle G.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 3, 2018

Hiked this trail mid April 2018. Would have given it a 5, but the blizzard that set in as we reached the top precluded any views at all- visibility was only about 5 feet in front of you. Was able to hike about halfway up in Hiking shoes- but required snowshoes the rest of the way. A great trail to know what you’re made of. Because of all the snow- there was no trail so we hiked the ridge line meaning it was more like 9 Miles out and back and each step was pretty grueling. Sleet started falling on the way down- stinging my face- that’s a first on a hike! But the views on the way up - especially of the Clark Fork river were beautiful.

Wally Loucks
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 18, 2017
Hiking

The description of the trail included above is accurate. Plenty of wind-falls across the mid-section of the trial. Yeah, It's a calorie burner. 3.5 hrs in and 2.5 hrs on return to my truck. Bummer, JoRayne couldn't make this trip :( No goats at the peak. Some Elk along the way at 5,200 ft. Nice weather and minimal wildfire smoke. Worth your time and energy.

Patricia Ellis
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 11, 2017
First to Review

Great hike... vertical but worth the views at the top.

Irina J
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 11, 2020
Hiking
View Irina's Recording
Donna Walker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 2, 2020
Cross Country Skiing
Lady Quicci
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMarch 7, 2020
Hiking
View Lady's Recording
Sophie McMahon
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMarch 6, 2020
Hiking
View Sophie's Recording
Shalyse Ahl
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 6, 2019
Hiking
View Shalyse's Recording
Becca Copeland
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 6, 2019
Hiking
View Becca's Recording
Becca Copeland
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJanuary 26, 2019
Snowshoeing
View Becca's Recording